Buying guide
Running Boards and Steps for Lifted Trucks: Drop Steps, Power Steps and Measuring the First Step
On a lifted truck, a standard board often leaves the first step too high. Measure from the ground to the step, then pick a drop step for a modest climb or a power step for a tall one. For a 2019-up GM crew cab, start with the Tyger LanderX. No title we read names a lift kit, so fit stays with your stock year and cab.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
Measure your first step, then choose. A drop step puts your foot lower than a straight rail: start with the Tyger LanderX for a 2019-up GM crew cab or F-150 SuperCrew, or the Tyger Access for a 2024-up Tacoma Double Cab. RealTruck, a seller, points taller lifts toward PowerSteps in its blog. No listing here names a lift. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

You lifted the truck on purpose. The side effect is the first step, and it does not come down by itself. The maker documents we read are close to silent on lifts, so most of the "lift range" advice online is seller opinion. So we start with the one thing that does not depend on anybody's opinion: your tape measure.
Tyger Auto
Tyger LanderX (2019+ GM)
Tyger's drop-step rail for the same GM crew cab trucks as the Rider.
Why here: Its title names drop step, the 1500 years and the HD years, and a drop pad is the simplest way to lower the first reach without a motor. Measure first, because the title states no drop depth.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Drop step (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Not stated in the title
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Title names drop step, years and cab
- Tyger part number in the title (TG-LX3C82318)
Watch out for
- We could not read Tyger's page or sheet for this part, so this is listing data only
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
Best for: GM crew cab owners who want the step lower than a straight rail.
Listing data only: We only have the Amazon listing title for this one, no maker sheet. It is an option, not a recommendation.
We call this a place to start, not our pick. The title is all we rely on for fit, and drop steps goes through the manual we found for it.
What a lift changes
The sheets we read attach steps to the body, through threaded holes, factory studs or the pinch weld. So a suspension lift takes the step up with the cab. Bigger tires add more. The step stays where it was on the truck, and the ground gets further away.
That tells you about height. It does not tell you the part clears your lift hardware, wider tires or a long-travel setup. No title in our data names a lift kit, and the documents we checked do not address one. Westin's Pro-e page and the AMP guides are silent on it too. If someone promises a lift range, ask where the figure came from.
Measure before you buy
Park on level ground
Air the tires to your normal pressure, with the truck loaded the way you usually drive it.Measure ground to pinch weld
Measure straight up to the bottom seam under the door. Write down the number for one front door and one rear door.Measure ground to door sill
That is the top of the climb, and it tells you whether you need one step or two.Subtract the drop the maker states
Use the number for your exact part. If no number is stated, ask the seller for one. Do not borrow it from another brand.Ask who rides with you
Think about the shortest or oldest person who climbs in. If that height is a stretch for them, choose a lower step.
For a yardstick, 49 CFR 399.207 says the first step on a high-profile cab-over truck can be no more than 24 inches from the ground. That rule does not apply to pickups, and we found none that does. It is useful only as a reference point.
Which style for which climb
This is what the sources state. RealTruck sells these products, so its figures are a seller's guide and are not from a sheet.
| Style | Published reach | Lift range mentioned | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard board or nerf bar | 3 in below the pinch weld ("most") | None; "aren't as effective on a lifted truck" | RealTruck blog |
| Hoop step | 4 in below the pinch weld ("some") | Leveled or lifted, 0 to 3 in | RealTruck blog |
| Westin Outlaw Drop | "4" drop step" on the step plate | None stated | Westin |
| Tyger LanderX, Access; OEDRO drop | No depth in the titles | None stated | Listing titles |
| AMP PowerStep | 7 to 9.5 in below the pinch weld, by application | About 5 to 10 in | RealTruck blog |
| AMP XL version | Published figures conflict | Pitched at lifted trucks | PowerStep XL page |
Read the last column carefully. Those lift ranges are marketing guidance from a company selling the part, and the AMP install guides we read do not repeat them.
Which one for your truck?
If you drive a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab → Tyger LanderX (2019+ GM) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive an F-150 or Super Duty with the Supercrew Cab the title names → Tyger LanderX (F-150 SuperCrew) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a new-body Ram 1500 crew cab → Tyger LanderX (2019+ Ram 1500) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2024-up Tacoma Double Cab → Tyger Access (2024+ Tacoma) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2024-2027 Toyota Tacoma (Fits Hybrid) | Double Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2005-2023 Tacoma Double Cab → Tyger LanderX (2005-2023 Tacoma) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma | Double Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf the climb is too tall for a fixed step
| Spec sheet | Listing data onlyTyger LanderX (2019+ GM) | Listing data onlyTyger LanderX (F-150 SuperCrew) | Start here: Tacoma 2024+Tyger Access (2024+ Tacoma) | Listing data onlyTyger LanderX (2005-2023 Tacoma) | Listing data onlyOEDRO Drop Down (2005-2023 Tacoma) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab | 2024-2027 Toyota Tacoma (Fits Hybrid) | Double Cab | 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma | Double Cab | 2005-2023 Tacoma Double Cab |
| Style | Drop step (as titled) | Drop step (as titled) | Drop step (as titled) | Drop step (as titled) | Drop step (as titled) |
| Material | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Price class | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range |
| Best for | GM crew cab owners who want the step lower than a straight rail. | SuperCrew owners who want a lower step and can confirm fit on the listing. | 2024-up Tacoma Double Cab owners, hybrid included as listed. | 2005-2023 Double Cab owners comparing drop steps. | 2005-2023 Double Cab owners comparing drop steps. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
All of these are listing data unless we say otherwise, and all of them name a stock truck, not a lifted one.
The drop steps, briefly
GM crew cab: Tyger LanderX TG-LX3C82318. The title reads 2019-2026 for the 1500 and 2020-2027 for the 2500 and 3500HD, Crew Cab. It does not mention the 2019 LD or the 2027 Silverado 1500. Good first look if you want a drop without wiring.
F-150 and Super Duty: Tyger LanderX*. The title names the 2015-2027 F-150, the 2022-2025 Lightning and the 2017-2027 F-250 and F-350, Supercrew Cab. A SuperCab is not named, so that owner should look elsewhere.
New-body Ram 1500: Tyger LanderX*. Titled for the 2019-2027 crew cab and "Not fit 19-24 Classic". A lifted Classic needs a different listing, which Classic vs new body explains.
2024-up Tacoma: Tyger Access*. Titled for the 2024-2027 Double Cab, and it names the hybrid. See the 2024-2026 Tacoma page.
2005-2023 Tacoma: Tyger LanderX* or OEDRO Drop Down*. Both are titled for the 2005-2023 Double Cab. Neither title states a drop depth. OEDRO has what its own pages say.
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
When to go powered
A power step tucks away and comes down when a door opens, which is the appeal on a tall truck. RealTruck's blog points lifts of about 5 to 10 inches toward AMP PowerSteps. The cost is a premium price and real install work: the AMP PowerStep for 2022-2026 GM trucks*, per guide IM76255, is 3-5 hours, skill level 4, with drilling through the pinch weld and professional installation recommended. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Before you commit, read whether power running boards are worth it and the problems page. If you need more reach than a standard unit, the XL is the part people mention, with conflicting numbers we will not repeat.
Common mistakes
- Choosing by lift inches alone. A 4-inch lift on big tires and a 4-inch lift on stock tires are different climbs. Measure the step.
- Assuming a "lifted" listing exists. None in our data says so. Buy for your year and cab.
- Forgetting clearance. A step that hangs lower is a step that sits closer to rocks. If you run trails, read ground clearance first.
- Forgetting the older passenger. Grab handles matter as much as steps. Steps for seniors goes into that.
- Expecting a rating. These titles carry none we can back up.
Find your truck
This is the same picker as on the home page. It shows what is listed for your stock year and cab, not your lift.
What do you drive?
Start with the truck. We only show what a listing title or maker states for it.
The bottom line
Measure first. If the first step is a stretch but manageable, a drop step is the simple fix, and the Tyger LanderX is where we would start on a GM crew cab. If the climb is too tall for that, go powered and budget for a shop. If you prefer a single step at each door, look at hoop steps. And nobody selling you a step has signed off on your lift, so ask before you drill anything. Our fit rules cover the rest.
Tailgate questions
Do regular running boards work on a lifted truck?
They bolt to the same places, but they may not help much. RealTruck's blog says most running boards and nerf bars have a standard drop distance of 3 inches from the pinch weld, and that they are not as effective on a lifted truck. That is one seller's general statement. Measure your own truck and decide from that number.
What size lift needs power steps?
No maker sheet we read sets a rule. RealTruck's blog says AMP PowerSteps suit trucks lifted between 5 and 10 inches, and Bestop Powerboards trucks lifted between 3 and 6. It sells those products, so treat that as a guide and not a limit. The AMP install guides we read do not mention a lift at all.
Will running boards still fit after a lift kit?
Nobody we read says either way. No listing title in our data names a lift kit, and the maker sheets and pages we checked do not mention one. Parts bolt to the body, so start with the part listed for your stock year and cab. Then ask the seller and your lift kit maker if anything sits in the way.
Are hoop steps good for lifted trucks?
They can be for a mild lift. RealTruck's blog says some hoop steps have a 4-inch drop from the pinch weld and suit a leveled or lifted height from 0 to 3 inches. Hoop steps are single steps at each door, and some need drilling. Our hoop steps page has the listings and what to check.
How high should the first step be?
No rule covers pickups. The one number we found, 24 inches from the ground, is in 49 CFR 399.207, and it applies to high-profile cab-over trucks and truck-tractors. It can work as a rough yardstick for what regulators consider climbable on those trucks. Your own knees and passengers are a better guide on a pickup.
Where this comes from
- RealTruck blog: best steps for a lifted truck (updated August 19, 2026)
- AMP Research installation guide IM77151 (PDF, SEMA Data)
- RealTruck AMP Research installation guide IM76255 (PDF)
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-SS2C35068 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- Westin Automotive: Outlaw Drop nerf bars
- Cornell LII: 49 CFR 399.207, truck and truck-tractor access
Keep reading
- Buying guideDrop stepsDrop steps put the first step lower. Compare drop-down rails by truck and cab, with fit as the listing states it, what the sheets say and the clearance question.
- Buying guidePower running boardsPower running boards come out with the door and fold away after. See which trucks each listing names, what the install takes and which load figures hold up.
- Model profilePowerStep XLAMP's PowerStep XL is sold for tall trucks, but published drop and load figures conflict. What five AMP guides state, what they omit and what to ask.
- Buying guideHoop stepsHoop steps give you one step per door. Carr's sheet lists trucks by year and calls for drilling; Bully and DNA titles name makes only. Here is what each one states.
- Buying guideSteps for older ridersTruck steps for older passengers and shorter riders: how to measure first-step height, what drop, two-level, wide and power steps state, and where to start.
- Question & answerDo Running Boards Reduce Ground Clearance? Fixed, Drop and Power ComparedFixed boards cut the room under the side of the truck, not the spec-sheet figure. How fixed, drop and power steps differ, and how to measure your own truck.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint