Compatibility
F-150 Running Boards: Fit by Year and Cab, Factory vs Aftermarket
F-150 running boards are sold by cab first. Almost every listing we read says SuperCrew, so a SuperCab owner has to look elsewhere. For a 2015-up SuperCrew, start with the Tyger Riser, because its maker sheet deals with Ford's aluminum body.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
Almost every aftermarket F-150 listing we read is cut for the SuperCrew. For a 2015-up SuperCrew, our pick is the 6-inch Tyger Riser TG-RS6F60118: factory studs, plastic retainers against corrosion and no drilling step in the sheet. We have no Amazon listing for a SuperCab, but Ford's accessory catalog lists SuperCab step bars. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
A running board is a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out. On an F-150 the question is the cab. Ford builds three, Regular Cab, SuperCab and SuperCrew, and they are different lengths. In Ford's 2026 sheet, the back of the cab sits 121.2 inches from the front bumper on a Regular Cab, 143.8 on a SuperCab and about 155.6 on a SuperCrew. We do not use those numbers to work out fit. They just show why one part does not stretch across all three.
What the titles state by year and cab
Read 2 November 2026. These lines are listing title wording. Where a title names a truck you do not own, it says nothing about yours.
| Your F-150 | What we have, according to the listing | Note |
|---|---|---|
| 2015-up SuperCrew | Tyger Riser 6-inch (2015-2027), Tyger LanderX (2015-2027), APS 6-inch (2015-2026), AUTOSAVER88 6-inch (15-26), aluminum (2015-2026, "4 Full Size Doors") | Titles differ on the last year |
| 2015-up SuperCab | No Amazon listing in our data | Ford's catalog and Westin name this cab |
| 2009-2014 SuperCrew | AUTOSAVER88 6-inch ("09-14") | Listing data only |
| 2004-2014 Regular Cab | Unbranded step ("04-14 F-150 2 Door Regular Cab") | The only regular cab listing we have |
| Lightning | Tyger titles say 2022-2025, APS says 2022-2026 | Confirm your year |
| Raptor, Tremor, Lobo | Not named in the titles here | Ask the seller first |
No listing means none in our data. It does not mean none exists. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
2015-up SuperCrew: start with the Tyger Riser
Tyger Auto
Tyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew)
A 6-inch step with a maker sheet that deals with Ford's aluminum body.
Why here: It is the F-150 part with a maker sheet we could read, and that sheet deals with Ford's aluminum body.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Running board / step bar (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Bolt-on to factory studs with plastic retainers; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Part number (TG-RS6F60118) ties it to Tyger's instruction sheet
- Sheet uses plastic retainers to prevent corrosion between the aluminum body panel and steel brackets
- No drilling step in the sheet
Watch out for
- Not for the SuperCab per the title
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
- The sheet says to clear paint or undercoating from the studs first
Best for: SuperCrew owners on the 2015-up F-150 who want a wide step and a clear install sheet.
Ford's 2026 sheet lists the body material as aluminum alloy. Tyger's sheet for TG-RS6F60118 picks up on exactly that. You slide plastic retainers over the factory studs, because they are "designed to prevent corrosion between the aluminum body panel and the steel mounting brackets". The sheet says not to install the brackets without them. It also has you clear paint or undercoating from the studs with a wire brush or thread chaser die, recommends a helper, and has no drilling step.
We found no corrosion measurements for any of these parts, so that is the maker's stated reason and not a tested result. The Tyger sheet states no weight rating, so we print none.
If you drive a 2015-up SuperCrew and want a maker sheet → Tyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew)
Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2015-up SuperCrew and want a lower step → Tyger LanderX (F-150 SuperCrew) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a flat black stainless step on a SuperCrew or Super Duty Crew → APS 6" Flat (F-150 SuperCrew) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: Ford F150 2015-2026 SuperCrew Cab & F150 Lightning 2022-2026 & F-250 F-350 Super Duty 2017-2026 Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2009-2014 SuperCrew → AUTOSAVER88 6" (2009-2014 F-150) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 09-14 Ford F150 SuperCrew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a two-door 2004-2014 → Step for 2004-2014 F-150 Regular Cab · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 04-14 F-150 2 Door Regular Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a SuperCab
| Spec sheet | Our pick: F-150 SuperCrewTyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew) | Listing data onlyTyger LanderX (F-150 SuperCrew) | Listing data onlyAPS 6" Flat (F-150 SuperCrew) | Listing data onlyAUTOSAVER88 6" (2015-2026 F-150) | Listing data onlyAluminum (F-150 and Super Duty) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab | 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab | Ford F150 2015-2026 SuperCrew Cab & F150 Lightning 2022-2026 & F-250 F-350 Super Duty 2017-2026 Crew Cab | 15-26 Ford F150 SuperCrew Cab | 2015-2026 Ford F150 F 150, 2017-2026 Ford F250 F350 Super Duty SuperCrew/Crew Cab 4 Full Size Doors |
| Style | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Drop step (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) |
| Material | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Black stainless steel (title) | Not stated in the title | Aluminum (title) |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Bolt-on to factory studs with plastic retainers; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Price class | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range | Budget | Budget |
| Best for | SuperCrew owners on the 2015-up F-150 who want a wide step and a clear install sheet. | SuperCrew owners who want a lower step and can confirm fit on the listing. | F-150 SuperCrew and Super Duty Crew owners who want a flat step. | SuperCrew owners on a budget. | SuperCrew and Crew owners who want the door count confirmed in writing. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
F-150 and Super Duty share some titles
The Tyger and APS titles name the F-250 and F-350 Super Duty from 2017 alongside the F-150. Watch the cab word when you read them: Ford uses SuperCrew on the F-150 and Crew on the Super Duty. The APS title gets that right, naming both. Super Duty SuperCab versions need their own check. In ARIES's guide, SuperCab sits under extended cabs and SuperCrew under crew cabs. An extended cab reaches the back seat through smaller rear doors or by moving the front seats forward. Extended cab vs crew cab goes through the difference.
Factory vs aftermarket
Ford sells its own. Its catalog page for the F-150, "Running Boards, Step Bars and Rock Rails", labels most entries Genuine Ford Accessory. Titles there name the cab and years, for example "F-150 SuperCab 2021-2027 6 in. Aluminum Angular Step Bar in Chrome".
| Ford accessory catalog | Amazon aftermarket listings | |
|---|---|---|
| Where fit comes from | Ford's own title and filters | The seller's title, sometimes a maker sheet |
| SuperCab coverage | Yes, as its own filter | None in our data |
| Box length | Named on some parts, such as step bars for a 5.5-foot bed | Not named in the titles here |
| Install details we read | None | One Tyger sheet |
| Accessory warranty terms | Not read | Not read |
Take Ford's route if you have a SuperCab, or if you want the part tied to your box. Take the Tyger Riser if you have a SuperCrew and want the sheet in hand first. On the truck's own warranty, Ford's support page says an aftermarket product "will not necessarily void" the New Vehicle Limited Warranty, but repairs for any failure it causes are not covered.
Power steps
The AMP PowerStep* title names 2015-2020 Ford F-150 and no cab. For 2021-up, the WOLFBOX* title names the SuperCrew, Lightning and Super Duty trucks. It stacks claims in the title that we have no maker document behind, so treat them as the seller's wording. Westin's Pro-e table names the F-150 SuperCab and SuperCrew from 2015 to 2027 and states "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side". The wider field is on power running boards, and the AMP lineup is on AMP Research.
Where to go from here
SuperCrew on a 2015-up truck: take the Tyger Riser unless you want a drop step. Older trucks and regular cabs: read the thin listings closely. Wheel-to-wheel parts add the box to the question, which bed and cab fitment covers. All other makes are under all trucks, and how we read every line here is on how we verify fitment. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
More on this truck: 2015-2026 boards, 2009-2014 boards, SuperCrew vs SuperCab parts, F-150 power steps and the Raptor.
Tailgate questions
Will F-150 SuperCrew running boards fit a SuperCab?
Do not plan on it. The titles we read say SuperCrew and do not name the SuperCab. Ford keeps the two apart in its own catalog, and its 2026 sheet puts the back of the cab about 12 inches further from the bumper on a SuperCrew. If you drive a SuperCab, shop by that name.
Are factory F-150 running boards better than aftermarket?
We found no independent test that settles it, so we compare paperwork. Ford's catalog names cab, years and sometimes the box, under the label Genuine Ford Accessory. Aftermarket fit comes from a seller's title, backed here by a Tyger sheet in one case. We did not read the warranty terms on Ford's accessories, so ask your dealer.
Do F-150 running boards need drilling?
It depends on the part. Tyger's sheet for TG-RS6F60118 uses factory studs in the body panel and has no drilling step. The listing-only boards on this page have no sheet we could read, so we cannot say for those. A title claiming no drilling is the seller's wording, not a maker document.
Do aftermarket running boards void my F-150 warranty?
Ford says an aftermarket product "will not necessarily void" the New Vehicle Limited Warranty, but if it fails or causes another part to fail, that repair and related damage are not covered. The FTC said in 2018 that conditioning a warranty on specified parts is generally prohibited, with exceptions. This is not legal advice.
Are F-150 rock sliders the same as step bars?
Not necessarily, and listing titles do not help. Ford's catalog groups step bars with rock rails, and Amazon titles often add the word slider to a plain step rail. Look at how a part mounts and what the maker publishes. We found no published rating behind seller claims about what a slider can bear.
Where this comes from
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-RS6F60118 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- Ford: 2026 F-150 technical specifications (PDF)
- Ford Accessories: running boards, step bars and rock rails for the F-150
- Ford: will aftermarket modifications void my warranty?
- FTC: staff warns companies it is illegal to condition warranty coverage on specified parts (April 10, 2018)
- Westin Automotive: Pro-e power running boards
Keep reading
- CompatibilityAll trucksWhich running boards fit your truck depends on model, year block, cab and sometimes bed. See the splits listings state for each truck and where to start.
- ExplainerCab and bed fitmentCab length running boards run along the cab, wheel-to-wheel boards run to the rear wheel. How cab names and bed length decide fit, and how to read a listing title.
- Buying guideNerf barsNerf bars for trucks by cab and year. What the name really covers, how wide the rails are, what the install sheets say, and our picks where we read a maker sheet.
- Buying guidePower running boardsPower running boards come out with the door and fold away after. See which trucks each listing names, what the install takes and which load figures hold up.
- BrandAMP ResearchAMP Research power steps sorted by truck: which listing names which years, what the RealTruck guide says about drilling and install time, and the warranty terms.
- About usHow we verify fitFit here is what a listing title or maker sheet states, marked as such. What we read, what blocked us and why you still confirm year and cab before you buy.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint