Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

Brand

Tyger Auto Running Boards: Rider, Riser, LanderX, Access and Trax by Truck

Tyger Auto sells five step lines that show up across most trucks: Rider and Trax rails, Riser boards, and LanderX and Access drop steps. Every part is cut for specific years and cabs. Tyger is also the brand with the most readable install sheets in our data, which is why it holds so many of our picks. For a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab, start with the Rider.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 6 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Straight answer

Tyger sells Rider and Trax rails, Riser boards, and LanderX and Access drop steps, each listed by truck and cab. Our start for a 2019-up GM crew cab is the Rider 3.5-inch: 8 brackets, threaded holes and no drilling step. Older Ram sheets warn about drilling. The sheets state no load rating. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What's on this page

Who is behind Tyger

Tyger's own site blocks automated reading, so we print no company history. What we have is its instruction sheets, mostly hosted by the retailer CARiD, and its Amazon titles, read on November 2, 2026. That is enough for the question that matters: is this part listed for your truck, and what does the job involve?

Fit sheetOur pick: Silverado and Sierra crewAd

Tyger Auto

Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)

A 3.5-inch rail whose title names the Silverado and Sierra years, the HD split and the cab.

Why here: It shows Tyger at its most useful: years, the HD split, the cab and a part number that leads to a sheet we could read.

Fits, according to the listing
2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
Price class
Mid-range

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • The part number in the title (TG-SS2C35068) ties the listing to Tyger's own instruction sheet
  • That sheet bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and has no drilling step
  • Title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years

Watch out for

  • 3.5 inches wide per the title, narrower than the 6-inch boards
  • No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
  • The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited; a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering

Best for: Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

The five lines

The names do not tell you much, and the titles pile on extra words. Tyger's title for TG-SS2C35068 calls one part running boards, side step, rail and nerf bars at once. So go by shape and width.

LineStyle in our dataWidth in the titleTrucks in our data
RiderRail3.5 inchesGM 2019-up and 2007-2018 crew; new-body Ram crew; older Ram and Classic crew; Colorado and Canyon crew; 2005-2023 Tacoma Double
RiserBoard4 or 6 inchesGM 2019-up crew; F-150 and Super Duty SuperCrew; older Ram and Classic crew
LanderXDrop stepNot statedGM crew, both bodies; new-body Ram crew; F-150 and Super Duty SuperCrew; 2005-2023 Tacoma Double; Ranger SuperCrew; Frontier crew
AccessDrop stepNot statedTacoma Double, both generations; older Ram and Classic crew
TraxRail on most trucks, drop step on the TundraNot statedGM 2019-up crew; new-body Ram crew; 2024-up Tacoma Double and XtraCab; Tundra CrewMax

Notice the last column. Almost all of it is crew-type cabs, plus a Tacoma XtraCab. If you drive a SuperCab, a Quad Cab or a Regular Cab, Tyger may not be your starting point in our data. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Looking for "Tyger rock sliders"? None of the Tyger titles we read use that word. For that job, go to rock sliders.

By truck: a part from each family

Comparison: Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM), Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500), Tyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew), Tyger LanderX (F-150 SuperCrew), Tyger Access (2024+ Tacoma)
Spec sheetOur pick: Silverado and Sierra crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)Our pick: Ram 1500 new body crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500)Our pick: F-150 SuperCrewTyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew)Listing data onlyTyger LanderX (F-150 SuperCrew)Start here: Tacoma 2024+Tyger Access (2024+ Tacoma)
Fits, according to the listing2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab2024-2027 Toyota Tacoma (Fits Hybrid) | Double Cab
StyleRail / nerf bar (as titled)Rail / nerf bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)Drop step (as titled)Drop step (as titled)
MaterialNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Weight ratingNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
InstallBolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedBolt-on with 6 brackets to factory studs; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedBolt-on to factory studs with plastic retainers; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Price classMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-range
Best forCrew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.New-body Ram 1500 crew cab owners. Not for the Classic.SuperCrew owners on the 2015-up F-150 who want a wide step and a clear install sheet.SuperCrew owners who want a lower step and can confirm fit on the listing.2024-up Tacoma Double Cab owners, hybrid included as listed.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Fit and specs as the listing title or maker sheet states them. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. Swipe sideways on a phone.

Two more. The LanderX for the Frontier* runs one range across 2005-2027, so confirm your year. The Trax for the 2019-up GM crew cab* is a textured black rail. We could not read a sheet for either, so both are listing data only. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

For the full list per truck, see the Silverado, Ram 1500, F-150 and Ranger pages. If you want a lower first step, drop steps compares the LanderX and Access with other makers.

What the install sheets say

This is the useful part of the brand, and it also corrects a common claim. "Tyger is no-drill" is too broad. The sheets split like this:

PartTitle namesMounting per the sheetDrilling
TG-SS2C35068 Rider2019-up GM crew8 brackets, threaded holes behind plugsNo drilling step
TG-SS2D35098 RiderNew-body Ram crew6 brackets, factory studsNo drilling step
TG-SS2C35168 RiderColorado, Canyon crew6 bracketsNo drilling step
TG-RS6F60118 RiserF-150, Super Duty SuperCrewFactory studs, plastic retainersNo drilling step
TG-LX3F82448 LanderXRanger SuperCrew3 brackets per side, threaded holesNo drilling step
TG-SS2D35318 RiderOlder Ram and Classic crewBrackets and support brackets"DRILLING MAY BE REQUIRED"; 2009-12 models may lack factory holes
TG-RS2D40078 RiserOlder Ram and Classic crewBrackets and bolt plates"DRILLING MAY BE REQUIRED"

The Riser sheet for the F-150 has a useful detail: plastic retainers against corrosion between the aluminum body panel and the steel brackets. On the 2007-2018 GM Rider, the sheet says trucks with a DEF tank may require cutting, and that dropping the tank may be the easier way to reach the bracket. Read that before you start.

No Tyger sheet we read states an install time, so we print none. Can you install running boards without drilling? has the drilling question across brands.

Symbolic image (AI-generated): a plain black side rail on two work stands next to a dark pickup, with a socket set on a creeper in a home garage
AI-generated illustrative image: a generic install scene, not a Tyger part. · Image: AI-generated (OpenAI)

Strengths and weaknesses

Reasons to buy

  • Titles usually name the years, the cab and a part number
  • Readable instruction sheets for several parts
  • Wide truck coverage, including the Ranger and Frontier
  • Some sheets have no drilling step

Reasons to skip

  • No load rating in the sheets we read
  • Mostly crew-type cabs in our data
  • Long single year ranges on some titles, such as 2005-2027
  • We could not read sheets for most LanderX, Access and Trax parts
  • Years differ between sources on some parts

That last point deserves a plain example. The Amazon title for the new-body Ram Rider says 2019-2027, while the Tyger product address we saw in a search excerpt says 2019-2026. On the Frontier, Amazon says 2005-2027 and a Tyger page excerpt says 2005-2026. On the Ranger LanderX, a ManualsLib label says 2019-2024 and the title says 2019-2027. So use the fit check on the listing.

Who should buy Tyger, and what else to look at

Buy Tyger if you drive a crew-type cab with a matching title and want a sheet you can read before you order. Skip it if you need a published load rating, or if your cab is not named. For a stated rating, Westin's Pro-e page says "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side", on a powered board. See Westin. Go Rhino also has sheets you can read.

Warranty and missing parts

The warranty terms in the FAQ below are for the original purchaser, against manufacturer defects under normal use. Exclusions include road hazards such as gravel, improper installation and neglect, and you need proof of purchase such as an order ID. The document has no section for Rider, LanderX, Access or Trax. Search excerpts of Tyger's pages showed different terms for the Rider on different trucks, so ask Tyger about yours.

The sheets also say to verify every part and photograph any damage before you install, because failing to identify damage first could lead to a rejected claim. Claims go through Tyger's contact page. For your truck's own warranty, see do running boards void your warranty?, and for how we read all this, see how we verify fitment. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Tailgate questions

Are Tyger running boards any good?

We cannot give you a durability verdict, because nobody here has used them and we found no independent test. What we can say is that Tyger's titles tend to name years, cab and part number, and its instruction sheets are readable for many parts. That makes the fit easier to check, which is a real point in its favor.

What is the difference between Tyger Rider and LanderX?

By title, the Rider is a 3.5-inch side step rail and the LanderX is a drop step. We have read Rider sheets for several trucks and a LanderX sheet for the Ranger. Sheets for other LanderX parts were not readable to us, so check the listing and the sheet in the box.

How much weight can Tyger running boards hold?

We print no figure. The Tyger instruction sheets we read state no load rating, and a figure seen in search excerpts did not come from a document we could open. Ask Tyger for the rating on your part number, and be wary of any number that has no maker document behind it.

What warranty do Tyger running boards have?

Tyger's warranty document, hosted by CARiD, gives 5 years on Armor and Blade boards and on the Riser with a black E-coating finish, and a limited lifetime on the Riser with a stainless finish, for the original purchaser. It has no section for Rider, LanderX, Access or Trax. Ask Tyger about those lines.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we verify fit