Question & answer
How Much Weight Can Running Boards Hold? Maker Ratings, Per-Side vs Total, and What Is Unrated
There is no single number, because no shared rating exists for pickup running boards. Westin states 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side for its Pro-e. OEDRO states up to 450 lbs per side for one Tacoma part. ARIES rates its ActionTrac at 650 lbs. static, limited to the mounting structure. Most other documents we read state nothing at all.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The straight answer
It depends on the part, and many parts have no rating. In maker documents, Westin states 300 lbs. per side for the Pro-e, OEDRO up to 450 lbs per side for one Tacoma part, and ARIES 650 lbs. static for ActionTrac, limited to the mounting structure. Tyger sheets and AMP power step guides state none. No shared standard exists, so read your own part's document.
The common answer, a range of a few hundred pounds per side, is not something you can use. It mixes makers, bases and sources that do not line up. So we took the opposite approach: a number goes on this page only if the maker's own page or sheet states it, and we read that document ourselves on November 2, 2026.
What makers state
| Maker and part | Wording in the maker's document | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Westin Pro-e power boards | "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side" | Per side |
| OEDRO drop steps, 2024-2026 Tacoma Double Cab | "Each side supports up to 450 lbs" | Per side, this part only |
| ARIES ActionTrac power boards, parts 3048315, 3047952, 3047960 | "Rated for 650 lbs. static weight capacity (limited to mounting structure)" | Static; per side or pair not stated |
| RealTruck VoltStep, parts 20436687T/PC, 20436680T/PC | "Load Rating: 600 lbs. per side" | Per side, these parts only |
| WOLFBOX power boards, Chevy/GMC and Ram store pages | "660 lbs (Per Side)" | Per side; test basis not stated |
| AMP BedStep2 75413-01A, a bed step | "Max Load Capacity: 300lbs." | Not stated; this part only |
| Tyger sheets, such as TG-SS2C35068 | No rating | Not stated |
| AMP power step guides IM76255, IM76151, IM76152, IM77151 and others | No rating | Not stated |
| LUVERNE wheel-to-wheel part pages we read | No rating; only a shipping weight | Not stated |
Do not stack these up as a ranking. They are different products, and the makers do not say they measured them the same way.
How to read a rating
Per side or total. A per-side number and a pair number are not the same claim. A bare figure could be either, so make the maker say which.
Static. ARIES uses that word. Static means a load that is not moving. Coming down hard on a step with a boot is not that, and no document here gives a dynamic number.
Limited by what. ARIES adds "limited to mounting structure". That is the most honest phrase on this list. A step is bolted to your truck, so the rating is only one part of the story, and rust or damage where it mounts is your problem to check. Heavy-duty running boards goes further into what mounts tell you and what they do not.
One part, not the brand. OEDRO's number sits on one Tacoma page, and other OEDRO pages state none. Westin's other lines state none on the pages we read. WOLFBOX's figure sits on its Chevy/GMC and Ram pages, and we could not open its Ford page. Do not carry a figure from one part to another.
Where the numbers we refuse to print come from
You will see plenty of figures that are not on this page. Here is why.
- Listing titles. A seller can put anything in a title. The WOLFBOX F-150* and VEVOR* titles each carry a load figure. Those are title claims. WOLFBOX's page for the Ford part would not open for us, so its Chevy/GMC and Ram figure does not carry over. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
- Dealer pages. Rough Country, Go Rhino and Carr figures reached us only through dealers, and some of them disagree. N-Fab's figure did too: we saw it on retailer listings, and n-fab.com now redirects to RealTruck.
- Bully. BullyUSA.com prints a load and an install time, but its footer calls it an independent enthusiast website. That is not a maker document, so neither is here.
- AMP PowerStep and XL. Figures differ between pages, and the guides we read print none. The PowerStep XL page lays that out.
- AI answers. One told us the Pro-e holds twice what Westin states.
How we verify fitment has the full rule.
Is there a government number?
Only for other trucks. 49 CFR 399.207 says each step must withstand a vertical static load of at least 450 pounds, but its scope is high-profile cab-over trucks and truck-tractors. We found no equivalent for pickups. So do not read that figure as a rule for your F-150, and do not treat any step as certified to it.
What to do
Tyger Auto
Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)
A 3.5-inch rail whose title names the Silverado and Sierra years, the HD split and the cab.
Why here: This is an example of the common case, not a load pick: its sheet tells you the brackets and mounting points, and it states no rating. So nothing here is rated, and you should ask Tyger if the number matters to you.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- The part number in the title (TG-SS2C35068) ties the listing to Tyger's own instruction sheet
- That sheet bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and has no drilling step
- Title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years
Watch out for
- 3.5 inches wide per the title, narrower than the 6-inch boards
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
- The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited; a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering
Best for: Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.
If a rated number is what you are shopping for, the short list is the parts in the table, and you still have to match the part to your truck. If it is not, pick on fit and install, and keep the part bolted tight. Rock sliders are a separate claim again, as rock sliders vs running boards explains. Powered options are on power running boards, and the home page has the fit finder for your truck.
Tailgate questions
Is a running board weight rating per side or for the pair?
It depends on the maker, and you have to read the wording. Westin, OEDRO, WOLFBOX and RealTruck's VoltStep sheet all say per side. ARIES says 650 lbs. static and does not say per side or per pair on the pages we read. If a document gives a bare number with no basis, ask the maker before you treat it as per side.
Why do some websites say the Westin Pro-e holds double what Westin says?
We do not know where the higher figure started, but Westin's own page says 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side. An AI answer we checked and some retailers show twice that. When a dealer page and the maker's page disagree, go with the maker. This site prints only the maker's number.
Is there a legal weight standard for pickup running boards?
We found none. 49 CFR 399.207 requires each step to withstand a 450-pound static load, but that rule covers high-profile cab-over trucks and truck-tractors, not pickups. No maker we read can point to a shared pickup standard. This is what we found and not a legal opinion.
What if my running board has no weight rating?
Not stated means just that. It says nothing either way about what the part can hold, so do not read it as weak or strong. Ask the maker in writing. If your weight, a helper's weight or loading cargo from the step is a real concern, pick a part whose maker publishes a number and states the basis.
Where this comes from
- Westin Automotive: Pro-e power running boards
- OEDRO: 2024-2026 Tacoma Double Cab drop side steps
- ARIES Automotive: ActionTrac powered running boards, part 3048315
- ARIES Automotive: ActionTrac powered running boards, part 3047952
- ARIES Automotive: ActionTrac powered running boards, part 3047960
- RealTruck VoltStep instructions, parts 20436687T/PC and 20436680T/PC (PDF on SEMA Data)
- WOLFBOX Gear: power running boards, Chevy/GMC 1500 and 2500 HD/3500 HD
- WOLFBOX Gear: power running boards, Ram 1500 and TRX
- RealTruck AMP Research installation sheet IM75413, BedStep2 75413-01A (PDF)
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-SS2C35068 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- AMP Research installation guide IM77151 (PDF, SEMA Data)
- Cornell LII: 49 CFR 399.207, truck and truck-tractor access
Keep reading
- Fitment guideHomeFind running boards for trucks by year and cab. Every fit line is marked as the listing or maker states it, with one clear place to start for each truck.
- Buying guideHeavy-duty boardsHeavy duty on a running board is a sales word, not a rating. What makers actually state on load, what frame mounted means, and which parts are titled for HD trucks.
- About usHow we verify fitFit here is what a listing title or maker sheet states, marked as such. What we read, what blocked us and why you still confirm year and cab before you buy.
- Buying guidePower running boardsPower running boards come out with the door and fold away after. See which trucks each listing names, what the install takes and which load figures hold up.
- ComparisonSliders vs running boardsRock sliders protect the rocker panels on the trail. Running boards and nerf bars help you climb in. How mounts, weight and step room differ, and which job is yours.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint