Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

Comparison

Best Truck Running Boards by Truck and Use: Compared on Published Fit and Install Sheets

No board is best for every truck, because each one is built for specific model years and cabs. So we pick per truck and per use. For a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab, our pick is the Tyger Rider 3.5-inch. We found no independent durability test of truck running boards, so we compare published fit and maker sheets, and nothing else.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 5 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Straight answer

The best running board is the one listed for your year and cab with a maker sheet behind it. Our picks: Tyger Rider for 2019-up GM, new-body Ram and Colorado crew cabs, Tyger Riser for F-150 SuperCrew, AMP PowerStep for 2022-up GM power steps. We found no independent durability test, so this is a paperwork comparison. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What's on this page

Let's be straight about what "best" means here. Nobody on this site has bolted these on a truck, and we ran no load or corrosion checks. We found no independent durability test to borrow from. So we judge what can be checked: whether the title names the truck, years and cab, and whether a maker sheet backs it up. How we verify fitment has the details.

"Our pick" below means we read a maker sheet for that part. "Start here" and "budget option" mean the listing title is all we could read.

Fit sheetOur pick: Silverado and Sierra crewAd

Tyger Auto

Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)

A 3.5-inch rail whose title names the Silverado and Sierra years, the HD split and the cab.

Why here: It has the clearest paper trail for the truck family with the widest coverage in our data. The sheet shows 8 brackets and no drilling step.

Fits, according to the listing
2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
Price class
Mid-range

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • The part number in the title (TG-SS2C35068) ties the listing to Tyger's own instruction sheet
  • That sheet bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and has no drilling step
  • Title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years

Watch out for

  • 3.5 inches wide per the title, narrower than the 6-inch boards
  • No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
  • The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited; a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering

Best for: Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

The picks, by truck

What do you drive?

  • If you drive a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a new-body Ram 1500 crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a Ram 1500 Classic or older crew cab and want to spend less → Aluminum crew (Ram older body and Classic) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Crew Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2015-up F-150 SuperCrew → Tyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2024-up Tacoma Double Cab → Tyger Access (2024+ Tacoma) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2024-2027 Toyota Tacoma (Fits Hybrid) | Double Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax → Aluminum 6" (2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2007-2021 Toyota Tundra Crewmax Cab 4 Full Size Doors. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a Colorado or Canyon crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (Colorado and Canyon)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Chevy Colorado GMC Canyon | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive something else

Compared: the parts with a maker sheet

These five are our picks. Compare the install lines, because that is where they really differ.

Comparison: Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM), Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500), Tyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew), Tyger Rider 3.5" (Colorado and Canyon), AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)
Spec sheetOur pick: Silverado and Sierra crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)Our pick: Ram 1500 new body crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500)Our pick: F-150 SuperCrewTyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew)Our pick: Colorado and Canyon crewTyger Rider 3.5" (Colorado and Canyon)Our pick: power steps, 2022+ GMAMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)
Fits, according to the listing2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab2015-2027 Chevy Colorado GMC Canyon | Crew CabListing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026
StyleRail / nerf bar (as titled)Rail / nerf bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)Rail / nerf bar (as titled)Powered retractable step (as titled)
MaterialNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Weight ratingNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
InstallBolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedBolt-on with 6 brackets to factory studs; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedBolt-on to factory studs with plastic retainers; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedBolt-on with 6 brackets at existing mounting locations; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedGuide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plug
Price classMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-rangePremium
Best forCrew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.New-body Ram 1500 crew cab owners. Not for the Classic.SuperCrew owners on the 2015-up F-150 who want a wide step and a clear install sheet.Colorado or Canyon crew cab owners who want a rail and a readable install.Owners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Fit and specs as the listing title or maker sheet states them. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. Swipe sideways on a phone.

"Not stated" on weight means just that. The Tyger sheets give no rating, and we print none from dealer pages.

The picks, by use

Best documented install: Tyger Rider

Three of the Rider sheets we read have no drilling step. The 2019-up GM sheet uses 8 brackets on threaded holes behind plugs. The new-body Ram sheet uses 6 brackets on factory studs and tells you to wire-brush paint off the studs first. The Colorado and Canyon sheet uses 6 brackets. Do not read that as a rule for the whole line: Tyger's sheet for the older Ram Rider says drilling may be required. Listed fit is on each line above. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Best wide step: Tyger Riser on the F-150

If you want more foot area, go 6-inch. The Tyger Riser 6-inch* is listed for the 2015-2027 F-150 SuperCrew, according to the listing. Its sheet uses factory studs and plastic retainers to prevent corrosion between the aluminum body panel and the steel brackets. The F-150 page has the rest. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Best lower step: drop steps

For a tall truck where the first step is the problem, look at a drop step. The Tyger LanderX* is listed for the same F-150 SuperCrew, and the Tacoma page starts with a drop rail. We could not read a sheet for either, so they stay options and not picks. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Best for the budget end

These are listing data only, but their titles are clear about truck and cab.

Comparison: COMNOVA 6" (2019+ Silverado), Aluminum crew (Ram older body and Classic), Aluminum 6" (2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax), COMNOVA 6" (Colorado and Canyon)
Spec sheetBudget optionCOMNOVA 6" (2019+ Silverado)Budget optionAluminum crew (Ram older body and Classic)Start here: Tundra CrewMaxAluminum 6" (2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax)Listing data onlyCOMNOVA 6" (Colorado and Canyon)
Fits, according to the listing2019-2026 Chevy Silverado 1500, 2020-2026 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD Crew CabCrew Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 35002007-2021 Toyota Tundra Crewmax Cab 4 Full Size Doors2015-2026 Chevrolet Colorado/GMC Canyon Crew Cab
StyleRunning board / step bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)
MaterialNot stated in the titleAluminum (title)Aluminum (title)Not stated in the title
Weight ratingNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
InstallNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Price classBudgetBudgetBudgetBudget
Best forSilverado 1500 crew cab owners who want a wider step and a budget price class.Crew cab owners with a 2009-2018 Ram 1500, a 2019-2024 Classic, or a 2010-up 2500/3500.2007-2021 CrewMax owners. Not for the Double Cab.Colorado or Canyon crew owners who want a wider step.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Fit and specs as the listing title or maker sheet states them. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. Swipe sideways on a phone.

The price class is budget for all four, per our data. What you give up is the sheet: we cannot tell you the bracket count or whether there is a drilling step. The COMNOVA Silverado title also names the Sierra for HD trucks only.

Best slim look: nerf bars

The Tyger Rider above is the slim option in our picks, at 3.5 inches according to the titles. If the look is what you are after, nerf bars goes further into tubes and rails. Listing titles use the words loosely, so go by the width in the title.

Best fold-away: power steps

Fit sheetOur pick: power steps, 2022+ GMAd

AMP Research

AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)

The powered step with the clearest paperwork in our data: a maker install guide that names cabs, tools and time.

Why here: It is our pick for a powered step: RealTruck's guide names the cabs, tools and time, though it asks for real work.

Fits, according to the listing and maker sheet
Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026 (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Powered retractable step (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Guide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plug
Warranty
5-Year Limited Warranty (guide)
Price class
Premium

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • RealTruck's install guide states a 5-year limited warranty and connects through an OBD II plug
  • The guide lists every cab: 79-inch board for Crew, trimmed for Double and Single Cab

Watch out for

  • The guide calls for drilling through the pinch weld and rates the job skill level 4 (experienced)
  • Professional installation recommended; the guide states 3-5 hours
  • The title gives no part number, so match 76255-01A on the listing
  • Premium price class

Best for: Owners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

RealTruck's guide states 3-5 hours, skill level 4 and professional installation recommended, and it calls for drilling through the pinch weld. Plan for that. The AMP 76254-01A* title names only 2019 Silverado and Sierra 1500 crew cabs, so do not stretch it to later years. All the other trucks are on power running boards. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

How we compared

What we look atWhy it countsWhat we don't claim
Title names truck, years, cabA wrong year or cab means a returnThat the title is correct or current
Exclusions stated"Not fit 19-24 Classic" saves a wrong orderThat silence means it fits
Maker sheet readableBrackets, drilling and tools are in writingThat the install will go the same on your truck
Width and shape in the titleThat is the actual styleThat the word in the title means anything
Load rating from the makerDealer figures disagreeAny rating we could not read from the maker

One more thing on load: most of the parts above have no rating from the maker that we could read. We leave that line open and do not fill it in from dealers.

Quick calls

Rail or board? Take a rail if you want the slim look and a board if you want foot area. Fixed or power? Fixed unless you want the step gone and accept the install. Cab-length or wheel-to-wheel? Cab-length if the job is getting in and out; ARIES says wheel-to-wheel also covers the bed and costs more. See bed and cab fitment. Extended or crew? Different boards. Extended cab vs crew cab explains the names.

Bottom line

Take the part that names your truck, year and cab and has a sheet you can read. On a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab, that is the Tyger Rider 3.5-inch. If your truck has no pick above, go to all trucks and start there. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Lower steps are on drop steps, and Tyger has the brand behind several picks. For makers without a page of their own, see other running board brands. The fit finder is on the home page.

Tailgate questions

Which brand of running board is the most durable?

We cannot tell you. We found no independent durability or corrosion test of truck running boards. Anyone naming a most durable brand should show the test behind it. What we can compare is who publishes a usable install sheet, and on that count Tyger and RealTruck AMP gave us the most to read.

What company makes the best running boards?

No company is best across every truck, and no independent test we found ranks them. Our picks lean toward Tyger and AMP because we could read their sheets. That is a judgment about paperwork, not a claim that the steel is better. Other brands may be fine; we could not read enough to say.

What are the best running boards for a truck I use for work?

For a work truck that needs a step along the bed too, look at wheel-to-wheel boards. ARIES describes them as running from the front wheel to the rear wheel, and they cost more. They also have to be listed for your bed length. Our current picks are cab-length parts, so check the bed and cab fitment page.

Are the most expensive running boards the best?

Not as a rule. The premium class on this site is mostly power steps, and there you pay for the motor and the fold-away, along with a harder install. We found no test showing that a premium fixed board outlasts a budget one. Fit and a readable sheet matter more to us than the price class.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we verify fit