Compatibility
Tacoma Running Boards: 2005-2023 vs 2024-Up, Double Cab vs Access and XtraCab
Tacoma running boards split in two places: the 2023-to-2024 change and the cab. A part listed for a 2005-2023 Double Cab carries a different number from one for a 2024-up Double Cab, and the Access Cab and XtraCab have their own listings. We could read no maker sheet for any Tacoma part, so what follows is what the titles state.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
Start with the year and the cab. For a 2024-up Double Cab, begin with the Tyger Access drop rail, listed for 2024-2027 and naming the hybrid. For a 2005-2023 Double Cab, begin with the COMNOVA aluminum board. Access Cab and XtraCab owners need listings that name those cabs. These are listing statements only. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Find your truck in this table. Every line repeats a listing title as we read it on November 2, 2026. Nothing was worked out from a year range, and how we verify fitment explains why.
| Your Tacoma | What the titles state | Start with |
|---|---|---|
| 2024-up Double Cab | "2024-2027 Toyota Tacoma (Fits Hybrid) Double Cab" on Tyger titles; another title stops at 2026 | Tyger Access |
| 2024-up XtraCab | "2024-2027 Toyota Tacoma XtraCab" | Tyger Trax XtraCab |
| 2005-2023 Double Cab | "2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma Double/Crew Cab", or Double Cab on the others | COMNOVA aluminum |
| 2005-2023 Access Cab | "2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma Xtar/Access Cab" | The Access Cab step bars |
We use "start here" and not "our pick" on this page. A pick on this site needs a maker document, and we could not read one for any of these parts.
2024-up Tacoma
Tyger Auto
Tyger Access (2024+ Tacoma)
A drop rail for the new Tacoma Double Cab, hybrid named in the title.
Why here: Its title names the generation, the hybrid and the cab, which is more than most Tacoma titles do.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2024-2027 Toyota Tacoma (Fits Hybrid) | Double Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Drop step (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Not stated in the title
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Title names the generation, the hybrid and the cab
- Tyger part number in the title (TG-AS2T24003)
Watch out for
- We could not read Tyger's page or sheet for this part, so this is listing data only
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
Best for: 2024-up Tacoma Double Cab owners, hybrid included as listed.
Listing data only: We only have the Amazon listing title for this one, no maker sheet. It is an option, not a recommendation.
The Access is a drop rail, so the step section sits lower than the rail. That is the shape to look at when the first step is the climb. If you prefer a straight rail or a plain board, these are listed for the same cab.
| Spec sheet | Start here: Tacoma 2024+Tyger Access (2024+ Tacoma) | Listing data onlyTyger Trax (2024+ Tacoma Double Cab) | Listing data onlyRunning boards (2024-2026 Tacoma Double Cab) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | 2024-2027 Toyota Tacoma (Fits Hybrid) | Double Cab | 2024-2027 Toyota Tacoma (Fits Hybrid) | Double Cab | 2024-2026 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab |
| Style | Drop step (as titled) | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) |
| Material | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Price class | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range |
| Best for | 2024-up Tacoma Double Cab owners, hybrid included as listed. | 2024-up Double Cab owners comparing rails. | 2024-2026 Double Cab owners on a budget. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
One thing to watch: Tyger's title runs to 2027, while the third title stops at 2026. We could not read Tyger's own page to confirm the later year. A 2027 owner should confirm it with the seller.
XtraCab. The Tyger Trax for the XtraCab* is one of the few listings we read for this cab. Do not put a Double Cab part on one. Toyota sells the 2026 Tacoma as XtraCab or Double Cab, and it describes the XtraCab with a fold-flat passenger seat and a lockable rear storage panel. It lists seating for up to five on the Double Cab only. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
2005-2023 Tacoma
COMNOVA
COMNOVA Aluminum (2005-2023 Tacoma)
An aluminum board listed for the 2005-2023 Double Cab.
Why here: It is the plain aluminum board to start with for this long generation, and the title names the material and the years.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma Double/Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Running board / step bar (as titled)
- Material
- Aluminum (title)
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Not stated in the title
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Title names material and years
Watch out for
- The title says Double/Crew; Toyota's name for this cab is Double
- Listing data only
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
Best for: 2005-2023 Double Cab owners who want aluminum.
Listing data only: We only have the Amazon listing title for this one, no maker sheet. It is an option, not a recommendation.
Its title says "Double/Crew Cab", while Toyota's name for this cab is Double Cab. We repeat that wording and do not read more into it, so confirm your cab on the listing. The rest are all listed for the 2005-2023 Double Cab.
| Spec sheet | Listing data onlyTyger Access (2005-2023 Tacoma) | Listing data onlyTyger LanderX (2005-2023 Tacoma) | Listing data onlyTyger Rider 3.5" Oval (2005-2023 Tacoma) | Listing data onlyOEDRO Drop Down (2005-2023 Tacoma) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma | Double Cab | 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma | Double Cab | 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma | Double Cab | 2005-2023 Tacoma Double Cab |
| Style | Drop step (as titled) | Drop step (as titled) | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Drop step (as titled) |
| Material | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Price class | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range |
| Best for | 2005-2023 Double Cab owners who want a lower step. | 2005-2023 Double Cab owners comparing drop steps. | 2005-2023 Double Cab owners who prefer a tube. | 2005-2023 Double Cab owners comparing drop steps. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
A single 2005-2023 range covers a lot of model years, and these titles say nothing about what changed inside it. Trim can matter too. One slider listing we read rules out TRD Off-Road and TRD Sport by name. So read the whole title.
Access Cab. The step bars for the Access Cab* spell the cab "Xtar/Access". The title has no brand, and it is listing data only. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
"Double Cab" on a Tacoma
ARIES files the Tacoma Double Cab under crew, next to trucks with four full-size doors, and it files the Access Cab under extended. That does not carry across brands. ARIES puts the Silverado Double Cab and the 2007-up Tundra Double Cab under extended. If you own one Toyota and shop for another, the word does not travel. Tundra running boards deals with that truck's split, and extended cab vs crew cab has the full table.
One listing we read left the cab out and put a load figure in the title. We skip that kind of listing here. The cab is the first thing you need, and the seller gives no basis for the number. Tacoma sheets from Tyger did not load for us either, so we print no weight rating for any part on this page.
Steps vs rock sliders

A step is for your boot. A rock slider is meant to protect the rocker on the trail. Amazon titles blur the two, and many listings with "rock slider" in the name are step rails with the term added. So do not buy protection based on one word in a title.
Some sellers claim true sliders can take the truck's weight. We found no published rating behind that, including from slider makers, so we repeat no figure. True frame-mounted sliders are thin on Amazon, and some are listed by cab and bed together, such as "Double Cab Short Bed". Our slider pick for that cab and bed, the Body Armor Revo, is on Tacoma rock sliders, and it is a pick on paperwork only.
Bed length
For cab-length boards, the bed stays out of it. Parts that run past the cab are another matter. Toyota offers the 2026 Tacoma with 5-foot and 6-foot beds, and one trim summary on its page pairs the Double Cab with the 5-foot bed and the XtraCab with the 6-foot bed. Bed and cab fitment has more on reading those titles.
What's not here
We have no factory Toyota boards in our data, since we read no Toyota accessory document for them. Your Toyota dealer can answer for those. For a wider view of step shapes, see truck side steps. For other trucks, go to all trucks. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
More on this truck: 2024-2026 boards, 2005-2023 boards and Double Cab vs Crew Cab. The Toyota page has the rest of the make.
Tailgate questions
Will 2023 Tacoma running boards fit a 2024 Tacoma?
Do not plan on it. Listings treat them as separate trucks. Tyger's Access rail has one part number for 2005-2023 Double Cab, TG-AS2T24004, and another for 2024-2027 Double Cab, TG-AS2T24003. Match the title to your model year. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Is the Tacoma Double Cab a crew cab?
In the ARIES table it is: ARIES files the Tacoma Double Cab under crew. That is not true of every Double Cab, since ARIES files the Silverado and 2007-up Tundra Double Cab under extended. One COMNOVA title says Double/Crew Cab, but Toyota's name for this cab is Double Cab, so look for that.
Are running boards the same as rock sliders on a Tacoma?
No, though listings blur them. Many Amazon titles use the words rock slider on parts that are step rails or nerf bars. Some sellers say true sliders can take the truck's weight, and we found no published rating behind that. If you want rock protection, read how the part mounts and do not stop at the title.
Do Tacoma running boards need drilling?
We cannot say for these parts. Tyger's sheets for its Tacoma parts did not load for us, and the other listings came with no sheet. Sheets we did read for other trucks differ, from no drilling step to drilling may be required. Ask the seller or read the instructions on the listing first.
Do these running boards fit the Tacoma hybrid?
Two Tyger titles for the 2024-up Double Cab say Fits Hybrid. The other 2024-up titles we read do not mention it, and that silence does not settle it either way. If you have the hybrid, pick a listing that names it or ask the seller first.
Where this comes from
Keep reading
- CompatibilityAll trucksWhich running boards fit your truck depends on model, year block, cab and sometimes bed. See the splits listings state for each truck and where to start.
- CompatibilityToyota TundraToyota Tundra running boards by cab and generation. CrewMax and Double Cab are separate listings, and 2022-up trucks are separate again. Fit as the titles state it.
- ExplainerExtended vs crew cabA crew cab typically has four full-size doors. An extended cab has smaller rear doors or a seat-forward layout. See each maker's names and why boards don't swap.
- Buying guideSide stepsTruck side steps come as rails, 6-inch boards, drop steps and power steps. Compare styles by year and cab, with fit marked as the listing or maker states it.
- About usHow we verify fitFit here is what a listing title or maker sheet states, marked as such. What we read, what blocked us and why you still confirm year and cab before you buy.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint