Compatibility
Running Boards for the 2009-2018 Ram 1500 and 2019-2024 Ram 1500 Classic
Titles treat the 2009-2018 Ram 1500 and the 2019-2024 Classic as one family, so a 2012, 2015 or 2017 truck shops the same list, split by Crew Cab and Quad Cab. Your exact year matters at install instead. Tyger's sheet says 2009-12 models may need drilling through the pinch weld, and it shows factory threaded inserts from mid-2015.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
For a Crew Cab, our pick is the 3.5-inch Tyger Rider TG-SS2D35318, whose title starts at 2010 and names the Classic. Its sheet warns that 2009-12 trucks may need drilling. A 2009 truck should look at the 4-inch Tyger Riser, whose title starts at 2009. Quad Cab owners have one aluminum listing in our data. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
A running board is a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out. This page takes the older half of the Ram 1500 overview and goes further into what the years change. Newer trucks are on the 2019-2026 Ram 1500 page. If you are not sure which body you have, read Ram 1500 Classic vs new body first, because a 2021 can be either one.
What each title states
Read November 2, 2026. Year ranges and cab words are listing wording, and we add nothing to them.
| Part | Stated for, according to the listing | Cab | Classic named? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tyger Rider TG-SS2D35318 | 2010-2018 Dodge Ram 1500 / 2500 / 3500; Ram Classic | Crew | Yes, with no years |
| Tyger Riser TG-RS2D40078 | 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500; 2010-2027 2500 3500; 2019-2024 Classic | Crew | Yes |
| Tyger Access TG-AS2D24005 | 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500; 2010-2027 2500 3500; 2019-2024 Classic | Crew | Yes |
| Aluminum crew, no brand | 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, 2019-2024 1500 Classic, 2010-2026 2500 3500 | Crew | Yes. "New Body Style Not Fit" |
| Aluminum quad, no brand | 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, 2019-2024 1500 Classic, 2010-2026 2500 3500 | Quad | Yes. "New Body Style Not Fit" |
| AUTOSAVER88 | 2009-2018 Ram 1500 | Crew | No |
Two details to catch. The Rider title starts at 2010 for the 1500, so a 2009 truck is not named there, even though its sheet talks about 2009-12 models. And AUTOSAVER88 stops at 2018, so a Classic owner has no title to rely on. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Crew Cab: start with the Tyger Rider
Tyger Auto
Tyger Rider 3.5" (Ram older body and Classic)
The Rider for the older Ram body and the Classic, with a drilling warning worth reading.
Why here: We could read the maker sheet behind its part number, and that sheet tells you which model years need extra work.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2010-2018 Dodge Ram 1500 / 2500 / 3500; Ram Classic | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Bolt-on with brackets; sheet says drilling may be required on 2009-12 trucks through the pinch weld
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Part number (TG-SS2D35318) ties it to Tyger's instruction sheet
- Sheet covers the support-bracket step in detail
Watch out for
- Tyger's sheet says drilling may be required: 2009-12 models may lack factory holes and need drilling through the pinch weld
- The title's Classic years are not spelled out
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
Best for: Older-body Ram and Classic crew cab owners who are fine checking for factory holes first.
It is a 3.5-inch rail per the title. We have no maker rating for it, so we print none. Want more foot room? The 4-inch Tyger Riser* also has a sheet we could read, and its title names 2009. At the budget end, the aluminum crew step* is the plain option, with listing data only. The Tyger Access* is titled as a drop step for a lower first step, and we could not read its sheet.
| Spec sheet | Our pick: Ram Classic crewTyger Rider 3.5" (Ram older body and Classic) | Tyger Riser 4" (Ram older body and Classic) | Budget optionAluminum crew (Ram older body and Classic) | Listing data onlyAUTOSAVER88 (2009-2018 Ram 1500) | Listing data onlyTyger Access (Ram older body and Classic) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | 2010-2018 Dodge Ram 1500 / 2500 / 3500; Ram Classic | Crew Cab | 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500; 2010-2027 2500 3500; 2019-2024 Classic | Crew Cab | Crew Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500 | 2009-2018 Ram 1500 Crew Cab | 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500; 2010-2027 2500 3500; 2019-2024 Classic | Crew Cab |
| Style | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Drop step (as titled) |
| Material | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Aluminum (title) | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Bolt-on with brackets; sheet says drilling may be required on 2009-12 trucks through the pinch weld | Bolt-on with brackets and bolt/nut plates; sheet says drilling may be required | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Price class | Mid-range | Mid-range | Budget | Budget | Mid-range |
| Best for | Older-body Ram and Classic crew cab owners who are fine checking for factory holes first. | Older-body Ram and Classic crew cab owners who want more step than the 3.5-inch Rider. | Crew cab owners with a 2009-2018 Ram 1500, a 2019-2024 Classic, or a 2010-up 2500/3500. | Older Ram 1500 crew owners on a budget. | Older-body Ram crew owners who want a lower step. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
Where your exact year matters: the mounts
Nearly every search for this truck names a year, and the titles will not separate them. The Tyger sheets do, a little.
| Year wording in the sheet | TG-SS2D35318 (Rider) | TG-RS2D40078 (Riser) |
|---|---|---|
| 2009-mid 2015 | Front location photo notes no factory holes in the pinch weld on 2009-2012 models | Front location photo notes no factory holes in the pinch weld on some models |
| Mid 2015 on | Photo shows factory threaded inserts, and the bolt plate is not required | Photo labeled mid 2015-on, and the sheet has a separate step for models with threaded inserts |
| Drilling | 2009-12 models may need 1/4-inch holes through the pinch weld for the support brackets | Some models need 1/4-inch holes through the pinch weld for the support bracket |
So on a 2009-2012 truck, plan for the possibility of drilling. Both sheets print "DRILLING MAY BE REQUIRED" up front, and the Riser's wording of "some models" is not limited to those years, so read yours. Both tell you to hold off: finish the install and level the step first, then mark and drill. Tyger's Rider sheet also warns against drilling too close to the bottom edge of the pinch weld.
Neither sheet gives an install time, so we print none. If you would rather not drill your truck, a shop can do this work. How to install running boards covers the general job.
Crew or Quad: go by the name and your doors
ARIES files the Ram 1500 Quad under extended cabs and the Crew under crew cabs, and says the table is only an aid to understanding. Quad cab vs crew cab has the full comparison.
For a Quad Cab, the aluminum Quad Cab listing* is the one in our data, and it has no brand and no sheet. We have no Regular Cab listing for these years, which does not mean none exists.
If you drive a 2010-up Crew Cab and want a rail with a maker sheet → Tyger Rider 3.5" (Ram older body and Classic)
Fits, according to the listing: 2010-2018 Dodge Ram 1500 / 2500 / 3500; Ram Classic | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2009 Crew Cab or want a 4-inch step → Tyger Riser 4" (Ram older body and Classic)
Fits, according to the listing: 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500; 2010-2027 2500 3500; 2019-2024 Classic | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a budget aluminum step on a Crew Cab → Aluminum crew (Ram older body and Classic) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: Crew Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a Quad Cab → Aluminum Quad Cab (Ram older body and Classic) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: Quad Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a lower first step on a Crew Cab → Tyger Access (Ram older body and Classic) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500; 2010-2027 2500 3500; 2019-2024 Classic | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Air suspension and power steps
Trim and options can matter. Westin's Pro-e table lists part 29-23565 for the Crew Cab, for the 2009-2010 Dodge Ram 1500, the 2011-2018 Ram 1500 and the 2019-2024 Classic, and those rows point to notes that include "Excludes Vehicles With Air Suspension" without saying which note applies. Part 29-23555 covers the same years for the Quad Cab, and Westin states "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side". The titles above say nothing on air suspension, and that settles nothing, so ask if your truck has it.
We have no Amazon power step for these trucks in our data. A WOLFBOX title for later trucks says "Not for 2025-2026 & 1500 Classic". See Ram 1500 power running boards.
The same parts on a 2500 or 3500
Several titles here also name the 2500 and 3500, with their own year ranges. Read those as separate statements. The Ram HD details are on Ram 2500 running boards. For the routine that works on any title, use how to check a listing fits, and see how we verify fitment for our sources.
Tailgate questions
Are running boards for a 2017 Ram 1500 different from a 2014 or 2016?
Not in the titles we read. Each states a range across those years, so none treats a 2014 and a 2017 separately. The cab still splits them. Where the year shows up is in Tyger's sheets, which handle the older and later body mounts differently. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Do I have to drill to put running boards on a 2012 Ram 1500?
You may. Tyger's sheet for TG-SS2D35318 says 2009-12 models may have no factory holes in the pinch weld and will then need 1/4-inch holes for the support brackets. Its Riser sheet says the same for some models. Look behind the sealing tape before you order. Listing-only parts here came with no sheet.
Will boards for a 2018 Ram 1500 fit a 2019 Ram 1500?
Only if your 2019 is a Classic and the title names it. The aluminum titles list the 2019-2024 Classic with the older trucks and say New Body Style Not Fit. AUTOSAVER88 names 2009-2018 only, so do not assume the Classic there. New-body trucks have their own listings.
What fits a 2009-2018 Ram 1500 Quad Cab?
In our Amazon data, one listing names it: the aluminum Quad Cab step, for the 2009-2018 Ram 1500 and 2019-2024 Classic. Westin's Pro-e table lists a Quad Cab part, 29-23555, for the Dodge Ram 1500 2009-2010, the Ram 1500 2011-2018 and the 2019-2024 Classic. Do not put a Crew Cab part on a Quad Cab unless the maker or seller says you can.
Where this comes from
Keep reading
- CompatibilityRam 1500Ram 1500 running boards by body and cab. New-body and Classic boards are separate listings, and power steps split again. Fit quoted from titles and maker sheets.
- Compatibility2019-2026 Ram 1500Running boards for the 2026, 2025 and older new-body Ram 1500: what each title states by year, why the Classic is excluded, and what is listed for the Quad Cab.
- Question & answerWill Ram 1500 Classic Running Boards Fit a New Body Ram 1500?Ram 1500 Classic running boards and new-body boards are separate listings, and the titles rule each other out. How to tell which truck you have and what to buy.
- ExplainerQuad vs Crew CabQuad Cab vs Crew Cab on a Ram: where each sits in the ARIES table, why boards are sold separately, and what Westin and listing titles state for each cab.
- CompatibilityRam 2500 / 3500Ram 2500 and 3500 running boards by year and cab. Crew Cab has plenty of listings, Mega Cab has none in our data, and some titles stop at 2018 or 2024.
- How-toCheck a listing fitsCheck any running board listing against your truck in seven steps: year, cab, exclusions, part number and maker sheet. Real title traps, and what to ask the seller.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint