Brand
Westin Running Boards and Nerf Steps: Pro-e, HDX, R5 and Stated Limits
Westin builds running boards, nerf bars, drop steps and rock sliders, and its site publishes fit lists by part number. Its Pro-e power board states 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side. That is the only load rating we found in the Westin pages we read, and our Amazon data shows just one Westin part.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
Westin is a San Dimas, California, maker with lines for most truck tastes: Pro-e power boards, HDX and Outlaw drop bars, R5 five-inch steps, PRO TRAXX oval tube and E-Series 3-inch tube. Westin states 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side for the Pro-e, and the other pages we read state no rating. Fit is listed by part number, so look up yours.
Who is behind Westin
Westin Automotive Products, Inc. sits in San Dimas, California, where it keeps its corporate office and R&D. By its own account it has made truck and Jeep accessories for over 40 years, with manufacturing and warehousing in St. James, Minnesota; Sturgis, Michigan; and Fort Worth, Texas. It is also the parent of Superwinch. We could not confirm a founding date, and "leading" is Westin's word and not ours.
What matters to you is the paperwork. Westin publishes fit lists by part number and links install guides per part. That is more than most names on this site give you, and it is why we can quote Westin directly.
The lineup, from Westin's own pages
Read November 2, 2026. Prices run from the mid-range into premium, and we do not print amounts.
| Line | What it is | Material | Install wording | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pro-e | Power board, 6-inch | Aluminum | No-drill, bolt-on | 5 years; LEDs limited lifetime |
| HDX Running Boards | Fixed board, 5-inch step | Aluminum, steel brackets | Brackets included | 3 years |
| HDX Drop | Drop nerf bar, cab or wheel-to-wheel | Steel or stainless | No drilling on most | 3 years steel, 5 stainless |
| Outlaw Drop | Drop nerf bar, stated 4-inch drop | E-coated steel; stainless option | No drilling | 3 years |
| R5 | Nerf bar, 5-inch step | Polished 304 stainless or black aluminum | Rocker panel mount | Lifetime polished, 3 years black |
| PRO TRAXX | Oval tube, 4, 5 or 6 inches | Polished 304 stainless or black e-coated steel | No drilling on most | Lifetime polished, 3 years black |
| E-Series 3 | 3-inch round tube | Polished 304 stainless or black steel | Bolt-on, no drilling | Lifetime polished, 3 years black |
| Sure-Grip | Fixed board with rubber step | Aluminum base | Straightforward, per Westin | 5 years |
| Grate Steps | Fixed board, 6-1/4-inch step | E-coated steel | Mount kits sold separately | 3 years |
| XTS | Rock slider | E-coated steel | Bolt-on, no drilling | 3 years |
Westin's category page lists more lines, plus side bed steps, hitch steps and replacement parts. We did not read those in detail, so we print nothing about them.
Stated limits: what Westin says and what it doesn't
The Pro-e page states 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side. The HDX, HDX Drop, R5, PRO TRAXX, E-Series, Sure-Grip, Grate Steps, Outlaw Drop and XTS pages we read state none, and the XTS install sheet has none for the slider.
Not stated tells you nothing about what those parts can hold. Ask Westin for the rating on your part number. Some retailers and at least one AI answer give the Pro-e double Westin's figure, and those numbers do not match the maker. How much weight running boards hold has the rest of the picture.
Pro-e fit, by part number
These come from Westin's Pro-e list, as we read it. Part numbers tie to the cab, so a look-up beats a guess.
| Part | Truck and cab, per Westin |
|---|---|
| 29-24135 | Silverado and Sierra 1500 Crew Cab 2019-2026; 2500HD and 3500HD Crew Cab 2020-2027 |
| 29-23725 | Silverado and Sierra 1500 Crew Cab 2007-2018; 2500 HD and 3500 HD Crew Cab 2007-2019 |
| 29-24085 | Ram 1500 Crew Cab 2019-2027 |
| 29-23555 | Ram 1500 Quad Cab 2009-2018; Classic Quad Cab 2019-2024 |
| 29-23945 | F-150 SuperCrew 2015-2027; Lightning 2022-2025; F-250, F-350 Crew Cab 2017-2027 |
| 29-23935 | F-150 SuperCab 2015-2027; F-250, F-350 SuperCab 2017-2027 |
| 29-22785 | Tacoma Double Cab 2024-2026 |
| 29-24225 | Tundra CrewMax 2022-2026 |
| 29-24235 | Tundra Double Cab 2022-2026 |
| 29-24015 | Colorado and Canyon Crew Cab 2015-2026 |
Two things to read out of that. The 2027 on the first line belongs to the HD trucks, and Westin stops the 1500 at 2026, so the 2027 Silverado 1500 stays unverified. And the SuperCab gets its own part. SuperCab vs SuperCrew explains why.
The Westin part with an Amazon listing
Our Amazon data holds one Westin listing, and it is not a running board. We also did not search Westin in depth, so more may exist.
Westin
Westin XTS Rock Slider 42-14205 (Tacoma)
The one Westin part with an Amazon listing in our data, and the title names no truck.
Why here: It is the one Westin part in our Amazon data, and we read Westin's page and install sheet for it.
- Fits, according to the listing and maker sheet
- Listing title names no truck. Westin page: 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab Pickup. Westin sheet: 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma (Double Cab Short Bed) (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Rock slider (as titled)
- Material
- E-coated steel (Westin)
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Bolt-on, no drilling per Westin
- Price class
- Premium
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Westin's page and install sheet both name the part number and the truck
- Westin states bolt-on with no drilling and a 3-year warranty
- Named steel: 12-gauge channel and a 1-3/4-inch tube per Westin
Watch out for
- The listing title names no truck, so the fit comes from Westin, not the title
- Westin's sheet says Double Cab Short Bed; its product page does not mention the bed
- No weight rating on Westin's page or sheet, so none is printed here
Best for: 2005-2023 Tacoma Double Cab owners who want a slider, and whose bed matches Westin's sheet.
The title reads only "Westin 42-14205 XTS Rock Slider" and names no truck, so the fit comes from Westin. Its page says 2005-2023 Tacoma Double Cab Pickup. Its install sheet says Double Cab Short Bed, so a long-bed owner should ask first. Westin describes a 12-gauge steel channel with a 1-3/4-inch round tube and a bolt-on step plate, with bolt-on install and no drilling. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
If getting in is your problem, this is not a substitute for a wide board. Rock sliders explains what a slider is for.
Strengths and weak spots
Reasons to buy
- Fit lists by part number on the maker's own site
- Install guides linked per part
- One published load rating, on the Pro-e, stated per side
- Named stainless grade on polished R5, PRO TRAXX and E-Series
Reasons to skip
- Most load ratings not stated on the pages we read
- HDX Drop page names 401 and 410 stainless in different places
- Only one listing in our Amazon data
Buy Westin if you want a maker's paper trail or a named stainless grade, and you do not mind buying off Amazon. Skip it if you want a part you can order straight from an Amazon listing that names your truck.
Alternatives
Powered boards from other makers are on power running boards. Drop pads by truck are on drop steps. Grades are lined up on stainless steel running boards, and nerf bars covers Amazon-listed tube rails with sheets we could read.
Warranty, parts and support
Westin's warranty text on the pages we read covers the original purchaser against manufacturer defects, and terms differ by line and finish. Its category page lists replacement parts, and its install sheets list a customer service line. Your truck's factory warranty is a separate question, covered in do running boards void your warranty. Our sourcing rules are on how we verify fitment.
For makers we could not document as fully, see other running board brands.
Tailgate questions
How much weight can Westin Pro-e running boards hold?
Westin states 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side for the Pro-e, on its own page. Some retailers and an AI answer we checked give double that, and those figures do not match the maker's page. Westin's other pages we read state no load rating, so we print none for those lines.
Are Westin running boards no-drill?
Mostly, by Westin's own wording, but read the line. The Pro-e and Outlaw Drop say no drilling. HDX Drop and PRO TRAXX say no drilling on most applications, which leaves room for exceptions. Westin's XTS install sheet says most of its products do not need drilling. Check the sheet for your part number.
What is the difference between Westin HDX and R5?
HDX Drop bars are one-piece steel or stainless bars with removable die-stamped foot plates, and the HDX Running Board is aluminum with a 5-inch step. R5 is a five-inch step in polished 304 stainless or black aluminum, with XD versions Westin says sit 3 inches lower. Warranties differ too, so compare the line you want.
What warranty does Westin give?
It varies by line and finish. Westin states 5 years on the Pro-e with limited lifetime on its LEDs, 3 years on steel HDX Drop and 5 years on stainless, and lifetime on polished R5, PRO TRAXX and E-Series with 3 years on their black versions. Terms cover defects and exclude road hazards and misuse.
Where this comes from
Keep reading
- Buying guidePower running boardsPower running boards come out with the door and fold away after. See which trucks each listing names, what the install takes and which load figures hold up.
- Question & answerHow Much Weight Can Running Boards Hold? Maker Ratings, Per-Side vs Total, and What Is UnratedThere is no standard weight rating for running boards. What makers actually state, per side or static, and why dealer and listing title figures do not count.
- Buying guideDrop stepsDrop steps put the first step lower. Compare drop-down rails by truck and cab, with fit as the listing states it, what the sheets say and the clearance question.
- Buying guideStainless steel boardsStainless running boards by the grade actually named: 304, 201 or none. What road salt does to stainless, what chrome really is, and which boards fit which truck.
- Buying guideRock slidersRock sliders for trucks, sorted by what the maker says they bolt to. Body Armor and Westin state the frame, Tyger's armor uses the floor panel, Hooke Road is open.
- About usHow we verify fitFit here is what a listing title or maker sheet states, marked as such. What we read, what blocked us and why you still confirm year and cab before you buy.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint