Compatibility
Silverado Running Boards: What's Listed by Generation and Cab
Silverado 1500 running boards split at the 2019 body change, and the 2019 LD goes with the older trucks in several titles. Crew, Double and Regular Cab each get their own listings. For a 2019-2026 crew cab, our pick is the Tyger Rider 3.5-inch, because its part number leads to a maker sheet we could read.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
For a 2019-2026 Silverado 1500 crew cab, start with the Tyger Rider 3.5-inch: Tyger's sheet shows 8 brackets, threaded holes behind plugs and no drilling step. A 2019 LD belongs with the older listings in several titles. No listing we read names the 2027 Silverado 1500, so that truck is unverified. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Find your line in this table first. Everything else on the page hangs off it. All of it comes from listing titles as we read them on November 2, 2026, plus the maker sheets we name. How we verify fitment explains the rule.
| Your Silverado | What the listings state | Start with |
|---|---|---|
| 2019-2026 1500 Crew Cab | Named by the 2019-up crew titles below | Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+) |
| 2019 LD/Limited | Left out of 2019-up by several titles, or grouped with 2007-2018 | Tyger Rider 3.5" (2007-2018) |
| 2007-2018 1500 Crew Cab | Separate listings | Tyger Rider 3.5" (2007-2018) |
| 2007-2018 1500 Double or Extended Cab | Titles use both names | COMNOVA 6" Double Cab |
| 2007-2018 1500 Regular Cab | Few listings; one names "2-Dr Standard Cab" | DNA Motoring 6.75" |
| 2027 1500 | Unverified: no title we read names it | Nothing yet |
Tyger Auto
Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)
A 3.5-inch rail whose title names the Silverado and Sierra years, the HD split and the cab.
Why here: It is the 2019-up crew cab part with a maker sheet we could read, and the title separates the 1500 years from the HD years.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- The part number in the title (TG-SS2C35068) ties the listing to Tyger's own instruction sheet
- That sheet bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and has no drilling step
- Title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years
Watch out for
- 3.5 inches wide per the title, narrower than the 6-inch boards
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
- The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited; a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering
Best for: Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.
2019-2026 crew cab: what else is listed
The Tyger is a slim rail. If you want more foot area, look at a 6-inch board. If the first step is the problem, look at a drop step. These five are all listed for the 2019-up crew cab, with differences in the small print.
| Spec sheet | Our pick: Silverado and Sierra crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM) | Budget optionCOMNOVA 6" (2019+ Silverado) | Listing data onlyAluminum nerf bars (2019+ Silverado and Sierra) | Listing data onlyTyger Riser 6" (2019+ GM) | Listing data onlyTyger LanderX (2019+ GM) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado 1500, 2020-2026 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD Crew Cab | Crew Cab ... 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado & GMC Sierra 1500 (Excl 2019 Ld/Lt), 2020-2026 2500 HD 3500 HD | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab |
| Style | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Drop step (as titled) |
| Material | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Aluminum (title) | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Price class | Mid-range | Budget | Budget | Mid-range | Mid-range |
| Best for | Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet. | Silverado 1500 crew cab owners who want a wider step and a budget price class. | GM crew cab owners who want aluminum and an explicit LD exclusion on the listing. | GM crew cab owners who want a wider Tyger step. | GM crew cab owners who want the step lower than a straight rail. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
Two more are worth a look. The COMNOVA 6-inch stainless* names stainless steel in the title but gives no grade. The Tyger Trax* is a textured black rail, and we could not read a sheet for it. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
The 2019 LD and the 2027 1500
Listings do not treat every 2019 Silverado 1500 the same. The aluminum step above says "Excl 2019 Ld/Lt". Tyger's older Rider title puts "2019 LD/Limited" with the 2007-2018 trucks. Our source for this is listings only. We read no GM document on it, so we cannot explain the split from GM's side. If you are not sure which 2019 you have, ask a Chevrolet dealer with your VIN before you order.
At the other end, GM has announced a next-generation Silverado 1500 for 2027, which we saw only as a search excerpt of its release. No title we read names that truck. Titles running to 2027 name the 2500 and 3500HD. So the 2027 1500 stays unverified here.
2007-2018 crew cab
Tyger Auto
Tyger Rider 3.5" (2007-2018 GM)
The older-body Rider, and one of the few titles that places the 2019 LD/Limited with the older trucks.
Why here: Its title is one of the few that places the 2019 LD/Limited with the older trucks, and we could read Tyger's sheet for it.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2007-2018 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra 1500; 2007-2019 2500 / 3500HD; 2019 LD/Limited | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Bolt-on with brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; on DEF-tank trucks it may require cutting, and dropping the tank may be easier
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Part number in the title (TG-SS2C35018) ties it to Tyger's instruction sheet
- The sheet includes brackets for trucks with a DEF tank
- Title names the 2019 LD/Limited
Watch out for
- On DEF-tank trucks the sheet says the job may require cutting and that dropping the tank may be easier; a full tank is heavy, so have help
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
Best for: Crew cab owners with a 2007-2018 GM 1500, or a 2019 LD/Limited.
Tyger's sheet TG-SS2C35018 has no drilling step, but read it before you start. On models with a DEF tank it says the job "may require cutting" and that dropping the tank may be the easier way to reach the upper bracket. It also recommends doing that with the tank low, because a full tank is heavy.
| Spec sheet | Listing data onlyTyger LanderX (2007-2018 GM) | Listing data onlyRunning boards (2007-2019 GM crew) | Listing data onlyAuto Dynasty (2007-2019 GM crew) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | 2007-2018 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2007-2019 2500 3500HD; 2019 LD/Limited | Crew Cab | 2007-2019 Sierra/Silverado 1500 2500HD 3500HD Crew Cab | 2007-2019 Silverado 1500-3500HD Crew Cab |
| Style | Drop step (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) |
| Material | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Price class | Mid-range | Budget | Budget |
| Best for | Older GM crew cab owners who want a lower step. | Budget shoppers who check the exact year on the listing first. | Older Silverado crew cab owners on a budget. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
The last two titles say 2007-2019 in one range and do not split the 2019 trucks, so match your exact truck on the listing. The Auto Dynasty title does not name the Sierra.
Double Cab and Regular Cab
"Double Cab" means something specific on a Silverado. ARIES files it under extended, and Chevrolet's own trucks page calls the cabs Regular, Extended and Crew. On a Tacoma the same word lands under crew. See extended cab vs crew cab before you carry the term across brands.
For your truck, the listing to read names one of those words and your years. A 2007-2018 Double Cab has the COMNOVA 6-inch*, whose title says both Double Cab and Extended Cab. If you prefer a tube, nerf bars has the 3-inch MaxMate for older GM double cabs. A two-door 2007-2018 truck has the DNA Motoring 6.75-inch*. All of those are listing data only. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Install: what the sheets say
Tyger's sheet for the 2019-up Rider uses 8 brackets and threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area, with assistance recommended. It tells you to thread a bolt into the inserts to clear paint as required. We have no install time from Tyger, so we print none.
Power steps are a different job. RealTruck's guide for the AMP Research PowerStep 76255-01A, for 2022-2026 Silverado and Sierra 1500, states 3-5 hours, skill level 4 and professional installation recommended. It calls for drilling through the pinch weld and connects through an OBD II plug. The board comes at 79 inches for Crew and gets trimmed for Double and Single Cab. The listing itself names no part number, so we tie it to that guide through the application only. Power running boards compares it with the rest.
AMP Research
AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)
The powered step with the clearest paperwork in our data: a maker install guide that names cabs, tools and time.
Why here: It is the powered step with the clearest paperwork for this truck, and the guide lists every cab.
- Fits, according to the listing and maker sheet
- Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026 (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Powered retractable step (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Guide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plug
- Warranty
- 5-Year Limited Warranty (guide)
- Price class
- Premium
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- RealTruck's install guide states a 5-year limited warranty and connects through an OBD II plug
- The guide lists every cab: 79-inch board for Crew, trimmed for Double and Single Cab
Watch out for
- The guide calls for drilling through the pinch weld and rates the job skill level 4 (experienced)
- Professional installation recommended; the guide states 3-5 hours
- The title gives no part number, so match 76255-01A on the listing
- Premium price class
Best for: Owners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install.
What's not here
We have no factory GM boards in our data, because we read no GM accessory document for them. We print no weight rating for the rails above, because the titles and Tyger's sheets give none. And nobody on this site has bolted these on a truck.
Other trucks and the Sierra-only and HD notes are on all trucks. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
More on this truck: 2019-2026 boards, 2007-2018 boards, Silverado power steps, the Silverado HD and Double Cab vs Crew Cab. The Chevy page has the rest of the make.
Tailgate questions
Do 2019-2026 Silverado running boards fit a 2019 LD?
Do not assume it. Several listing titles leave the LD out of their 2019-up range or list it with 2007-2018 trucks. One title says Excl 2019 Ld/Lt, and Tyger's older Rider title names the 2019 LD/Limited. Our source here is listings only; we read no GM document on it. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Are there running boards for the 2027 Silverado 1500?
We cannot say yet. No listing title we read names the 2027 Silverado 1500. Titles that reach 2027 name the 2500 and 3500HD, and those are different trucks. We treat the 2027 1500 as unverified and do not stretch a 2019-2026 listing to cover it.
Do Silverado running boards need drilling?
It depends on the part. Tyger's sheet for TG-SS2C35068 bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs and has no drilling step. RealTruck's guide for the AMP PowerStep 76255-01A calls for drilling through the pinch weld for the light wires. Most other listings here came with no sheet we could read.
Will Silverado running boards fit a GMC Sierra?
Only when the title says so. Tyger titles name both the Silverado and Sierra 1500. COMNOVA's 2019-up titles name the Silverado 1500 and mention the Sierra only for 2500HD and 3500HD. Go by the words in the listing and not by how alike the trucks look.
Is a Silverado Double Cab a crew cab?
No. ARIES files the Silverado Double Cab under extended, and Chevrolet's trucks page lists the Silverado as Regular, Extended and Crew Cab. Another maker's Double Cab can be a different thing, such as the Tacoma's, which ARIES files under crew. On a Silverado, buy a listing that names Double or Extended, not Crew.
Where this comes from
Keep reading
- CompatibilityAll trucksWhich running boards fit your truck depends on model, year block, cab and sometimes bed. See the splits listings state for each truck and where to start.
- ExplainerExtended vs crew cabA crew cab typically has four full-size doors. An extended cab has smaller rear doors or a seat-forward layout. See each maker's names and why boards don't swap.
- Buying guidePower running boardsPower running boards come out with the door and fold away after. See which trucks each listing names, what the install takes and which load figures hold up.
- Buying guideNerf barsNerf bars for trucks by cab and year. What the name really covers, how wide the rails are, what the install sheets say, and our picks where we read a maker sheet.
- About usHow we verify fitFit here is what a listing title or maker sheet states, marked as such. What we read, what blocked us and why you still confirm year and cab before you buy.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint