Troubleshooting
Power Running Boards Not Working: Doors, Fuses, Settings, Software and What Warranty Covers
Start with the cheap causes. Clear anything blocking the step, then open and close the door, which is the reset RealTruck's AMP guide gives. Next check every door, the fuse and the debris in the linkage. On factory boards, a menu setting can flip to Off after a low battery, and some GM trucks need a software update from a dealer.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
First clear any obstruction and open and close the door, the reset in RealTruck's AMP guide. Then test every door, check the harness fuse and clean the linkage. Rough Country's sheet points to wiring and magnetic switch position. Ford documents a setting that flips to Off after low battery. GM documents a software recalibration for 2021-2023 HD trucks. There is no universal reset.
A power step is a motor, a linkage and a signal from the door. We have no failure-rate data for any brand, and we did not search NHTSA for recalls or complaints on these parts. What follows comes from maker documents.
Symptom, likely cause, who says so
| What you see | Likely cause | Source | What to do |
|---|---|---|---|
| Step stops mid-travel | Something in the way; the step stops itself | RealTruck guide | Clear it, cycle the door |
| Unwanted noise after mud, dirt or salt | Debris trapped in the mechanism | RealTruck guide | Clean it; do not spray the motors directly |
| Irregular movement, noise or binding | Board or brackets out of alignment | Rough Country sheet | Loosen, cycle, retighten |
| Board does not move at all | Wiring or magnetic switch position | Rough Country sheet | Check the plugs, then the switches |
| Factory Ford boards dead, menu says Off | Low battery event; code U3003:16 stored | Ford SSM 50154 | Fix the battery cause, set back to Auto |
| GM HD step retracts when the door opens, or works erratically | Obstacle detection software too sensitive in certain environments | GM 22-NA-169 | Dealer recalibrates the control module |
| Factory Ford boards do not deploy in extreme climates | Excessive ice buildup | Ford 2014 F-150 manual | Set the boards deployed, then wash the mechanism |
The Ford bulletin names 2015-2020 F-150 and 2017-2020 Super Duty trucks, among others. The GM bulletin names 2021-2023 Silverado and Sierra 2500HD and 3500HD with factory power assist steps. No bulletin for your truck does not mean none exists.
Fix it step by step
Clear obstructions
RealTruck's guide says the board stops on an object. Clear it, then open and close the door.Test every door
Both the RealTruck and Rough Country sheets end with this check. One door failing while the others work points at that door signal more than the motor, which is our reasoning, not a maker statement.Check the fuse with the power off
Rough Country uses a 25A fuse in a box on the main harness. The AMP guide has a harness fuse too, with no rating given.Check the door signal and connections
On Rough Country kits, a door magnet has to line up with a magnetic switch stuck to a clean pillar. Its Silverado sheet adds that the front linkage arms will not move unless both motors are connected.Check factory settings and the battery
Ford's bulletin describes the setting going from Auto to Off after a low battery. Correct the cause and set it back. Ford's 2014 manual says the information display can enable and disable the feature.Clean the linkage
RealTruck says not to spray the motors directly, and to use silicone spray on the hinge pivot pins after washing, never on the stepping surface. Rough Country says to avoid high-pressure liquids on the motors, keep water off the control unit and use mild detergent. Ford's 2014 manual has you wash with a high-pressure wand, so follow your own maker.Readjust noisy or binding boards
On Rough Country kits, loosen the 6mm nuts with the board deployed, leave them slightly less than snug, cycle the door several times, then tighten gradually in turn. If that fails, the sheet says to remove the board and realign the brackets.Call the maker or the dealer
RealTruck's guide lists tech support at 1-888-983-2204, and Rough Country's sheet lists 1-800-222-7023. Factory boards with stored codes belong at a dealer.
We print no steps from RealTruck's PowerStep troubleshooting guide: the copy we found refused our request, and realtruck.com returned empty pages.
Motors and replacement parts
The AMP guide bolts the motor to the rear linkage as a separate kit and warns that dropping the assembly may damage it. The documents we read list no replacement part numbers. A catalog at ampresearchco.com matches drive shafts and clutch gears to PowerStep generations, but it does not say who runs it, and its links are Amazon affiliate links.
What warranty covers
- RealTruck AMP, guide for 76255-01A: five years from purchase, against defects, with normal use and proper maintenance. Original purchaser only, with proof of purchase. Accidents, negligence, misinstallation and misuse are out.
- Westin Pro-e: Westin states a 5 year warranty and limited lifetime on its LEDs.
- Rough Country: roughcountry.com refused our requests, and its install sheets state no warranty term, so we print none.
- WOLFBOX: five years on the structure and step boards, one year on electronics "including motors and wiring", and only if bought directly or from an authorized dealer.
- Your truck: a separate question, covered on do running boards void your warranty. This is not legal advice.
Which document applies to your step
Rough Country's kits read the door through magnetic switches, and the AMP guide uses an OBD II module and wire taps.
Match your listing to its document: guide 76254-01A for the 2019 GM crew cab*, guide IM76151 for the 2015-2020 F-150*, sheet ERBOX11920 for Rough Country GM*, sheet ERBOX090910 for Rough Country Ram 2500/3500*, and sheet RBPW061806 for WOLFBOX GM*. All but the first match by application, because those titles have no part number. We read no sheet for the WOLFBOX F-150*.
More is on AMP Research and Rough Country.
When to call a pro, and when to replace
Call a pro for stored fault codes, software concerns, or anything inside the kick panel. Replace only after the maker says the repair does not make sense.
AMP Research
AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)
The powered step with the clearest paperwork in our data: a maker install guide that names cabs, tools and time.
Why here: If you are replacing a dead step on a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500, it has the clearest guide we could read.
- Fits, according to the listing and maker sheet
- Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026 (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Powered retractable step (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Guide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plug
- Warranty
- 5-Year Limited Warranty (guide)
- Price class
- Premium
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- RealTruck's install guide states a 5-year limited warranty and connects through an OBD II plug
- The guide lists every cab: 79-inch board for Crew, trimmed for Double and Single Cab
Watch out for
- The guide calls for drilling through the pinch weld and rates the job skill level 4 (experienced)
- Professional installation recommended; the guide states 3-5 hours
- The title gives no part number, so match 76255-01A on the listing
- Premium price class
Best for: Owners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install.
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. Other trucks are on power running boards. Are power running boards worth it weighs up moving parts, and truck side steps have no motor to fail.
Tailgate questions
How do you reset AMP power steps?
RealTruck's guide for the 76255-01A gives one reset: if the step stopped on an obstruction, clear it, then open and close the door. It gives no other reset. RealTruck has a separate troubleshooting chart, but the copy we found refused our request, so we print nothing from it. Ask RealTruck tech support for it.
Why did my Ford power running boards stop working?
One documented cause is a low battery. Ford's bulletin SSM 50154 says 2015-2020 F-150 and 2017-2020 Super Duty boards can be disabled after a low-voltage event or a discharged battery, with the menu going from Auto to Off. The fix is to correct the battery or charging problem and set the mode back to Auto.
Why do my GM power assist steps retract when I open the door?
GM's bulletin 22-NA-169 covers 2021-2023 Silverado and Sierra 2500HD and 3500HD trucks with this concern. It says the software that detects obstacles while deploying may be too sensitive in certain environments. The correction is a dealer recalibration of the assist step control module. It is not something you can do in the driveway.
One side of my power step does not move. What should I check?
Check that door's trigger, then wiring, then the linkage. Rough Country's sheet says to check wire connections and magnetic switch position, and its Silverado sheet says the front linkage arms will not move unless both motors are connected. With power off, look for a jammed linkage. We found no maker document with a side-by-side motor test we could read.
Does the warranty cover a failed power step motor?
It depends on the maker. RealTruck's guide gives five years from purchase on defects, for the original purchaser with proof of purchase, and excludes misinstallation and misuse. Westin states 5 years on the Pro-e. Rough Country's site refused our requests and its sheets state no term. WOLFBOX gives five years on structure and one year on motors and wiring. Call before you take the motor off.
Where this comes from
- RealTruck AMP Research installation guide IM76255 (PDF)
- Rough Country: Silverado and Sierra 1500 power board kit instructions (PDF)
- Ford SSM 50154: power running boards disabled (PDF filed with NHTSA)
- GM bulletin 22-NA-169: power assist steps inoperative (PDF filed with NHTSA)
- Ford: 2014 F-150 owner's manual, power running boards (ManualsLib copy)
- Westin Automotive: Pro-e power running boards
Keep reading
- Buying guidePower running boardsPower running boards come out with the door and fold away after. See which trucks each listing names, what the install takes and which load figures hold up.
- BrandAMP ResearchAMP Research power steps sorted by truck: which listing names which years, what the RealTruck guide says about drilling and install time, and the warranty terms.
- Question & answerAre Power Running Boards Worth It? Price Class, Failure Points and When a Fixed Board Is BetterAre power running boards worth it? What you pay in price class, install work and moving parts, what the maker guide says can go wrong, and when fixed wins.
- BrandRough CountryRough Country power boards by truck: what four listings state, what its install sheets ask for, how they compare with AMP, and the load figures we leave out.
- Question & answerDo Aftermarket Running Boards Void Your Truck's Warranty? What the FTC, Ford and Ram SayDo running boards void a truck warranty? What the FTC, Ford and Ram's own booklet state, what stays uncovered if a part does damage, and what we could not read.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint