Compatibility
Silverado and Sierra 2500HD and 3500HD Running Boards: Year Splits That Differ From the 1500
The Silverado and Sierra 2500HD and 3500HD change a year later than the 1500. Titles and Westin's table put a 2019 HD with the older trucks and start the new part at 2020. For a 2020-up Crew Cab, our pick is the Tyger Rider 3.5-inch, because its part number leads to a sheet we could read and its title spells out the split.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
Listings split the HD trucks at 2019 and 2020, while the 1500 splits at 2018 and 2019. For a 2020-up 2500HD or 3500HD Crew Cab, start with the Tyger Rider, whose title says 2020-2027 and whose sheet has no drilling step. For 2007-2019, Tyger's older Rider names the HD trucks. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Find your year and cab first. Everything here is what listing titles and the maker documents we name state, read on November 2, 2026. The 1500 has its own page at Silverado running boards. The GMC 1500 is on Sierra running boards.
| Your HD truck | What the source states | Source | Start with |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2020-up, Crew Cab | "2020-2027 2500 3500HD", "Crew Cab" | Tyger title | Tyger Rider |
| 2020-2026, Crew Cab | "2020-2026 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD Crew Cab" | COMNOVA title | COMNOVA 6-inch |
| 2020-2026, Crew Cab | "2020-2026 2500 HD 3500 HD" | Aluminum boards title | Aluminum boards |
| 2020-2027, Crew Cab, powered | 2500 HD and 3500 HD, part 29-24135 | Westin table | Westin Pro-e, on Westin's page |
| 2007-2019, Crew Cab | "2007-2019 2500 / 3500HD", "Crew Cab" | Tyger title | Tyger Rider (older) |
| 2007-2019, Extended or Double | "2007-2019 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD", titled Double Cab | COMNOVA title | COMNOVA Double Cab |
| 2007-2019, two-door | "2500HD 3500HD 2-Dr Standard Cab" | DNA Motoring title | DNA Motoring |
| 2019-2026, Regular Cab, Silverado | "2019-2026 Silverado 1500-3500HD Regular Cab" | Auto Dynasty title | Auto Dynasty |
| 2020-up, Double Cab | No listing read | None | Ask the maker |
Tyger Auto
Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)
A 3.5-inch rail whose title names the Silverado and Sierra years, the HD split and the cab.
Why here: The title separates the 1500 years from the HD years, and its part number leads to a sheet we could read.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- The part number in the title (TG-SS2C35068) ties the listing to Tyger's own instruction sheet
- That sheet bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and has no drilling step
- Title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years
Watch out for
- 3.5 inches wide per the title, narrower than the 6-inch boards
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
- The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited; a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering
Best for: Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
The split that catches HD owners
On the 1500, listings break between 2018 and 2019. On the HD, they break between 2019 and 2020. So one model year sits on opposite sides of the line, depending on your truck.
| Model year | 1500, per titles | 2500HD/3500HD, per titles |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | Older part | Older part |
| 2019 | Newer part, except the LD | Older part |
| 2020 | Newer part | Newer part |
Westin's table draws the same line: part 29-23725 runs 2007-2019 on the HD Crew Cab, and 29-24135 starts at 2020. It is not universal, though. The Auto Dynasty and Rough Country titles run a single 2019-2026 range across 1500, 2500HD and 3500HD, and that cuts across what the others say. Maybe a 2019 HD is covered there and maybe the title is loose. We cannot tell from the words, so on a 2019 HD, ask first.
Not sure about a 1500 labeled 2019? That is a different trap, covered on 2019 Silverado LD running boards. The 2027 Silverado 1500 is also a separate question: titles reaching 2027 name the HD, a different truck, and 2027 Silverado running boards has the details.
Silverado or Sierra: read the title
The Tyger titles name both Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra. COMNOVA's 2020-up title says "Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD". But the Auto Dynasty Regular Cab title says only Silverado, so a Sierra owner should ask. Go by the words in the listing and not by how alike the trucks look.
What the two Tyger sheets say
2020-up, TG-SS2C35068. Eight brackets, attached to threaded holes in the body, with no drilling step. The sheet says assistance is recommended. It gives no install time and no load rating, so we print neither.
2007-2019, TG-SS2C35018. Same idea, with one thing diesel owners need to know. The sheet opens with "ON MODELS WITH DEF TANK" and warns the job may require cutting. On the passenger side, the DEF tank sits close to the body and room for the front brackets is very limited.
- Up to 2016 models: it may be easier to drop the tank for access. A full tank is heavy, so the sheet recommends doing the job when it is low on fluid, with help.
- 2017 and later: on the 2500 and 3500, the sheet says to remove only the plastic cover and not to lower or remove the tank. A figure shows that cover cut as an example.
Read that sheet before you start, and do not guess at the tank. The older truck in general is on 2007-2018 Silverado.
Other HD options
| Spec sheet | Our pick: Silverado and Sierra crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM) | Budget optionCOMNOVA 6" (2019+ Silverado) | Listing data onlyAluminum nerf bars (2019+ Silverado and Sierra) | Our pick: 2007-2018 GM crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2007-2018 GM) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado 1500, 2020-2026 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD Crew Cab | Crew Cab ... 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado & GMC Sierra 1500 (Excl 2019 Ld/Lt), 2020-2026 2500 HD 3500 HD | 2007-2018 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra 1500; 2007-2019 2500 / 3500HD; 2019 LD/Limited | Crew Cab |
| Style | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) |
| Material | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Aluminum (title) | Not stated in the title |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Bolt-on with brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; on DEF-tank trucks it may require cutting, and dropping the tank may be easier |
| Price class | Mid-range | Budget | Budget | Mid-range |
| Best for | Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet. | Silverado 1500 crew cab owners who want a wider step and a budget price class. | GM crew cab owners who want aluminum and an explicit LD exclusion on the listing. | Crew cab owners with a 2007-2018 GM 1500, or a 2019 LD/Limited. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
The COMNOVA 6-inch* and the aluminum boards* give you a wider flat step than the Rider, both on listing data only. The aluminum title stops at 2026, and it adds "Excl 2019 Ld/Lt" for the 1500. For older extended trucks, the COMNOVA Double Cab* title says Double Cab and Extended Cab in one line. ARIES files the Silverado and Sierra Double under extended and uses the word Extended for older ones, so match it to your own doors. The two-door crowd gets the DNA Motoring* for 2007-2019 and the Auto Dynasty* for 2019-2026. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
If you are shopping these trucks because you want something built stout, heavy-duty running boards explains why that phrase on a step is not a rating. Westin states "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side" for its Pro-e. The other parts here state no load in what we read, so we print none.
Powered steps on the HD
The Rough Country title* names 1500/2500HD/3500HD for 2019-2026 Crew Cab, and it names no part number. The sheet we read for that family is headed "CHEVY 2019-23 1500/2500", which is narrower on both years and models, and it has you drill a 7/16-inch hole through a floor grommet. Ask which sheet ships with your truck.
AMP's guide for 76255-01A has one line reading "Silverado 1500/ GMC Sierra 2500/3500" for 2024-2026. It mixes models in a way that looks like an error, so we do not use it. Ask RealTruck about any HD truck. Power running boards covers the wider picture.
Other trucks are on all trucks, and our sourcing rule is on how we verify fitment. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Tailgate questions
Do 1500 running boards fit a Silverado 2500HD?
Only when the title names the HD truck, and the years often differ. Tyger's title says 2019-2026 for the 1500 and 2020-2027 for the 2500 and 3500HD on the same part. A title that names only the 1500 does not state an HD fit. Go by the words on the listing and not by how alike the trucks look.
Which running boards fit a 2019 Silverado 2500HD?
By the titles we read, a 2019 HD goes with the older part. Tyger's older Rider says 2007-2019 for the 2500 and 3500HD, and COMNOVA's older titles say the same. Westin's table agrees, with part 29-23725 running 2007-2019. The newer titles start the HD at 2020. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Are there running boards for a 2020-up 2500HD Double Cab?
We read no listing that names one. Our 2020-up HD titles say Crew Cab or Regular Cab, and Westin's HD rows say Crew Cab. That means unread and not unavailable. Do not put a Crew Cab part on a Double Cab. Ask the maker, or run the fit check on the listing.
Are there power steps for a 2024 Chevy 2500HD?
Westin's table lists part 29-24135 for the 2020-2027 2500 HD and 3500 HD Crew Cab, and a Rough Country title says 1500/2500HD/3500HD 2019-2026 Crew Cab. An AMP guide has a line mentioning 2500/3500 for 2024-2026, but its wording looks wrong, so we do not rely on it. Ask RealTruck about your part.
Where this comes from
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-SS2C35068 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-SS2C35018 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- Westin Automotive: Pro-e power running boards, fit table
- RealTruck AMP Research installation guide IM76255 (PDF)
- Rough Country install sheet PSR51920A, Chevy 2019-23 1500/2500 (PDF)
- ARIES Automotive: truck cab guide
Keep reading
- CompatibilityAll trucksWhich running boards fit your truck depends on model, year block, cab and sometimes bed. See the splits listings state for each truck and where to start.
- CompatibilitySilveradoSilverado 1500 running boards split at 2019, with an LD exception, and by Crew, Double and Regular Cab. See what the listings state and where to start for yours.
- CompatibilitySierra 1500GMC Sierra 1500 running boards by year and cab. Many titles share the Silverado, some name the Sierra only for HD, and none here names Denali or AT4.
- Compatibility2007-2018 SilveradoRunning boards for 2014-2018 and older Silverado 1500 trucks by cab: what the titles state, the DEF tank step on Tyger's sheet, and where the 2019 LD lands.
- Buying guideHeavy-duty boardsHeavy duty on a running board is a sales word, not a rating. What makers actually state on load, what frame mounted means, and which parts are titled for HD trucks.
- About usHow we verify fitFit here is what a listing title or maker sheet states, marked as such. What we read, what blocked us and why you still confirm year and cab before you buy.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint