Compatibility
GMC Sierra 1500 Running Boards: Same Listings as Silverado, Different Trim Checks
Many Sierra 1500 running boards are the same listings as the Silverado, but not all of them. Some Silverado titles name the Sierra only for 2500HD and 3500HD, so they say nothing about your 1500. For a 2019-2026 Sierra 1500 crew cab, our pick is the Tyger Rider 3.5-inch, because its title names the truck and we could read the maker sheet.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
For a 2019-2026 Sierra 1500 crew cab, start with the Tyger Rider 3.5-inch: its title names the Sierra 1500, and Tyger's sheet shows 8 brackets and no drilling step. For 2007-2018, including 2014 and 2015 trucks, Tyger has a separate Rider. No title here names Denali or AT4, so ask about those. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
A running board is a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out. If you own a Sierra, you know the routine: plenty of parts are sold under the Silverado name first. So the job on this page is narrow. Which titles actually say Sierra 1500, for which years and which cab? The Silverado page has the Chevy side.
Which titles name your Sierra 1500
Read November 2, 2026, from listing titles only. If the title does not say it, this table does not either.
| Listing | Names the Sierra 1500? | Years for the 1500 | Cab, according to the listing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tyger Rider 3.5" TG-SS2C35068 | Yes | 2019-2026 | Crew |
| Tyger Riser 6" | Yes | 2019-2026 | Crew |
| Tyger LanderX | Yes | 2019-2026 | Crew |
| Tyger Trax | Yes | 2019-2026 | Crew |
| Aluminum crew | Yes, "Excl 2019 Ld/Lt" | 2019-2026 | Crew |
| COMNOVA 6" | No, Sierra only for 2500HD 3500HD | Not stated | Crew |
| COMNOVA 6" stainless | No, Sierra only for 2500/3500HD | Not stated | Crew |
| Tyger Rider 3.5" (older body) | Yes, and "2019 LD/Limited" | 2007-2018 | Crew |
| COMNOVA 6" Double Cab | Yes | 2007-2018 | Double and Extended, both in the title |
The two COMNOVA rows are the trap. The COMNOVA 6-inch* and its stainless sister* are Silverado 1500 listings. A Sierra 1500 owner gets no statement from them, however alike the two trucks look. Own an HD? Go to Silverado and Sierra HD. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
2019-2026 crew cab: start with the Tyger Rider
Tyger Auto
Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)
A 3.5-inch rail whose title names the Silverado and Sierra years, the HD split and the cab.
Why here: The title names the Sierra 1500 and the cab, and its part number leads to a Tyger sheet we could read.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- The part number in the title (TG-SS2C35068) ties the listing to Tyger's own instruction sheet
- That sheet bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and has no drilling step
- Title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years
Watch out for
- 3.5 inches wide per the title, narrower than the 6-inch boards
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
- The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited; a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering
Best for: Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.
Tyger's sheet uses 8 brackets on threaded holes behind plastic plugs, has no drilling step and recommends assistance. It states no weight rating, so we print none. The rail is 3.5 inches wide per the title, so look at the 6-inch Riser if you want more foot area, or the LanderX for a lower step.
If you drive a 2019-2026 crew cab and want a maker sheet → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)
Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a 6-inch step on a 2019-2026 crew cab → Tyger Riser 6" (2019+ GM) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a lower step on a 2019-2026 crew cab → Tyger LanderX (2019+ GM) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2007-2018 crew cab, or a 2019 LD/Limited → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2007-2018 GM)
Fits, according to the listing: 2007-2018 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra 1500; 2007-2019 2500 / 3500HD; 2019 LD/Limited | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2007-2018 Double or Extended Cab → COMNOVA 6" Double Cab (2007-2018 GM) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: Double Cab ... 2007-2018 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra 1500 Extended Cab, 2007-2019 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want the step to come down with the door → AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)
Fits, according to the listing: Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
| Spec sheet | Our pick: Silverado and Sierra crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM) | Listing data onlyTyger Riser 6" (2019+ GM) | Listing data onlyTyger LanderX (2019+ GM) | Listing data onlyTyger Trax (2019+ GM) | Listing data onlyAluminum nerf bars (2019+ Silverado and Sierra) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | Crew Cab ... 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado & GMC Sierra 1500 (Excl 2019 Ld/Lt), 2020-2026 2500 HD 3500 HD |
| Style | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Drop step (as titled) | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) |
| Material | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Aluminum (title) |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Price class | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range | Budget |
| Best for | Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet. | GM crew cab owners who want a wider Tyger step. | GM crew cab owners who want the step lower than a straight rail. | GM crew cab owners comparing Tyger rails. | GM crew cab owners who want aluminum and an explicit LD exclusion on the listing. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
Only the first has a maker sheet in our product data. The rest are listing data.
The 2019 LD and Limited
Not every 2019 Sierra 1500 belongs with the new trucks. The aluminum title above excludes "2019 Ld/Lt", and Tyger's older Rider* names "2019 LD/Limited" with the 2007-2018 trucks. A GM parts reseller's page for the factory Double Cab step says "Excludes 2019 Double Cab LD Models", which points the same way, but that is a reseller's wording and not a GM document we read. The 2019 LD page has the rest. No title we read names a 2027 Sierra 1500 either, so treat that truck as unverified. Titles running to 2027 name the 2500 and 3500HD.
Double Cab, Crew Cab and trim checks
ARIES lists the Sierra's cabs as Regular, Extended before 2004, Double from 2014 on, and Crew, and files the Double under extended. It also says its table is only an aid to understanding. Another maker's Double Cab can be a different thing, so read double cab vs crew cab before you carry the word across brands.
The reseller's pages for factory steps give a useful number: Double Cab second-row doors about 32 inches and Crew Cab second-row doors about 42 inches. The pages tie the separate parts to that door size. It is not something to fit a part by.
Trims. None of the titles or the Tyger sheet above names Denali, AT4 or any other Sierra trim, so we have nothing to tell you there, for or against. The same reseller's pages warn that applications may be limited by required features or production options. That warning is written about GM's factory parts. Still, if your truck has trim-specific rocker or step equipment, give the seller your exact trim and ask before you order.
Factory GM assist steps
GM calls them assist steps. GMC's accessory site refused our reader, so this comes from ShopGMCParts, a reseller listing Genuine GM parts:
- Crew Cab, black 6-inch rectangular, part 84676694: 2019-2024, aluminum, drill-free on factory weld nuts per the page, "REQUIRES Crew Cab Model".
- Double Cab, black 6-inch rectangular, part 84011395: 2019-2024, "EXCLUDES Crew Cab and Regular Cab models".
We found no independent test comparing them with aftermarket parts. Ask a GMC dealer for the current part number and your VIN check.
Power steps
RealTruck's guide for the AMP PowerStep 76255-01A lists the 2022-2026 Sierra 1500, "All Cabs". It states 3-5 hours and professional installation recommended, calls for drilling through the pinch weld, and trims the 79-inch board to 69 inches for a Double Cab and 50 for a Single Cab. The listing names no part number, so we tie it to that guide through the application only. Westin's Pro-e table lists the 2007-2018 Sierra 1500 Crew Cab as part 29-23725 and 2019-2026 as part 29-24135, and states "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side". The rest is on Silverado and Sierra power running boards.
For other GM trucks, see GMC running boards or all trucks. Every line above follows how we verify fitment.
Tailgate questions
Do Silverado running boards fit a GMC Sierra 1500?
Only when the title names the Sierra 1500. Tyger's titles and the aluminum crew title do. COMNOVA's 2019-up titles name the Silverado 1500 and mention the Sierra only for 2500HD and 3500HD, so they state nothing for a Sierra 1500. Trucks that look alike are not the same statement. Go by the words in the listing.
What running boards are listed for a 2014 or 2015 GMC Sierra 1500?
Those years sit in the 2007-2018 group in the titles we read. The Tyger Rider title reads 2007-2018 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra 1500, Crew Cab. For a Double Cab, the COMNOVA title reads 2007-2018 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra 1500 Extended Cab and also says Double Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Do these fit a Sierra Denali or AT4?
No title or sheet we read for these parts names Denali or AT4, so we cannot say either way. A GM parts reseller's pages for factory assist steps warn that applications may be limited by required features and production options. Give the seller your exact trim and ask, or ask a GMC dealer with your VIN.
Are there factory GM running boards for the Sierra 1500?
Yes. GM calls them assist steps. A GM parts reseller lists a Crew Cab black 6-inch rectangular set and a Double Cab version for 2019-2024, as Genuine GM parts. GMC's own accessories site refused our reader, so we could not confirm these against it. Ask a GMC dealer for the current part number.
Are there power running boards for the Sierra 1500?
Yes, as listed. RealTruck's guide for the AMP PowerStep 76255-01A lists the 2022-2026 Sierra 1500 for all cabs and states 3-5 hours with professional installation recommended. Westin's Pro-e table lists 2007-2018 and 2019-2026 Sierra 1500 Crew Cab parts. See our Silverado power running boards page for the listings.
Where this comes from
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-SS2C35068 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- ShopGMCParts (reseller): Sierra 1500 Crew Cab black 6-inch assist steps, part 84676694
- ShopGMCParts (reseller): Sierra 1500 Double Cab black 6-inch assist steps, part 84011395
- ARIES Automotive: truck cab guide
- Westin Automotive: Pro-e power running boards, fit table
- RealTruck AMP Research installation guide IM76255 (PDF)
Keep reading
- CompatibilityAll trucksWhich running boards fit your truck depends on model, year block, cab and sometimes bed. See the splits listings state for each truck and where to start.
- CompatibilitySilveradoSilverado 1500 running boards split at 2019, with an LD exception, and by Crew, Double and Regular Cab. See what the listings state and where to start for yours.
- CompatibilitySilverado power stepsSilverado and Sierra power running boards split by year: 2019, 2022-2026 and older. What AMP, Westin and Rough Country sheets state, and where titles fall short.
- ExplainerDouble vs crew cabIs a double cab a crew cab? On a Tacoma it sits in the crew group; on a Silverado and a 2007-up Tundra it does not. See the cab table and what it does to board fit.
- CompatibilityGMCGMC truck running boards by model: Sierra 1500, 2500 and 3500HD, Canyon. Which titles name GMC, which name only Chevy, and where to start for your year and cab.
- About usHow we verify fitFit here is what a listing title or maker sheet states, marked as such. What we read, what blocked us and why you still confirm year and cab before you buy.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint