Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

Buying guide

Power Running Boards: Which Trucks They're Listed For and What the Install Takes

Power running boards are motorized steps that come out when a door opens and tuck away when it closes. They are listed truck by truck, they sit in the premium price class, and the install is a real job. For a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500, our pick is the RealTruck AMP PowerStep, because its install guide spells out cabs, tools and time.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 8 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Straight answer

Power running boards deploy with the door and retract when it closes. Our pick is the AMP PowerStep for 2022-2026 Silverado and Sierra 1500: RealTruck's guide states 3-5 hours, skill level 4, professional installation recommended, an OBD II plug and drilling through the pinch weld. Other trucks have their own listings. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What's on this page

You will see these sold as power steps, electric running boards, retractable side steps and automatic running boards. They mean the same kind of part: a motorized step tied to your doors. RealTruck's guide describes normal operation plainly. When a door opens, the step deploys from under the truck. When the doors close, it returns to the stowed position after a 2-second delay.

Fit sheetOur pick: power steps, 2022+ GMAd

AMP Research

AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)

The powered step with the clearest paperwork in our data: a maker install guide that names cabs, tools and time.

Why here: It has the clearest paperwork of any powered step in our data: a maker guide that names the cabs, tools, time and warranty.

Fits, according to the listing and maker sheet
Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026 (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Powered retractable step (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Guide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plug
Warranty
5-Year Limited Warranty (guide)
Price class
Premium

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • RealTruck's install guide states a 5-year limited warranty and connects through an OBD II plug
  • The guide lists every cab: 79-inch board for Crew, trimmed for Double and Single Cab

Watch out for

  • The guide calls for drilling through the pinch weld and rates the job skill level 4 (experienced)
  • Professional installation recommended; the guide states 3-5 hours
  • The title gives no part number, so match 76255-01A on the listing
  • Premium price class

Best for: Owners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

Which power step for which truck?

Each line shows what the listing states. Most of these titles name fewer details than you need, and several give no cab. "Listing data only" means the title is all we could read.

What do you drive?

  • If you drive a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 → AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)

    Fits, according to the listing: Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2019 Silverado or Sierra 1500 crew cab → AMP PowerStep 76254-01A (2019 GM)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019 Silverado & Sierra 1500 with Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a GM crew cab and want LED lights named in the title → Rough Country Power (GM) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Chevy Silverado & GMC Sierra 1500/2500HD/3500HD (2019-2026) Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a GM crew cab and can confirm your year on the listing → WOLFBOX Power (GM crew)

    Fits, according to the listing: Chevy Silverado & GMC Sierra Crew Cab (no model years in the title). Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2015-2020 F-150 → AMP PowerStep (2015-2020 F-150)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2020 Ford F-150. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2021-up F-150 SuperCrew → WOLFBOX Power (2021+ F-150) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2021-2027 F150 Supercrew Cab | 2021-2027 F150 Lightning EV/F250/F350/F450/F550. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2022-up F-250, F-350 or F-450 → RealTruck PowerStep (2022+ Super Duty) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2022-2027 Ford F-250/F-350/F-450. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2025-up gas Ram 1500 → RealTruck PowerStep (2025+ Ram 1500)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2025-2027 RAM 1500 Gas Only. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2018-2024 Ram 2500 or 3500 → AMP PowerStep (2018-2024 Ram HD) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2018-2024 RAM 2500/3500. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a Ram 2500 or 3500 crew cab → Rough Country Power (Ram 2500/3500) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Ram 2500/3500 (2010-2026) Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

The Ram 1500 needs a second look. The RealTruck listing above says "2025-2027 RAM 1500 Gas Only". A WOLFBOX title we read says 2019-2024 and "Not for 2025-2026 & 1500 Classic". So power steps split inside the new body, and we have not found out why. Hybrid and other drivetrains on 2025-up trucks are also open. The Ram 1500 page has the rest of that truck, and the F-150 and Silverado pages do the same for theirs.

Compared: 2019-up GM trucks

This is the one truck family where we can line up three makers. Note what each title leaves out.

Comparison: AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM), AMP PowerStep 76254-01A (2019 GM), Rough Country Power (GM), WOLFBOX Power (GM crew)
Spec sheetOur pick: power steps, 2022+ GMAMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)AMP PowerStep 76254-01A (2019 GM)Listing data onlyRough Country Power (GM)WOLFBOX Power (GM crew)
Fits, according to the listingListing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-20262019 Silverado & Sierra 1500 with Crew CabChevy Silverado & GMC Sierra 1500/2500HD/3500HD (2019-2026) Crew CabChevy Silverado & GMC Sierra Crew Cab (no model years in the title)
StylePowered retractable step (as titled)Powered retractable step (as titled)Powered retractable step (as titled)Powered retractable step (as titled)
MaterialNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Weight ratingNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
InstallGuide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plugNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Price classPremiumPremiumPremiumPremium
Best forOwners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install.Owners of a 2019 Silverado or Sierra 1500 crew cab, and only if the listing confirms that exact truck.GM crew cab owners shopping powered steps in the same premium tier as AMP.Only owners who have confirmed their year on the listing itself.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Fit and specs as the listing title or maker sheet states them. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. Swipe sideways on a phone.

What the install takes

Symbolic image (AI-generated): a plain black side rail on two work stands next to a dark pickup, with a socket set on a creeper in a home garage
AI-generated illustrative image: a generic install scene, not a specific part, and not a power step. · Image: AI-generated (OpenAI)

We can only give this in detail for the part with a guide we could read: the AMP PowerStep 76255-01A, for 2022-2026 Silverado and Sierra 1500 (guide IM76255, rev 12.15.25). This is what RealTruck states.

3-5 hours
Install time, per the guide
Skill level 4
"Experienced", per the guide
5 years
Limited warranty, original purchaser only
79 inches
Crew Cab board; Double is trimmed to 69, Single to 50

The tool list includes a drill motor, 1/8-inch and 19/64-inch bits, wire crimpers, a stripper, a heat gun and silicone sealer. So it is not a socket-set afternoon. The main steps in the guide:

  1. Pre-assemble and trim

    Attach the motors to the rear linkages, handling them with care. On a Double or Single Cab, trim the board to length.
  2. Mount the linkages

    Bolt the linkages to the rocker seam and torque the fasteners as the guide states.
  3. Run the harness

    Fit the controller near the passenger-side battery, then route the harness along the frame, away from the exhaust and steering.
  4. Plug in and tap in

    Connect the module to the OBD II port and make the wire connections the guide calls for.
  5. Drill for the lights

    Drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld for the light wires, deburr them and paint the holes to prevent rust.
  6. Check every door

    Reinstall the fuse and check that all doors activate the steps and lights.

RealTruck recommends professional installation, and a job with wiring and drilling is a fair place to take that advice. The guide also carries a plain warning: keep your hands away when the board is in motion. Use your truck's manual as well as the guide for anything tied to its electrical system.

Other parts have their own paperwork. Rough Country's sheets state no time, and its own page was blocked to us. WOLFBOX's GM and Ram pages estimate less time than AMP's guides do, and the F-150 title's no-drill is only the seller's wording. Do not take this guide's time or tools as a rule for those parts.

The load numbers

Here is where most power step pages go wrong. There is no shared rating basis.

Westin's page is the kind of source we trust: "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side" for the Pro-e, and the same page lists exclusions such as vehicles with air suspension. Some AI answers and dealer pages show a higher figure. Westin's page is the one to go by.

For the rest we print nothing. RealTruck's PowerStep guide states no load figure. The figures we saw for the PowerStep XL conflict between pages, and so do its drop figures, so both stay off this site until we can read a spec sheet. Rough Country numbers came only from dealers. WOLFBOX's GM and Ram pages list 660 lbs per side with no test basis, and its F-150 title's figure has no page behind it that we could open. So the "not stated" lines in the table above are honest. They do not mean the part is weak.

The models worth a closer look

RealTruck AMP PowerStep (2022-2026 GM)

Our pick. The listing says "2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra" and gives no part number. We tie it to 76255-01A through the application in RealTruck's guide, so match that on the listing. The guide lists Silverado 1500 and Sierra 1500, all cabs. The weak points are the harder install and the premium price class. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

AMP Research 76254-01A (2019 GM)

The title names "2019 Silverado & Sierra 1500 with Crew Cab" and nothing later. Do not stretch it to 2020. The listing states a 5-Year Limited Warranty. AMP's guide 76254-01A, a copy hosted by CARiD, lists model year 2019, 1500 only, with Crew Cab and Double Cab rows, and states 3-5 hours. The title names only the Crew Cab, and neither says load. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Rough Country (GM and Ram HD)

Both titles name dual motors, LED step lights and crew cab. The GM title groups the 1500, 2500HD and 3500HD under 2019-2026, while HD body years differ on other listings, so that range needs a second look. The Ram title says 2500/3500, 2010-2026. Rough Country's own site would not load for us. These sit in the same premium tier as AMP. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

WOLFBOX (GM and F-150)

The GM title names Silverado and Sierra crew cab and gives no model years at all, so buy it only if you can confirm yours on the listing itself. WOLFBOX's page for those trucks starts at the 22 model year and rules out the 2022 LTD and Limited. The F-150 title says 2021-2027 F150 SuperCrew, plus Lightning and Super Duty models. It also stacks up claims for load, no-drill install, corrosion and warranty. Those are seller wording, because WOLFBOX's page for that part would not open for us. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

AMP for F-150, Super Duty and Ram

The AMP titles for the 2015-2020 F-150, the 2022-2027 Super Duty and the 2018-2024 Ram 2500/3500 name years and no cab. AMP Research goes through the brand and its model lines. Each is premium and listing data only here. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What to check before you order

  • Your exact truck and cab. Several titles leave the cab out. Ask before you order if yours does.
  • Part number against application. If the title has no part number, match it on the listing.
  • Exclusions. Westin's footnotes rule out vehicles with air suspension. Other makers may have similar lines. Read them.
  • Lift. Lifted trucks are their own question, and the published figures we saw conflict. Ask the maker about your exact lift.
  • Warranty terms. RealTruck's guide says the warranty applies to the original purchaser only and excludes damage from misinstallation, so keep your proof of purchase.
  • Your truck's warranty. The FTC says conditioning coverage on specified parts is generally prohibited. Ford says parts do not necessarily void its warranty, but resulting damage is not covered. This is not legal advice.

Mistakes people make

  • Reading the load figure first. Most figures we saw have no maker document behind them.
  • Assuming one guide fits all. Time, tools and drilling belong to one part number.
  • Forgetting the wiring. A plug-in module still needs routing and connections.
  • Ignoring the Ram split. New-body Ram power steps change at 2025, according to the listings.

What do you drive?

Start with the truck. We only show what a listing title or maker states for it.

Bottom line

If you drive a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 and have accepted the install, take the RealTruck AMP PowerStep*. On any other truck, buy only a listing that names your year and cab. If the install or price class is too much, a fixed step is the simpler way up: see truck side steps or the best running boards by truck. The full truck list is at all trucks, and how we verify fitment explains how we read all of this. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Still deciding? Best power running boards compares the paperwork, are they worth it? weighs the install, and common problems shows what can go wrong.

Tailgate questions

How much weight can power running boards hold?

It depends on the maker and part, and there is no shared rating basis. Westin states 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side for its Pro-e. RealTruck's PowerStep install guide states no load figure, and the other figures we saw come from dealers or seller titles, so we do not print them. Read the maker's document for your part.

Can I install power running boards myself?

Read the guide before you decide. RealTruck's guide for the AMP PowerStep 76255-01A states 3-5 hours and skill level 4 of 4, Experienced, and recommends professional installation. It involves motors, a wire harness, an OBD II plug and drilling. Westin describes its Pro-e as a bolt-on, no-drill install. The answer changes with the part.

Do power running boards need drilling?

Some do. RealTruck's guide for the 2022-up GM PowerStep has you drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld for the light wires. Westin describes its Pro-e as no-drill with vehicle-specific brackets. One WOLFBOX title says no-drill, which is the seller's statement. Check the sheet for your exact part.

Do power running boards void a truck's factory warranty?

Fitting them does not by itself void the whole factory warranty. The FTC said in 2018 that conditioning warranty coverage on specified parts is generally prohibited, with limited exceptions. Ford says aftermarket parts do not necessarily void its warranty, but damage they cause is not covered. This is not legal advice, so ask your dealer.

Are power running boards worth it?

That is your call, and we have no failure-rate data to settle it. You get a step that tucks up out of the way and comes out on its own. You pay a premium price, take on a harder install and add a moving, wired part under the cab. If you can live with a fixed step, side steps cost less and have fewer parts.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we verify fit