Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

About us

How We Verify Fitment: What We Read, What We Print and What We Leave Out

Nobody on this site has bolted these parts to a truck, and nothing here was measured in a lab. Every fit statement is copied from an Amazon listing title or a maker's own sheet and marked as such. This page shows what we read, what we could not read, and what we refuse to print.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 4 min read

Straight answer

We do not derive fit. A fit line on this site repeats what the Amazon listing title or the maker's sheet states, with the date we read it. We print load ratings and install details only from the maker's own document. Where a maker page blocked us, we say so. Confirm your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What's on this page

A wrong year or cab means a board that does not bolt on and a return you did not need. So the rule on this site is short: we repeat what the source states, we name the source, and we do not fill gaps with a guess.

The fit line on every product

Every product box has a line that starts "Fits, according to the listing". The words after it come from the Amazon listing title as we read it on the date shown. If a maker sheet also backs up the part, the line says so.

The fit finder on the home page works the same way. It holds no compatibility logic of its own. It shows a part when that part's stored statement names your truck, your year block and your cab. If the statement leaves the year or the cab open, the finder puts the part in a separate group and tells you to confirm it first. It never works out a fit from the year range.

What we read

  • Amazon listing titles. They give the years, the cab and often the exclusions, such as a title that rules out the Ram 1500 Classic.
  • Maker instruction sheets. These tie a part number to brackets, tools and any drilling step. We read Tyger Auto sheets, mostly hosted by the retailer CARiD, and RealTruck guides for AMP Research parts, among them the XL guides IM77141, IM77151, IM77138, IM77236 and IM77338. Those XL guides state no load and no drop.
  • Maker pages. Westin's Pro-e page states its load rating and install type directly. ARIES publishes a table of cab names by truck. A maker's own store page for that exact part counts as a maker document, and we attribute the figure and say so when the basis is not stated.
  • Public bodies. The warranty section relies on an FTC press release from April 2018.

What we could not read

Some sources refused automated reads when this site was built. We did not route around that. Tyger Auto's own site, RealTruck's product pages and Rough Country's site were blocked or came back empty. So did some Tyger sheets for the Access and Trax lines. Copies of LanderX manuals on ManualsLib are named as such where we use them.

The consequence is visible on the page. A product without a readable maker document carries the note "Listing data only". It can appear as an option, but it does not get the words "our pick". That is why the Tacoma and Tundra pages start with a "start here" part instead. A title with no part number can tie to a maker document only by truck, years and cab, and we say so on the page.

What we refuse to print

ItemWhy it stays out
AMP PowerStep XL load rating and extra dropFigures conflict between RealTruck and older pages; the XL guides we read state neither
Load ratings for Rough Country, Go Rhino and CarrDealer pages only, and some disagree
Bully load and install timeBullyUSA.com's footer calls it an independent enthusiast website, so it is not a maker document
One meaning for "Double Cab"Makers and truck lines use the name differently
Fit of existing boards on the 2027 Silverado 1500No listing we read names it
Any money amount, star rating or review countPrice classes in words only: budget, mid-range, premium

A fit statement can still be wrong

A listing title is a seller's statement. It can be out of date or too broad. Trim, bed length, factory options and body changes during a model year can all matter. Our data does not cover all of them, so the last check belongs on the listing itself, against your own year and cab. If you are unsure, ask the seller before you order.

How this site makes money

The site earns a commission through Amazon links, and the price stays the same for you. Links are marked with an asterisk and labeled "Ad". The commission does not decide which part gets named. Details are in the affiliate disclosure.

Found a mistake?

If a listing has changed or a fit line is wrong, contact details are in the imprint. We correct the page and update its date. More about the editorial team is under about us, and the fit data sorted by truck starts at all trucks.

Tailgate questions

Did you install these running boards on trucks?

No. There are no installs, no road time and no lab measurements behind this site. We compare listing titles, maker instruction sheets and maker pages, and we say which one each statement came from.

Why does every product box tell me to check the listing?

Because a listing can change after we read it, and because the title is a seller's statement, not a guarantee. The date beside each fit line shows when we read it. The listing is what you are actually buying.

Why do some products have no weight rating?

Because we only print a rating that we read in the maker's own document. Dealer pages disagree with each other on several brands, so a dealer figure alone stays off this site. Missing means not stated, not zero.

Do manufacturers pay for a placement?

No. Nobody can buy a placement here. The site earns a commission through Amazon links when someone buys. That is disclosed on every page that carries such links.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us