Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

Boards, bars, drop steps, power steps

Running Boards for Trucks: Find What Fits Your Year, Cab and Bed

Running boards are sold by truck, year and cab, so the truck comes first. Tell us what you drive and see what the listings state for it, with the source marked.

What do you drive?

Start with the truck. We only show what a listing title or maker states for it.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Source and date named
  • No lab tests claimed

All trucks How we verify fit

Image: AI-generated (OpenAI)

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Straight answer

Start with your truck, year and cab, because almost every listing fits only certain combinations. For a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab, our pick is the Tyger Rider 3.5-inch: its part number ties to a maker sheet with 8 brackets and no drilling step. Other trucks have their own starting point below. Confirm your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Pick your spot: five trucks, five sets of listings

A running board is a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out. That part is simple. The hard part is that each one is built for specific model years and cabs, and the splits are not where most owners expect them. So each truck below has its own page with its year blocks, its cab names and a place to start.

Driving something else? The all trucks page covers the wider lineup. The finder at the top of this page also takes Ram HD, Super Duty, GM HD, Sierra, Colorado and Canyon.

Four styles, and titles that use every name at once

Do not shop by the word in the title. One Tyger listing calls the same part running boards, side step, rail and nerf bars. Look at the shape and the width the title states, then decide how you climb in and what you carry.

  • Running boards

    A wide, flat step along the cab. Listings commonly state about 6 inches of width.

    For a bigger foot area, or passengers who want a surer step.

    Picks by truck
  • Nerf bars

    A tube or rail, usually narrower. The titles we read commonly state 3 to 3.5 inches.

    For a slimmer look along the cab.

    Nerf bars
  • Drop steps

    A rail with a step section that sits lower than the rail itself.

    For a tall truck where the first step is the problem.

    Side steps
  • Power steps

    A motorized step that comes out with the door and folds away after.

    For a step that tucks up, if you accept a harder install.

    Power steps

The best-documented power step in our data is the AMP Research PowerStep, because RealTruck's guide spells out the cabs, the tools and the time.

Our pick, and the part for your truck

If you drive a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab, start with the Tyger Rider 3.5-inch. The title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years, and its part number leads to Tyger's own instruction sheet. That sheet has 8 brackets, threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and no drilling step. It is a slim rail, so if you want a wide step, this is the wrong part.

Fit sheetOur pick: Silverado and Sierra crewAd

Tyger Auto

Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)

A 3.5-inch rail whose title names the Silverado and Sierra years, the HD split and the cab.

Fits, according to the listing
2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
Price class
Mid-range

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • The part number in the title (TG-SS2C35068) ties the listing to Tyger's own instruction sheet
  • That sheet bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and has no drilling step
  • Title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years

Watch out for

  • 3.5 inches wide per the title, narrower than the 6-inch boards
  • No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
  • The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited; a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering

Best for: Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

Every other truck gets its own starting point. "Our pick" means we read a maker sheet for that part. "Start here" and "budget option" mean the listing title is all we could read, and the line below each name shows what it states.

What do you drive?

  • If you want a slim rail on a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you want a wider step at the budget end on a 2019-up Silverado 1500 crew cab → COMNOVA 6" (2019+ Silverado) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado 1500, 2020-2026 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a new-body Ram 1500 crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a Ram 1500 Classic or an older crew cab Ram → Aluminum crew (Ram older body and Classic) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Crew Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2015-up F-150 SuperCrew → Tyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2024-up Tacoma Double Cab → Tyger Access (2024+ Tacoma) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2024-2027 Toyota Tacoma (Fits Hybrid) | Double Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax → Aluminum 6" (2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2007-2021 Toyota Tundra Crewmax Cab 4 Full Size Doors. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a Colorado or Canyon crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (Colorado and Canyon)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Chevy Colorado GMC Canyon | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you want power steps on a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 → AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)

    Fits, according to the listing: Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

The full list, sorted by truck and style, is on the best running boards page.

Three checks before you buy

Symbolic image (AI-generated): three generic grey pickups in profile with regular, extended and crew cab lengths on a gravel lot
AI-generated illustrative image: cab length changes what a board has to span. · Image: AI-generated (OpenAI)

Most wrong orders come down to one of these three.

The year block. Body changes do not always land where you expect. The Ram 1500 Classic was sold alongside the new body, and listings treat them as different trucks. Several titles also leave the 2019 Silverado LD out of their 2019-up range. And GM has announced a next-generation Silverado 1500 for 2027 that no listing we read names, so treat that truck as unverified.

The cab name. Go by the name in the listing and your own doors. In the ARIES cab guide, a regular cab has two front-hinged doors, an extended cab has smaller rear doors or a seat-forward layout, and a crew cab typically has four full-size doors. The trouble starts with shared names: ARIES files the Silverado Double and the Tundra Double under extended and the Tacoma Double under crew. Extended cab vs crew cab goes through it.

The bed, if the board runs that far. ARIES separates cab-length boards, which run along the cab, from wheel-to-wheel boards, which cover the cab and the bed and cost more. A wheel-to-wheel part has to match your bed length as well. Bed and cab fitment explains how to read those titles.

What the install sheets actually say

Symbolic image (AI-generated): a plain black side rail on two work stands next to a dark pickup, with a socket set on a creeper in a home garage
AI-generated illustrative image: not a specific part or truck. · Image: AI-generated (OpenAI)

"No drill" is a property of a part, not of running boards in general. These are the sheets we read:

  • Tyger TG-SS2C35068, 2019-up GM crew: 8 brackets, threaded holes behind plugs, no drilling step, assistance recommended.
  • Tyger TG-RS6F60118, F-150 SuperCrew: factory studs, with plastic retainers to prevent corrosion between the aluminum body and the steel brackets.
  • Tyger TG-RS2D40078, 2009-up Ram crew: marked "drilling may be required".
  • RealTruck guide for the AMP PowerStep, 2022-up GM: drilling through the pinch weld, an OBD II plug, 3 to 5 hours, skill level 4, and professional installation recommended.

Weight ratings are thinner still. The Tyger sheets give none, and most titles state none. Westin does state "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side" for the Pro-e. Dealer figures for other brands disagree, so we leave them out until we can read the maker's own number.

How all of this gets checked is on how we verify fitment. Nobody here has fitted these parts: we compare what makers and listings publish, and we mark which is which.

Tailgate questions

Do running boards fit all trucks?

No. The listings we read are cut by truck, year block and cab, and some rule out a body style by name. One Tyger title covers the 2019-up Ram 1500 crew cab and excludes the 2019-2024 Classic. Confirm your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What is the difference between a running board, a nerf bar and a side step?

The words overlap. Nerf bar and step bar usually mean a tube, running board and side step get used for almost everything, and listing titles often stack all of them. One Tyger title says running boards, side step, rail and nerf bars at once. Go by the width and shape the title states.

Do I have to drill to install running boards?

It depends on the part. Tyger's sheet for its F-150 Riser uses factory studs and has no drilling step. Its sheet for 2009-up Ram crew cabs warns that drilling may be required. The RealTruck guide for the 2022-up GM PowerStep calls for drilling through the pinch weld.

Do running boards void a factory truck warranty?

Fitting them does not void the whole warranty by itself. The FTC said in 2018 that conditioning a warranty on specified parts is generally prohibited, with limited exceptions. Ford's support page adds that damage caused by a modification is not covered. Ask your dealer about your own truck.

How much weight do running boards hold?

Only the maker's document can say for a given part. Westin states 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side for its Pro-e power board. Most listing titles we read state no rating, so we print none for those. Not stated means just that, and it says nothing about what the part can hold.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we verify fit