Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

Brand

AMP Research PowerStep: Which Part for Which Truck, and What the Warranty Says

AMP Research power steps are electric running boards that fold out when a door opens and tuck away when it closes. Each part is listed for a narrow set of trucks, so match the title to your truck first. The 2022-up GM part has the clearest paperwork, and it is a harder job than the words plug and play suggest.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 6 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Straight answer

AMP Research PowerStep parts are truck-specific, and we have six listings covering GM, Ford and Ram trucks. For a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500, our pick is the part matched to guide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, skill level 4, professional installation recommended, drilling through the pinch weld, OBD II plug and a 5-year limited warranty. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What's on this page

Who is behind AMP Research

AMP Research belongs to RealTruck, which calls it its "leading powered-step brand" in a September 2022 release. The same release says the company was founded 33 years earlier as a research and development firm for motocross bike parts, by Horst Leitner, and that a new manufacturing facility opened in Brea, California. The guide we read for one current part says "Designed and manufactured by RealTruck AMP Research" and "Made in Mexico". That line covers that part, and we did not check where the others are built.

That is why Amazon titles say either AMP Research or RealTruck PowerStep.

Pricing sits in the premium class across the board. We do not print amounts.

Which part for which truck

Read 2 November 2026. Listing columns are title wording.

Your truckListing, according to the titleCab in title?What we read
2022-2026 Silverado or SierraRealTruck PowerStepNoListing and guide IM76255
2019 Silverado or Sierra 1500AMP 76254-01ACrew CabListing and guide 76254-01A
2015-2020 F-150AMP Research PowerStep ElectricNoListing and guide IM76151, by application
2022-2027 F-250, F-350, F-450RealTruck PowerStepNoListing only
2018-2024 Ram 2500 and 3500AMP Research PowerStep ElectricNoListing only
2025-2027 Ram 1500 gasRealTruck PowerStepNoListing and guide IM76364, 2025-2026, by application

We have no AMP listing in our data for a 2020-2021 GM 1500, a 2021-up F-150 or a 2019-2024 Ram 1500. That means not in our data, not that no such part exists. Five of the six titles name no cab, so the last check belongs on the listing. Guides for other trucks are on the Ram and F-150 power step pages. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

The part with the clearest paperwork

Fit sheetOur pick: power steps, 2022+ GMAd

AMP Research

AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)

The powered step with the clearest paperwork in our data: a maker install guide that names cabs, tools and time.

Why here: We could read RealTruck's own guide for this application, which names cabs, tools, time and warranty.

Fits, according to the listing and maker sheet
Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026 (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Powered retractable step (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Guide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plug
Warranty
5-Year Limited Warranty (guide)
Price class
Premium

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • RealTruck's install guide states a 5-year limited warranty and connects through an OBD II plug
  • The guide lists every cab: 79-inch board for Crew, trimmed for Double and Single Cab

Watch out for

  • The guide calls for drilling through the pinch weld and rates the job skill level 4 (experienced)
  • Professional installation recommended; the guide states 3-5 hours
  • The title gives no part number, so match 76255-01A on the listing
  • Premium price class

Best for: Owners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

One honest catch: the listing title names no part number. We tied it to 76255-01A through the application, Silverado 1500 and Sierra 1500, all cabs, 2022-2026. Confirm the part number on the listing. The guide also has a line about Sierra 2500/3500 that looks wrong, so we do not use it.

What the install asks of you

  • Time and skill: 3-5 hours, skill level 4, "Experienced", professional installation recommended.
  • Drilling: a 1/8-inch pilot hole, then 19/64-inch through the pinch weld, in the step that marks holes for the light wires. The guide says to deburr and paint the holes.
  • Wiring: a harness to the battery and body ground, two wire taps at connectors in the driver side kick panel, and a module in the OBD II port.
  • Cutting: the board comes at 79 inches for a Crew Cab. A Chevy or GMC Double Cab gets trimmed 10 inches to 69, and a Single Cab 29 inches to 50.

"Plug N' Play" is in one title. In the guide we read, the plug is one step among many. The guide's warning is plain: fail to follow the instructions and you could put occupants in a potentially dangerous situation.

Symbolic image (AI-generated): road salt crust and slush on the lower cab and side step of a dark pickup in winter
AI-generated illustrative image: salt on the lower cab, not a specific truck or part. · Image: AI-generated (OpenAI)

Living with it

Per the guide, the step deploys when a door opens and stows when it closes, with a 2-second delay. If something blocks it, it stops. Clear the obstruction, then open and close the door to reset. In mud, dirt or salt, debris can get trapped and make noise. The guide says to avoid spraying the motors directly, to use silicone spray on the hinge pivot pins after washing, and not to put silicone or wax on the stepping surface. Keep your hands away while it moves.

Reasons to buy

  • A maker guide exists and spells out cabs, tools, time and warranty for the 2022-up GM part
  • 5-year limited warranty per that guide
  • Tucks away when the doors are closed

Reasons to skip

  • Harder install than a bolt-on rail, with drilling and wire taps on the part we read
  • Premium price class
  • Five of the six titles name no cab
  • No load rating in the guides we read

Other AMP listings

AMP Research

AMP PowerStep 76254-01A (2019 GM)

AMP's plug-in powered step, with a title that names only 2019 trucks.

Fits, according to the listing: 2019 Silverado & Sierra 1500 with Crew Cab

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

AMP Research

AMP PowerStep (2015-2020 F-150)

AMP's powered step listed for 2015-2020 F-150s, with no cab in the title.

Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2020 Ford F-150

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

AMP Research

RealTruck PowerStep (2022+ Super Duty)

A powered step listed for 2022-up Super Duty trucks.

Fits, according to the listing: 2022-2027 Ford F-250/F-350/F-450

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Listing data only

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

AMP Research

AMP PowerStep (2018-2024 Ram HD)

AMP's powered step listed for 2018-2024 HD Rams.

Fits, according to the listing: 2018-2024 RAM 2500/3500

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Listing data only

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

AMP Research

RealTruck PowerStep (2025+ Ram 1500)

A powered step listed for 2025-up gas Ram 1500s only.

Fits, according to the listing: 2025-2027 RAM 1500 Gas Only

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

The Ram 1500 page explains the 2025 split for that truck, the F-150 page has the cab question for Ford, and the Silverado page covers the 2019 LD trap, which matters when a title says "2019" alone.

Warranty, parts and support

The guide for 76255-01A states five years from date of purchase, "provided there has been normal use and proper maintenance", and "applies to the original purchaser only". You keep proof of purchase and send a copy with anything returned for warranty work. Remedies are limited to repairing or replacing the part. Damage from accidents, negligence, misinstallation or misuse is not covered. The guide asks you to register the product with RealTruck and lists a tech support line for warranty issues.

Your truck's factory warranty is a separate matter. The FTC said in 2018 that conditioning coverage on specified parts is generally prohibited under the Magnuson-Moss Act, with exceptions. Ford says an aftermarket part "will not necessarily void" its warranty, but repairs for damage it causes are not covered. None of this is legal advice.

The PowerStep XL and load ratings

Who should buy, and what else to look at

Buy AMP if your truck has a listing that names it, you want a step that tucks away, and you accept a premium class and a real install. Skip it if you want a weekend bolt-on.

Other powered choices: Westin states "no-drill" and "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side" for its Pro-e, on its own page. The Rough Country* listing for GM crew cabs ties to a sheet by application only. The WOLFBOX* GM title names no years, and WOLFBOX's page fills in some of that. Our comparison is on power running boards. All trucks are under all trucks, and our rules are on how we verify fitment. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

The XL parts have their own page at PowerStep XL, and power running board problems covers what to check when a step stops.

Tailgate questions

Are AMP power steps really plug and play?

Not in the sense of a ten-minute job. RealTruck's guide for 76255-01A does use a plug at the OBD II port. It also routes a harness to the battery, taps two wires at connectors in the driver side kick panel and drills through the pinch weld for the light wires. It recommends professional installation.

Do AMP power steps require drilling?

The guide we read does. For 76255-01A on 2022-up GM trucks, it calls for a 1/8-inch pilot hole and a 19/64-inch hole through the pinch weld, in the step that marks holes for the light wires. It also says to paint the holes afterward. Guides 76254-01A, IM76151 and IM76364 also call for holes through the pinch weld. Check the sheet for your part.

How long does it take to install AMP power steps?

RealTruck's guide for 76255-01A states 3-5 hours and rates the job skill level 4, Experienced, with professional installation recommended. That covers this part only. Guide 76254-01A and guide IM76364 also state 3-5 hours, while IM76151 for the 2015-2020 F-150 states 2-3 hours, so we do not carry a time from one part to another.

What warranty do AMP power steps have?

The guide for 76255-01A gives five years from date of purchase, with normal use and proper maintenance, for the original purchaser only. You must keep proof of purchase, and damage from misinstallation or misuse is not covered. Older retail listings have shown 3 years / 36,000 miles, so read the terms that come with your part.

How much weight can an AMP PowerStep hold?

We print no figure. The PowerStep guides we read state no load rating, and the numbers on other pages disagree. Other makers do print figures for their own powered parts: Westin at 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side for its Pro-e, and ARIES at 650 lbs. static for ActionTrac, limited to the mounting structure. Those do not carry over. Ask RealTruck for the spec on your part number.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we verify fit