Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

Buying guide

Nerf Bars for Trucks: What the Name Covers, and What Fits by Cab and Year

Nerf bars for trucks are usually tube steps that bolt on below the doors, and they are narrower than a flat board. For a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab, start with the 3.5-inch Tyger Rider. Other trucks have their own part, because every one of these is cut for specific years and cabs.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 7 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Straight answer

A nerf bar is usually a tube step, narrower than a running board, but titles use the words interchangeably. Our pick for a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab is the 3.5-inch Tyger Rider TG-SS2C35068: 8 brackets, threaded holes behind plugs and no drilling step in the sheet. New-body Ram and Colorado owners get their own Rider. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What's on this page

Wikipedia describes a nerf bar as a tubular device fitted to the side of a race car, and says it is fitted for convenience on a pickup truck or SUV. On a truck, it mostly means a tube step along the cab. It is one form of running board, a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out.

The name is not a build guarantee. One Tyger title calls the same part running boards, side step, rail and nerf bars at once. The APS title on this page calls a flat 6-inch board a nerf bar. So shop by the shape and width the title states.

Our pick for the most common full-size crew cab

Fit sheetOur pick: Silverado and Sierra crewAd

Tyger Auto

Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)

A 3.5-inch rail whose title names the Silverado and Sierra years, the HD split and the cab.

Why here: It has the kind of title we want: years, the HD split, the cab and a part number that leads to a maker sheet.

Fits, according to the listing
2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
Price class
Mid-range

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • The part number in the title (TG-SS2C35068) ties the listing to Tyger's own instruction sheet
  • That sheet bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and has no drilling step
  • Title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years

Watch out for

  • 3.5 inches wide per the title, narrower than the 6-inch boards
  • No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
  • The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited; a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering

Best for: Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

If you drive something else, jump to your truck below. "Our pick" means we read a maker sheet for the part. It does not mean anyone here put one on a truck.

Which one for which truck?

Pick by what you drive

  • If you drive a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a new-body Ram 1500 crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a Colorado or Canyon crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (Colorado and Canyon)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Chevy Colorado GMC Canyon | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 1999-2018 GM Double Cab → MaxMate 3" nerf bars (1999-2018 GM double cab) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 1999-2018 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500 2500 LD; 2001-2019 2500 3500HD; 2019 LD/Limited (Exclude SS) | Double Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive an F-150 SuperCrew or Super Duty Crew and want a flat step → APS 6" Flat (F-150 SuperCrew) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Ford F150 2015-2026 SuperCrew Cab & F150 Lightning 2022-2026 & F-250 F-350 Super Duty 2017-2026 Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you want a lower step or a different style

Side by side

Comparison: Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM), Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500), Tyger Rider 3.5" (Colorado and Canyon), MaxMate 3" nerf bars (1999-2018 GM double cab), APS 6" Flat (F-150 SuperCrew)
Spec sheetOur pick: Silverado and Sierra crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)Our pick: Ram 1500 new body crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500)Our pick: Colorado and Canyon crewTyger Rider 3.5" (Colorado and Canyon)Listing data onlyMaxMate 3" nerf bars (1999-2018 GM double cab)Listing data onlyAPS 6" Flat (F-150 SuperCrew)
Fits, according to the listing2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab2015-2027 Chevy Colorado GMC Canyon | Crew Cab1999-2018 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500 2500 LD; 2001-2019 2500 3500HD; 2019 LD/Limited (Exclude SS) | Double CabFord F150 2015-2026 SuperCrew Cab & F150 Lightning 2022-2026 & F-250 F-350 Super Duty 2017-2026 Crew Cab
StyleRail / nerf bar (as titled)Rail / nerf bar (as titled)Rail / nerf bar (as titled)Rail / nerf bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)
MaterialNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleBlack stainless steel (title)
Weight ratingNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
InstallBolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedBolt-on with 6 brackets to factory studs; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedBolt-on with 6 brackets at existing mounting locations; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Price classMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-range
Best forCrew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.New-body Ram 1500 crew cab owners. Not for the Classic.Colorado or Canyon crew cab owners who want a rail and a readable install.Older GM double cab owners who want a plain round-tube look.F-150 SuperCrew and Super Duty Crew owners who want a flat step.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Fit and specs as the listing title or maker sheet states them. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. Swipe sideways on a phone.

The bars, one by one

Tyger Rider 3.5-inch for 2019-up GM

The title reads "2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD", Crew Cab. That split matters, because the 1500 and HD trucks changed in different years. Part number TG-SS2C35068 leads to Tyger's sheet: 8 brackets, threaded mounting holes behind plastic plugs along the bottom of the body, no drilling step, and a second person recommended.

Two things to watch. The title does not mention the 2019 LD or Limited, and a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering. That comes from listings, not a GM document. And nothing in the title or our sources covers the 2027 Silverado 1500, so that truck stays unverified. The Silverado page has both traps.

Strength: a clear title and a readable sheet. Weakness: at 3.5 inches, it is narrow, and no weight rating is stated, so we print none.

Tyger Rider 3.5-inch for the new-body Ram 1500

This Rider* is titled "2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic)", Crew Cab, so it draws the Classic line for you. Part number TG-SS2D35098 ties to a Tyger sheet with 6 universal brackets on factory studs and no drilling step. The sheet tells you to clear paint off the studs with a wire brush or thread die.

The title runs to 2027, and we could not read Tyger's own page to confirm that year. Older trucks and the Classic need a different part, and Tyger's sheet for that crew Rider warns "DRILLING MAY BE REQUIRED". The Ram 1500 page goes through both.

Strength: the plainest Classic exclusion in our data. Weakness: narrow, and no use to anyone with a Classic.

Tyger Rider 3.5-inch for Colorado and Canyon

The mid-size Rider* is titled "2015-2027 Chevy Colorado GMC Canyon", Crew Cab, under part number TG-SS2C35168. Tyger's sheet uses 6 brackets and clip nuts that slide into holes in the body after you remove the rubber plugs. It uses the 1st, 2nd and 4th mounting locations and has no drilling step.

One long range in the title covers a lot of model years, and nothing in it breaks them down. Confirm your year on the listing.

Strength: a maker sheet on a mid-size truck, which is rare in our data. Weakness: crew cab only per the title, and a single range covers every year.

MaxMate 3-inch for older GM Double Cabs

The MaxMate* is titled for 1999-2018 Silverado and Sierra 1500 and 2500 LD, 2001-2019 2500 and 3500HD, and the 2019 LD/Limited, excluding the SS, with Double Cab named. That is the rare title that takes up the 2019 LD question at all.

The name Double Cab needs care here. ARIES files the Silverado and Sierra Double under extended cabs, with smaller rear doors or a seat-forward layout. It files the Tacoma Double under crew cabs. So this GM part says nothing about a Toyota, and the cab explainer covers why.

Strength: covers older trucks that newer lists skip. Weakness: 3 inches per the title, the narrowest step here, and listing data only, with no sheet we could read.

APS 6-inch flat for F-150 and Super Duty

The APS* is here because of its title, not its shape. It says "Running Boards Nerf Bars" on a black stainless flat board. It is listed for the F-150 2015-2026 SuperCrew, the Lightning 2022-2026 and the F-250 and F-350 Super Duty 2017-2026 Crew Cab, and it uses Ford's two cab names correctly.

If you came looking for a slim tube, this is not it. If you want more foot area on a SuperCrew and do not care what it is called, it is a fair option, though the Tyger Riser on the F-150 page has the maker sheet and this one does not.

Strength: a 6-inch step with clear cab wording. Weakness: stainless grade not stated, no weight rating in the title, listing data only.

What to look at before you buy

CriterionWhat to look for in the title or sheet
WidthTitles here run from 3 inches to 6 inches. Wider means more foot area and a bigger look
YearRead the whole range, including any "not fit" wording
CabThe cab name in the title, compared with your own doors
LengthMost run along the cab; wheel-to-wheel parts add the bed. See bed and cab fitment
Part numberA part number lets you look for the maker's sheet
DrillingNamed per part. Some sheets have no drilling step, others warn about it
Weight ratingOnly from the maker's document. Tyger's sheets state none
FinishWe found no corrosion measurements, so read any corrosion claim as the seller's wording

Tyger's sheets also note left and right sides. On the crew cab Riders, one step pad sits closer to one end of the bar, so identify the correct side before you lift it.

Symbolic image (AI-generated): a worn work boot standing on a plain black side step of a dusty pickup
AI-generated illustrative image: not a specific truck or part. · Image: AI-generated (OpenAI)

Mistakes that cost you a return

  • Buying by the word. "Nerf bar" in a title does not promise a tube. Read the shape and width.
  • Trusting the year alone. A 2021 Ram 1500 can be a Classic, and those are separate listings.
  • Reading Double Cab as one thing. ARIES places Silverado and Tundra Doubles under extended, and the Tacoma Double under crew.
  • Assuming no drilling. Some kits have no drilling step. Others warn about it, and Tyger's older Ram sheet is one.
  • Taking a seller's load number at face value. A title claim is not a maker document, and bases differ.
  • Fixing the wrong problem. If the first step is too high, a drop step may suit you better. See side steps. If you want it out of the way, look at power running boards.

Find your truck

What do you drive?

Start with the truck. We only show what a listing title or maker states for it.

More makes and years are under all trucks. The Tacoma page covers Toyota's mid-size truck, where the cab names change again.

Bottom line

For a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab, buy the Tyger Rider 3.5-inch if you want a slim step with a clear sheet. Ram and Colorado owners have the same logic with their own part. Want a bigger step? Go wider, and see best running boards. Everything above follows the rules on how we verify fitment. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

New to the term? What are nerf bars? starts from the beginning.

Tailgate questions

Are nerf bars and running boards the same thing?

The words overlap on listings, so do not rely on them. One Tyger title says running boards, side step, rail and nerf bars for the same part, and the APS title calls a flat 6-inch board a nerf bar. Generally, a nerf bar means a tube. Go by the shape and width the title states.

Are nerf bars worth it?

They are worth it if you want a slim step and can get a part with a clear sheet, such as a Tyger Rider, which bolts on with a helper recommended. They are a poor fit if you or your passengers want a big foot area. At 3 to 3.5 inches wide per the titles here, they are about half the width of a 6-inch board.

Do nerf bars need drilling?

Not always, and not never. Tyger's sheets for its 2019-up GM, new-body Ram and Colorado Riders have no drilling step. Its sheet for the older Ram crew Rider prints "DRILLING MAY BE REQUIRED". Listing-only parts may say nothing at all, so read the sheet for your part number.

How much weight can nerf bars hold?

There is no shared figure, and the Tyger sheets we read state none. Only a maker's own document can answer for a given part. Westin states 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side for its Pro-e power board, which is a different product. Not stated means just that, and says nothing about what the part can hold.

Are the nerf bars here for ATVs or quads?

No. Wikipedia describes nerf bars on quad bikes as a way to keep the wheels of two machines from tangling, which is a different part with a different job. Everything on this page is for pickup trucks. If you want quad parts, search by your machine's model.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we verify fit