Explainer
Cab Length or Wheel to Wheel? How Cab Style and Bed Length Decide Which Boards Fit
Cab length running boards run along the cab, so your cab decides the fit. Wheel-to-wheel boards run from the front wheel to the rear wheel, across the cab and the bed, so your bed length has to match too. Most listings we read are cut by cab, year and truck, and name no bed at all.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
Cab-length boards follow the cab, so the part depends on your truck, year and cab. Wheel-to-wheel boards run from the front wheel to the rear wheel, so they also depend on your bed length, and ARIES says they cost more. Cab names change between makers, so go by the name in the listing and your own doors. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
A running board is a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out. Each one is built for specific model years and cabs, and sometimes bed lengths. This page explains which of those matters when, so you can read a title without guessing. If you already know your truck, the fast way is all trucks, or the picker on the home page.
Cab length vs wheel to wheel
ARIES draws the line in its truck cab guide.
| Cab length | Wheel to wheel | |
|---|---|---|
| Runs | Along the length of the cab | From the front wheel to the rear wheel |
| Depends on | Truck, year, cab | Truck, year, cab and bed |
| Reach | Front and rear door entry | More coverage, and it can be a platform for reaching the bed or roof |
| Stick-out | Looks more integrated | May protrude further from the truck |
| Cost, per ARIES | Usually less | Typically more |
None of the listing titles in our product data use the words "cab length" or "wheel to wheel". A title usually gives a cab and leaves the length unsaid. So if the reach matters to you, ask the seller how far the part runs, or look for it in a maker sheet.

Why the cab decides so much
The cab sets how long the board has to be. Ford's 2026 F-150 sheet shows it in numbers: the back of the cab sits 121.2 inches from the front bumper on a Regular Cab, 143.8 on a SuperCab and about 155.6 on a SuperCrew.
RealTruck's guide for the AMP PowerStep 76255-01A shows the same thing another way. One board is 79 inches for a Chevy or GMC Crew Cab, gets trimmed 10 inches to 69 for a Double Cab, and 29 inches to 50 for a Single Cab. Those are that part's numbers on those trucks, and they do not carry over to anything else.
Cab names are not universal
Per ARIES, a regular cab has two front-hinging doors and usually no space behind the row. An extended cab reaches its back seat through smaller rear doors or by moving the front seats forward. A crew cab typically has four full-size doors. ARIES says its table is only there to aid understanding, and that it does not imply similar designs across makes.
| Maker and truck | Regular | Extended | Crew |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ford F-150 | Regular | SuperCab | SuperCrew |
| Ford Super Duty | Regular | SuperCab | Crew |
| Chevy Silverado, GMC Sierra | Regular | Double | Crew |
| Chevy Colorado, GMC Canyon | Regular | Extended | Crew |
| Ram 1500 | Regular | Quad | Crew, Mega |
| Toyota Tundra | Regular | Double | CrewMax |
| Toyota Tacoma | Regular | Access, XtraCab | Double |
ARIES attaches year ranges to some of these names, so read its table for older trucks. Look at the last two rows. "Double" sits in different columns for two trucks from the same maker. That is the mistake to avoid, and the explainer on extended cab vs crew cab walks through it.
When bed length comes in
A cab-length part has no reason to know your bed. Ford's F-150 sheet makes the point: a SuperCrew has about the same bumper-to-cab distance with a 5.5-foot or a 6.5-foot box, but the wheelbase goes from 145.4 to 157.2 inches. The cab stays put while the distance to the rear wheel grows. We use that to explain the logic only, not to state fit for any part. We found no maker text that states a rule across models.
Beds as makers state them. Where a site blocked us, we say so.
| Truck | Bed lengths | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 F-150 Regular Cab | 6.5 feet or 8 feet | Ford sheet |
| 2026 F-150 SuperCab | 6.5 feet | Ford sheet |
| 2026 F-150 SuperCrew | 5.5 feet or 6.5 feet | Ford sheet |
| 2026 F-250 Regular Cab | 8 feet | Ford page |
| 2026 F-250 SuperCab and Crew | 6.75 feet or 8 feet | Ford page |
| 2026 Ram 1500 | 5 feet 7 inches and 6 feet 4 inches; Quad Cab pairing unverified | Ram brochure, search excerpt only |
| 2026 Tacoma | Double 5 or 6 feet; XtraCab 6 feet | Toyota, search excerpt only |
| 2026 Tundra | SR5 Double Cab shown with 6.5 feet; other pairings not confirmed | Cars.com; Toyota blocked our reader |
| Silverado 1500 | Not printed; Chevrolet's page was inconsistent | Needs a recheck |
Where parts name a bed, you have to match it. Ford sells "F-150 SuperCrew 2021-2027 Extended Length Step Bars for 5.5 ft Bed", and says that part is not compatible with the Lobo. Retailer excerpts show Luverne wheel-to-wheel boards listed for a 2019-2026 Ram 1500 with a 6-foot-4 bed and for 2017-2026 F-250 and F-350 trucks with 6-foot-9 and 8-foot beds. We saw those as search excerpts and could not open the pages, so confirm them on the listing.
How to read a title against your truck
Get your truck's exact details
Write down your make, model, model year, cab name from your paperwork and your bed length.Look at your doors
Note whether you have two doors, smaller rear doors or four full-size doors, because cab names differ between makers.Read the year range
Find your year in the title, and look for any exclusion such as Classic or LD.Match the cab word
Find your cab name in the title. If it names another cab, it does not state your truck.Check for a bed length
If the title names a bed or says wheel to wheel, match it to yours. If it names none, ask the seller how far the part runs.Confirm on the listing
Use the part number to look for the maker's sheet, then confirm your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
A title that does the job
A good title gives you years, cab and part number without you having to dig. This Tyger Rider title separates the 1500 years from the 2500 and 3500HD years. It says Crew Cab, and the part number leads to a maker sheet.
Tyger Auto
Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)
A 3.5-inch rail whose title names the Silverado and Sierra years, the HD split and the cab.
Why here: We use it here as an example of a title you can read against your truck, because it gives the years, the cab and a part number.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- The part number in the title (TG-SS2C35068) ties the listing to Tyger's own instruction sheet
- That sheet bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and has no drilling step
- Title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years
Watch out for
- 3.5 inches wide per the title, narrower than the 6-inch boards
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
- The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited; a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering
Best for: Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.
What it does not do is mention the 2019 LD. The aluminum GM crew listing* goes further and writes "Excl 2019 Ld/Lt", with listing data only. Reading one title rarely tells you the whole story, so compare a couple. The Ram 1500 and F-150 pages show the same habit on other trucks.
Where to go next
Ready to buy? Best running boards sorts our picks by truck and style. For how we handle what titles leave open, see how we verify fitment. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Cab names are sorted on cab types, and boards that run past the cab are on wheel-to-wheel running boards.
Tailgate questions
What is the difference between cab length and wheel-to-wheel running boards?
ARIES describes cab-length boards as running along the length of the cab, and wheel-to-wheel boards as running from the front wheel to the rear wheel. It says wheel-to-wheel gives more coverage and can act as a platform for reaching the bed, may protrude further from the truck, and typically costs more.
Does bed length matter for running boards?
For cab-length boards, the titles we read name no bed at all. It matters when a part runs past the cab. Ford lists step bars for the F-150 SuperCrew specifically for a 5.5-foot bed, and retailer excerpts show Luverne wheel-to-wheel boards listed by bed length. If a title names a bed, it has to match yours.
Is a Double Cab the same on every truck?
No. ARIES lists the Silverado Double, Sierra Double and Tundra Double under extended cabs, and the Tacoma Double under crew cabs. It also says its table is only an aid to understanding. Compare the name in the listing with your own doors, and do not carry a meaning over from another truck.
How do I know which cab I have?
Look at your doors. ARIES describes a regular cab as two front-hinging doors with no space behind the row, an extended cab as reaching the back seat through smaller rear doors or by moving the front seats, and a crew cab as typically four full-size doors. Then confirm the maker's name for that cab in your paperwork.
Do running boards fit all trucks?
No. The listings we read are cut by truck, year block and cab, and some rule out a body style by name. One Tyger title covers the 2019-up Ram 1500 crew cab and excludes the 2019-2024 Classic. A fit line here repeats what the source states, and it is not a guarantee.
Where this comes from
- ARIES Automotive: truck cab guide (cab names, cab length vs wheel to wheel)
- Ford: 2026 F-150 technical specifications (PDF)
- Ford: 2026 F-250 XL, cab and bed lengths
- Ford Accessories: F-150 SuperCrew extended length step bars for 5.5 ft bed
- RealTruck AMP Research installation guide IM76255 (PDF)
- Cars.com: 2026 Toyota Tundra SR5 Double Cab 6.5-foot bed specs
Keep reading
- ExplainerExtended vs crew cabA crew cab typically has four full-size doors. An extended cab has smaller rear doors or a seat-forward layout. See each maker's names and why boards don't swap.
- CompatibilityAll trucksWhich running boards fit your truck depends on model, year block, cab and sometimes bed. See the splits listings state for each truck and where to start.
- ComparisonBest running boardsThe best truck running boards are the ones listed for your year and cab. Our picks by truck and use, with no lab scores, only published fit and maker sheets.
- CompatibilityFord F-150F-150 running boards by year and cab: SuperCrew, SuperCab, Regular. What the titles state, what Ford's sheet says about the body, and factory vs aftermarket.
- CompatibilityRam 1500Ram 1500 running boards by body and cab. New-body and Classic boards are separate listings, and power steps split again. Fit quoted from titles and maker sheets.
- About usHow we verify fitFit here is what a listing title or maker sheet states, marked as such. What we read, what blocked us and why you still confirm year and cab before you buy.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint