Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

Brand

RealTruck Running Boards: The Seller Behind AMP Research and Go Rhino Listings on Amazon

RealTruck is both a parts retailer and the company that owns AMP Research and Go Rhino. So a "RealTruck PowerStep" on Amazon is an AMP product under the parent's name, and most of those titles leave out the part number. Find the part number first, because its sheet tells you the install time, drilling and warranty. For a 2022-up GM truck, our pick is the PowerStep matched to guide 76255-01A.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 5 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Straight answer

RealTruck, formerly Truck Hero, runs realtruck.com and owns AMP Research and Go Rhino. Amazon titles reading RealTruck PowerStep are AMP power steps, usually with no part number. Our pick is the PowerStep matched to guide 76255-01A for 2022-up Silverado and Sierra 1500 trucks. Each RealTruck sheet applies to its own part only. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What's on this page

A running board is a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out. Search for RealTruck running boards and you land on a store, a parent company and a pile of brands all at once. Here is how they fit together, and what that means when you read a listing.

Who RealTruck is

The name means two things, and that causes most of the confusion.

  • The retailer. SEMA News says RealTruck.com "has operated as Truck Hero's e-commerce arm and consumer brand since 2015".
  • The parent company. The same item says RealTruck "will become the new name of the Truck Hero organization". The company's 2023 release calls itself "the premier vertically integrated truck, Jeep and off-road parts and accessories company in North America". That is its own description.

Two deals matter if you're shopping for steps. Truck Hero announced in June 2019 that it had acquired Lund International, whose brands included AMP Research, LUND, Bushwacker and others. Truck Hero's own list at the time already included N-FAB. RealTruck then announced on August 22, 2023 that it had acquired IDDEA, which sells as Go Rhino.

So when you compare AMP, Go Rhino and N-FAB, you may be comparing brands from one corporate family. That doesn't make the parts alike. Each one still has its own sheet.

How the Amazon titles read

This is the practical bit. Our Amazon data includes these PowerStep titles, and the brand wording changes from one to the next:

The two that lead with the AMP name carry a part number. The ones that lead with RealTruck don't. Ask the seller for the number before you order, then look up the sheet for it. How to check a listing fits walks through that. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Our pick from the RealTruck family

Fit sheetOur pick: power steps, 2022+ GMAd

AMP Research

AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)

The powered step with the clearest paperwork in our data: a maker install guide that names cabs, tools and time.

Why here: This is the one RealTruck-titled listing we can match to a current maker guide by application, and that guide spells out hours, drilling and warranty.

Fits, according to the listing and maker sheet
Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026 (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Powered retractable step (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Guide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plug
Warranty
5-Year Limited Warranty (guide)
Price class
Premium

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • RealTruck's install guide states a 5-year limited warranty and connects through an OBD II plug
  • The guide lists every cab: 79-inch board for Crew, trimmed for Double and Single Cab

Watch out for

  • The guide calls for drilling through the pinch weld and rates the job skill level 4 (experienced)
  • Professional installation recommended; the guide states 3-5 hours
  • The title gives no part number, so match 76255-01A on the listing
  • Premium price class

Best for: Owners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

The title gives no part number, so the match to 76255-01A rests on the application alone: guide and title both name the 2022-2026 Silverado and Sierra 1500. Confirm the number with the seller. Expect real work. Silverado power running boards has the details, and owners of other trucks should start at power running boards.

What RealTruck's sheets say

We could read three of them, for three different kinds of step. None of this carries over to another part number.

PartTrucks namedTimeLoadWarranty
AMP PowerStep 76255-01ASilverado 1500, Sierra 1500, all cabs, 2022-20263-5 hours, skill level 4Not stated5 years from purchase, original purchaser
VoltStep 20436687T/PC, 20436680T/PCRam 1500 Crew Cab and Quad Cab, New Body Style, no years given3-5 hours600 lbs. per side5 years from shipment, black and chrome finishes
HAVOC HS3 HPG-0032322019-current Ram 1500 Crew Cab, 5'7" bed, excludes ClassicNot statedNot statedNot stated

A few things stand out:

  • VoltStep carries the only load rating here, and it applies to those two part numbers only. The sheet also warns you to keep a minimum of 10 inches of safe distance while the board moves, and it says the boards are not designed to provide vehicle body protection. The sheet is marked "V. 3 05.13.2016" with a 2024 copyright, so ask RealTruck whether it's current.
  • The VoltStep sheet says "New Body Style" and gives no years. Don't fill in the years yourself. Ram 1500 Classic vs new body explains why that split matters.
  • The HAVOC sheet is bed-specific. It names one bed length, mounts to factory studs and says not to use power or air tools. If you're shopping hoop steps, read the sheet for your exact truck.
  • The 76255-01A guide wants proof of purchase kept and doesn't cover damage from misinstallation or misuse.

This is general information and not legal advice.

What we could not read

RealTruck's product pages came back empty on our requests, including the AMP, APS and VoltStep ones. So we quote no RealTruck fit table, and we can't tell you how its catalog lines up against Amazon. The sheets above are only a sample of the family, and Go Rhino has its own page with what we found there. How we treat gaps like this is on how we verify fitment.

Who it suits

RealTruck's brands make sense if you want a known power step and you're willing to chase down a part number. They make less sense if you want to buy from a title alone, because the RealTruck titles leave out the very details you need. If you'd rather start from your truck, go to all trucks or back to the truck picker.

Tailgate questions

Is RealTruck the same company as AMP Research?

AMP Research is a RealTruck brand. Truck Hero announced in June 2019 that it had acquired Lund International, whose brands included AMP Research, and the Truck Hero organization later took the RealTruck name. A current RealTruck guide reads "Designed and manufactured by RealTruck AMP Research". So RealTruck PowerStep and AMP PowerStep titles point to the same product family.

Does RealTruck make its own running boards?

Some of them come from brands it owns, and it also sells other brands. RealTruck calls itself a vertically integrated parts and accessories company. Its shop menu lists brands such as AMP Research, Go Rhino, N-Fab, Lund, Havoc and Ionic, but that menu does not say which ones it owns. We state ownership only where a release says so.

What is RealTruck VoltStep?

VoltStep is RealTruck's electric running board name. The one sheet we read covers parts 20436687T/PC and 20436680T/PC for Ram 1500 Crew Cab and Quad Cab, New Body Style. It states a load rating of 600 lbs. per side and 3-5 hours to install. That applies to those part numbers only. We found no VoltStep title in our Amazon data.

What warranty do RealTruck running boards have?

It depends on the part. The AMP 76255-01A guide gives five years from date of purchase, for the original purchaser only, with proof of purchase kept. The VoltStep sheet gives five years from shipment for black and chrome finishes and excludes the cost of removal and installation. Read the terms for your own part number.

Can I buy RealTruck running boards on Amazon?

Yes, for some parts. Our Amazon data has PowerStep titles that use AMP or RealTruck wording, plus one Go Rhino title. They cover specific GM, Ford and Ram years, and many leave out the cab and part number. We could not read realtruck.com's product pages, so we can't compare the two catalogs.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we verify fit