Compatibility
Power Running Boards for the Ram 1500: Why 2019-2024, 2025+ Gas and Classic Are Separate Parts
No one power step covers every Ram 1500. The Classic and the new body are separate parts, and AMP and WOLFBOX split the new body again at 2025 while Westin and Rough Country do not. Nobody we read says why. For a 2025-up gas Ram, start with the RealTruck PowerStep, and match it to AMP guide 76364-01A.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
Yes, but by body and year. A 2025-up gas Ram 1500 has the RealTruck PowerStep listing, and AMP guide 76364-01A covers 2025-2026 Crew and Quad Cabs: 3-5 hours, skill level 4, drilling through the pinch weld. WOLFBOX's title stops at 2024 and rules out the Classic. Classic trucks use different parts. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Find your body and year first. Read November 2, 2026. For powered steps across all trucks, see power running boards. Fixed boards are on the Ram 1500 page.
| Your Ram 1500 | Part | Cabs it names | What we read |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dodge 2009-2010, Ram 2011-2018, and 2019-2024 Classic | Westin Pro-e 29-23565 | Crew | Westin table |
| Dodge 2009-2010, Ram 2011-2018, and 2019-2024 Classic | Westin Pro-e 29-23555 | Quad | Westin table |
| 2009-2018, and 19+ Classic | Rough Country ERBOX090910 | Crew and Quad mounting slots | Sheet |
| 2019-2020 new body | AMP 76240-01A | Crew and Quad | Guide |
| 2019-2024 new body | WOLFBOX | Crew | Title, maker page and sheet |
| 2019-up new body | Rough Country ERBOX61920 | Crew | Sheet |
| 2019-2027 new body | Westin Pro-e 29-24085 | Crew | Westin table |
| 2025-2026 | AMP 76364-01A | Crew and Quad | Guide |
| 2025-2027, gas only | RealTruck PowerStep | None in the title | Title only |
| No years in the title | AMP PowerStep, "RAM 1500/2500/3500" | None in the title | Title only |
The rows overlap on purpose, and we have an Amazon listing for only some of these parts. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
AMP Research
RealTruck PowerStep (2025+ Ram 1500)
A powered step listed for 2025-up gas Ram 1500s only.
Why here: It speaks to the newest truck directly, and we could read AMP's guide for 2025-2026. The title names no part number or cab, so the tie to 76364-01A is by application only.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2025-2027 RAM 1500 Gas Only (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Powered retractable step (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Not stated in the title
- Price class
- Premium
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Title is specific about years and drivetrain
- AMP's guide for the 2025-2026 Ram 1500 states 3-5 hours, skill level 4 and a 5-year limited warranty
Watch out for
- Gas only per the title; the guide does not mention gas, so other drivetrains stay open
- The title names no part number or cab, so it ties to guide 76364-01A by application only
- The title runs to 2027 and the guide stops at 2026
- The guide has you drill through the pinch weld and recommends professional installation
- Premium price class
Best for: Owners of a 2025-2026 gas Ram 1500 who confirm the part number and cab on the listing.
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
The 2025 line: what is split, and by whom
The 2025 split is not universal.
- Split at 2025: the RealTruck title says "2025-2027 RAM 1500 Gas Only". The WOLFBOX title* says 2019-2024 and "Not for 2025-2026 & 1500 Classic". AMP's guides have one number for 2019-2020 and another for 2025-2026.
- Not split at 2025: Westin's table runs part 29-24085 from 2019 to 2027 on the Crew Cab, and Rough Country's sheet heading says "RAM 19-UP 1500 CREW CAB".
We found no document that gives a reason. A second gap: the title runs to 2027 and the guide stops at 2026, and "gas only" is in the title and not in the guide. So ask RealTruck about hybrid and other drivetrains.
AMP's two guides, side by side
| 76240-01A | 76364-01A | |
|---|---|---|
| Stated for | Ram 1500, Crew and Quad, 2019-2020 | Ram 1500, Crew and Quad, 2025-2026 |
| Time | 3-5 hours | 3-5 hours |
| Skill level | 4, Experienced | 4, Experienced |
| Crew Cab board | 79 inches, no modification | 79 inches, no modification |
| Quad Cab board | 72 inches, trim 7 | 72 inches, trim 7 |
| Light wire holes | 1/8-inch pilot, then 9/32-inch through the pinch weld | 1/8-inch pilot, then 9/32-inch through the pinch weld |
| Connection | OBD II plug | OBD II plug |
Both recommend professional installation. A RealTruck page title seen in search says 76240-01A fits 2019-2024, which runs past the 2019-2020 printed on the guide copy we read. RealTruck's page itself gave us nothing readable, so ask them about 2021-2024. The 76364-01A guide states a 5-year limited warranty. Warranty terms and the rest of the brand are on AMP Research.
Rough Country: more wrenching than the word "power" suggests
We have no Rough Country listing for the Ram 1500, but its sheets show what a job like this involves. Neither states an install time or a load figure.
- ERBOX61920, new body. If your truck has ATMM modules on the frame, you move them onto supplied relocation brackets. The sheet warns that removing an ATMM may cause excess vibration and noise when driving, and it says some vehicles do not have them. Switch wires run through a firewall grommet into the cab, the power lead goes to the battery, and the sheet warns you to pull the 25A fuse before you work at the terminals.
- ERBOX090910, older body and Classic. Some trucks have threaded inserts in the rocker and some have hex holes, and on hex holes you set supplied rivet inserts. The same sheet covers the 2010-25 Ram 2500 and 3500.
Rough Country's brand page is at Rough Country.
Classic, Crew and air suspension
WOLFBOX
WOLFBOX Power (2019-2024 Ram 1500)
A powered step whose title names the years and cab and rules out 2025-2026 and the Classic.
Fits, according to the listing: Ram 1500 Crew Cab 2019-2024, Not for 2025-2026 & 1500 Classic
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
AMP Research
AMP PowerStep (Ram, no years in title)
An AMP listing that names three Ram models and gives no years, cab or part number.
Fits, according to the listing: RAM 1500/2500/3500 (no model years or cab in the title)
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Listing data only
The Classic. It stays with the older parts. If you are not sure which body you have, read Classic vs new body before anything else, because the same model year can be either truck.
The no-years listing. The AMP title* says "Fits RAM 1500/2500/3500", with no years, cab or part number. Use the fit check or ask RealTruck. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Air suspension. Westin's footnotes include "Excludes Vehicles With Air Suspension", and some older Ram Crew rows point to the footnotes without saying which one. If your truck has air, ask first. The Rough Country sheet has a special note for air ride tanks on the 2500 and 3500 only.
Load. Westin states "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side" for its Pro-e, and WOLFBOX's Ram page lists "660 lbs (Per Side)" with no test basis. We have no maker figure for the other parts here, so we print none.
Which one for your Ram?
If you drive a 2025-up gas Ram 1500 → RealTruck PowerStep (2025+ Ram 1500)
Fits, according to the listing: 2025-2027 RAM 1500 Gas Only. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2019-2024 new-body Crew Cab and have read the exclusions → WOLFBOX Power (2019-2024 Ram 1500)
Fits, according to the listing: Ram 1500 Crew Cab 2019-2024, Not for 2025-2026 & 1500 Classic. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a comparison of every truck's best-documented step
If you drive a Classic and want a fixed step
If you drive a 2019-up truck and want a fixed step
The rule behind all of this is on how we verify fitment. Nobody here has installed these. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Tailgate questions
Why do Ram 1500 power steps split at 2025?
No source we read says. The RealTruck title says 2025-2027 and Gas Only, and the WOLFBOX title stops at 2024 with Not for 2025-2026. But Westin's table runs one part for 2019-2027 Crew Cab, and Rough Country's sheet is headed 19-UP. So the split is real for some makers and absent for others. We do not guess at the cause.
Do power steps fit a 2025 Ram 1500 hybrid or with eTorque?
We cannot say. The RealTruck title says Gas Only and does not explain what that leaves out. AMP's guide for 76364-01A does not use the words gas, hybrid or eTorque in what we read. If your truck has a hybrid system or anything besides a plain gas engine, ask RealTruck before you order.
Will 2019-2024 Ram 1500 power steps fit a 2019-2024 Classic?
Not by what the sources state. The WOLFBOX title for 2019-2024 says Not for 1500 Classic, and Westin lists different part numbers for the two bodies. Classic trucks go with the older parts: Westin's table and Rough Country's 09-18 sheet both name them. The Classic versus new body page shows how to tell which you have.
Are there power steps for a Ram 1500 Quad Cab?
Yes on paper, and the board gets cut. AMP's guides for 76240-01A and 76364-01A list the Quad Cab with a 72-inch board, a 7-inch trim from the 79-inch Crew Cab length. Westin lists a Quad part only for the older Ram and Classic. The WOLFBOX title says Crew Cab, and the RealTruck title names no cab, so confirm yours.
Do Ram 1500 power steps need drilling?
AMP's guides say yes, a 1/8-inch pilot and then 9/32-inch through the pinch weld for the light wires. Westin calls its Pro-e no-drill, and WOLFBOX's title and page say no-drill too. Rough Country's 19-UP sheet has no drill step in what we read, but it does call for relocating brackets on trucks that have ATMM modules.
Where this comes from
- RealTruck AMP Research installation guide IM76364, part 76364-01A, Ram 1500 2025-2026 (PDF)
- AMP Research installation guide, part 76240-01A, Ram 1500 2019-2020 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- Rough Country install sheet ERBOX61920, Ram 19-up 1500 Crew Cab (PDF)
- Rough Country install sheet ERBOX090910, Ram 09-18 1500 and Classic, 2500/3500 (PDF)
- Westin Automotive: Pro-e power running boards, fit table
Keep reading
- CompatibilityRam 1500Ram 1500 running boards by body and cab. New-body and Classic boards are separate listings, and power steps split again. Fit quoted from titles and maker sheets.
- Question & answerWill Ram 1500 Classic Running Boards Fit a New Body Ram 1500?Ram 1500 Classic running boards and new-body boards are separate listings, and the titles rule each other out. How to tell which truck you have and what to buy.
- Buying guidePower running boardsPower running boards come out with the door and fold away after. See which trucks each listing names, what the install takes and which load figures hold up.
- BrandAMP ResearchAMP Research power steps sorted by truck: which listing names which years, what the RealTruck guide says about drilling and install time, and the warranty terms.
- ComparisonBest power running boardsNo independent test crowns a best power running board. We compare what AMP, Rough Country, Westin and WOLFBOX put in writing and name a pick for each truck.
- About usHow we verify fitFit here is what a listing title or maker sheet states, marked as such. What we read, what blocked us and why you still confirm year and cab before you buy.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint