Buying guide
Heavy-Duty Running Boards: Frame Mounts, Rated Load and What 'Heavy Duty' Does Not Promise
Heavy duty on a running board is a sales word, not a rating. No shared standard for pickup steps turned up in our search, and most makers we read state no load at all. So ask three questions: what does the maker's document say it holds, what does it bolt to, and is it listed for your truck? For a Super Duty or F-150 SuperCrew, start with the 6-inch Tyger Riser.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
Heavy duty is not a rating, so go by what the maker states. Westin gives 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side for its Pro-e, while the Tyger sheets we read give none and attach to the body. Our pick for a 2017-up Super Duty or 2015-up F-150 SuperCrew is the Tyger Riser 6-inch. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

People use "heavy duty" for two different things: a tough step, or a step for a heavy-duty truck like a 2500 or F-350. The first has no definition behind it. The second is just a question of what the listing names. We take them in that order, then point you to the part.
Tyger Auto
Tyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew)
A 6-inch step with a maker sheet that deals with Ford's aluminum body.
Why here: It is a 6-inch step whose title names the F-250 and F-350, and whose maker sheet we could read. It states no load rating, so nothing here is rated.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Running board / step bar (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Bolt-on to factory studs with plastic retainers; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Part number (TG-RS6F60118) ties it to Tyger's instruction sheet
- Sheet uses plastic retainers to prevent corrosion between the aluminum body panel and steel brackets
- No drilling step in the sheet
Watch out for
- Not for the SuperCab per the title
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
- The sheet says to clear paint or undercoating from the studs first
Best for: SuperCrew owners on the 2015-up F-150 who want a wide step and a clear install sheet.
"Our pick" means we read a maker sheet for the part. It does not mean this part carries more load than another, because neither the title nor the sheet says.
What makers actually state
Here is how the phrase plays out in the documents we read on 2 November 2026:
| Maker document | Wording | Load figure stated |
|---|---|---|
| Westin Pro-e, maker page | "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side" | 300 lb per side |
| OEDRO, one 2024-2026 Tacoma page | "support up to 450 lbs per side" | 450 lb per side |
| Westin HDX Drop, maker page | "heavy-duty step plate" | None |
| OEDRO, 2019-2026 Silverado and Sierra page | "heavy-duty carbon steel", "High Load Capacity" | None |
| Five Tyger install sheets | No load wording | None |
Look at the third and fourth rows. Those pages use the words heavy duty and give you no load number at all. And a figure only means something on the maker's own basis, which is why we do not rank these against each other. A product page is also not a test report, and we run no tests.
We leave out two kinds of number. Seller titles print load figures with no stated basis, and dealer pages disagree with each other, so neither gets printed here. WOLFBOX's page for the F-150 and Super Duty part below would not open for us, so we print no figure for that part. Its Chevy/GMC and Ram pages are a different matter, and that figure stays with those parts. Ask for the document.
How much weight running boards can hold goes deeper on the numbers.
What frame mounted does and does not tell you
Plenty of people search for frame-mounted steps on the assumption that they are stronger. Here is what we can back up.
The sheets we read attach to the body. Tyger's Riser sheet uses factory studs in the body panel and on the pinch trim. Its Rider sheets use threaded holes along the bottom edge of the body, studs on the panel's inner sidewall, clip nuts, or the pinch weld. None mentions the frame.
Most maker pages do not say. Westin's HDX Drop page says vehicle-specific brackets position the bars close to the rocker panels, and it does not name the frame. Its Pro-e page says bolt-on with vehicle-specific brackets.
The frame mounts we saw stated were on rock sliders. Westin's install sheet for its XTS slider puts it on the frame rail of a Tacoma. Body Armor 4x4 and C4 Fabrication also describe frame-mounted Tacoma sliders, but we read those only as search excerpts, because the pages would not open for us. If you want frame-mounted protection, you probably want rock sliders, and rock sliders vs running boards sets out the trade.
We found no Amazon-listed step in our data whose title states a frame mount. That does not mean none exists. And a frame mount describes the attachment. It is not a rating in itself.
Which part for which heavy-duty truck
If you came here because you drive a 2500, 3500, F-250 or F-350, the title decides it. Fit below is according to the listing, read 2 November 2026. Each of these trucks has its own page: Silverado HD, Ram 2500 and Super Duty. If you are unsure how to read a title, see how to check a listing fits.
If you drive a 2017-up F-250 or F-350 SuperCrew, or a 2015-up F-150 SuperCrew → Tyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew)
Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2020-up Silverado or Sierra 2500 or 3500HD crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)
Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a textured rail on the same GM crew cabs → Tyger Trax (2019+ GM) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a new-body Ram 1500 crew cab → Tyger Trax (2019+ Ram 1500) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a power step on a 2021-up F-150 SuperCrew → WOLFBOX Power (2021+ F-150) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2021-2027 F150 Supercrew Cab | 2021-2027 F150 Lightning EV/F250/F350/F450/F550. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a power step on a Ram 2500 or 3500 crew cab → Rough Country Power (Ram 2500/3500) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: Ram 2500/3500 (2010-2026) Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive something else
| Spec sheet | Our pick: F-150 SuperCrewTyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew) | Our pick: Silverado and Sierra crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM) | Listing data onlyTyger Trax (2019+ GM) | Listing data onlyTyger Trax (2019+ Ram 1500) | Listing data onlyWOLFBOX Power (2021+ F-150) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | 2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab | 2021-2027 F150 Supercrew Cab | 2021-2027 F150 Lightning EV/F250/F350/F450/F550 |
| Style | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Powered retractable step (as titled) |
| Material | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Bolt-on to factory studs with plastic retainers; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended | Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | No-drill (listing title) |
| Price class | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range | Premium |
| Best for | SuperCrew owners on the 2015-up F-150 who want a wide step and a clear install sheet. | Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet. | GM crew cab owners comparing Tyger rails. | New-body Ram 1500 crew owners comparing Tyger rails. | 2021-up F-150 SuperCrew owners who accept seller claims without a maker sheet. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
The parts, one by one
Tyger Riser 6-inch
The title reads "2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD", Supercrew Cab. Part number TG-RS6F60118 leads to Tyger's sheet. It uses factory studs, front and rear brackets plus 6 support brackets, and plastic retainers that Tyger says prevent corrosion between the aluminum body panel and steel brackets. The sheet has no drilling step, and it says assistance is recommended.
Strength: a wide step with a real sheet. Weakness: no load rating, and the title says Supercrew, so it does not name your SuperCab.
Tyger Rider 3.5-inch for GM
This rail is titled for 2019-2026 Silverado and Sierra 1500 and 2020-2027 2500 and 3500HD, Crew Cab. Tyger's sheet for TG-SS2C35068 uses 8 brackets on threaded holes behind plugs. It has no drilling step.
Strength: the part number leads to the sheet, and the title spells out the HD years. Weakness: at 3.5 inches, it is narrow, and it states no load.
Tyger Trax for GM and Ram
The Trax comes as a textured black rail. The GM part* is titled for the same 2019-up crew cabs as the Rider, under TG-TX7C29758. The Ram part* is titled "2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic)", Crew Cab, under TG-TX7D29398.
Be clear on what that means. Neither title says heavy duty or names a frame mount, and we could not read a sheet for either. These parts are options if you like the look and your truck is named.
Strength: clear year and cab wording, and a Tyger part number. Weakness: listing data only.
WOLFBOX power step for F-150 and Super Duty
The WOLFBOX* is a powered step titled "2021-2027 F150 Supercrew Cab | 2021-2027 F150 Lightning EV/F250/F350/F450/F550". The title states no-drill and a 5-year warranty, and those are the seller's words. The title gives no cab for the bigger trucks. Price class: premium.
Strength: names trucks most parts skip. Weakness: we read no maker sheet, and "power" is a different trade from "heavy duty": a motor and a harder install.
Rough Country power step for Ram 2500 and 3500
The Rough Country* is titled for "Ram 2500/3500 (2010-2026) Crew Cab", with dual motors and LED step lights. Rough Country's own page would not open for us, so we print no load figure and no install details. See power running boards for how powered steps compare.
Strength: a powered option named for the HD Ram. Weakness: listing data only.
What to check before you buy
| Question | What to do |
|---|---|
| What is the rated load? | Ask for the maker's document. Per side or total? Stated how? |
| What does it bolt to? | Read the sheet. Body, pinch weld and frame are different things |
| Is your truck named? | Year, cab and any 1500 versus HD split. On the Westin Pro-e, footnotes also exclude air suspension and chassis cabs with a DEF tank |
| Does it need drilling? | Named per part. Tyger's older Ram sheet warns "DRILLING MAY BE REQUIRED" |
| What about the finish? | We found no corrosion measurements. Nothing here is called corrosion-proof |
Mistakes that cost you
- Paying for the words. "Heavy duty" with no number is an adjective.
- Comparing numbers without the basis. Per side, per board and total are different figures.
- Trusting a title number. A figure in a seller's title with no document behind it is the seller's word.
- Assuming HD truck means HD step. A title that lists a 3500 tells you where it is listed, and nothing about how it is built.
- Buying a step for a slider's job. If you hit rocks, read the slider comparison first.
What do you drive?
Start with the truck. We only show what a listing title or maker states for it.
Bottom line
Nothing on this page is certified heavy duty, because nobody we read certifies it. Pick the part whose paperwork you can see: on an F-150 or Super Duty SuperCrew, the Tyger Riser 6-inch*, and on 2020-up GM HD crew cabs, the Tyger Rider*. If a rated load is your deciding factor, ask the maker in writing before you order. The truck picker and all trucks take you to the rest, and how we verify fitment explains our rules. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Tailgate questions
How much weight do heavy-duty running boards hold?
There is no figure that goes with the label. Westin states 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side for its Pro-e. OEDRO's page for one Tacoma part says up to 450 lbs per side. The Tyger sheets we read state nothing. Those numbers belong to those parts, on their makers' stated basis, and do not transfer to anything else.
What does frame mounted mean on a running board?
It means the brackets bolt to the truck's frame rather than to the body. It tells you what the part attaches to, and it does not tell you what it holds. The five Tyger sheets we read attach to the body, such as threaded holes, studs or the pinch weld. The makers we saw stating a frame mount were selling rock sliders.
Are heavy-duty running boards the same as rock sliders?
No. A running board is a step that helps you climb in. A rock slider protects the rocker panels on the trail, and Westin says sliders weigh 2-3 times as much as boards and step bars. Sellers sometimes mix the words, so read what the maker says about the job and the mount.
Do 2500 and 3500 trucks need special running boards?
They need a part listed for them, because trucks in one family change in different years. One Tyger title says 2019-2026 for the Silverado and Sierra 1500 and 2020-2027 for the 2500 and 3500HD. Being an HD truck does not mean the step is heavier built. The title tells you only what it is listed for.
Is there a legal standard for running board strength?
We found none for pickups. 49 CFR 399.207 sets a 450-pound static load for steps, but it covers high-profile cab-over trucks and truck-tractors, not pickups. So no maker we read can point to a shared pickup standard. This is what we found, not a legal opinion.
Where this comes from
- Westin Automotive: Pro-e power running boards
- Westin Automotive: HDX Drop nerf bars
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-RS6F60118 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-SS2C35068 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- OEDRO: 2024-2026 Tacoma Double Cab drop side steps
- Cornell LII: 49 CFR 399.207, truck and truck-tractor access
Keep reading
- Question & answerHow Much Weight Can Running Boards Hold? Maker Ratings, Per-Side vs Total, and What Is UnratedThere is no standard weight rating for running boards. What makers actually state, per side or static, and why dealer and listing title figures do not count.
- Buying guideRock slidersRock sliders for trucks, sorted by what the maker says they bolt to. Body Armor and Westin state the frame, Tyger's armor uses the floor panel, Hooke Road is open.
- ComparisonSliders vs running boardsRock sliders protect the rocker panels on the trail. Running boards and nerf bars help you climb in. How mounts, weight and step room differ, and which job is yours.
- CompatibilitySilverado / Sierra HDRunning boards for the Chevy 2500 and Sierra HD split at 2019 and 2020, a year after the 1500. What the titles state, and why a 2019 HD goes with the older trucks.
- CompatibilityRam 2500 / 3500Ram 2500 and 3500 running boards by year and cab. Crew Cab has plenty of listings, Mega Cab has none in our data, and some titles stop at 2018 or 2024.
- CompatibilitySuper DutyF-250 and F-350 Super Duty running boards by year block and cab: Crew, SuperCab, Regular. What listing titles and Ford's catalog state, with factory step bars too.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint