Buying guide
Hitch, Tire and Tailgate Steps: Cheap Access Without Touching the Cab
A hitch step slides into your receiver and gets you to the bed from behind. A tire step hangs on a tire and gets you to the engine bay or the roof, then comes off. Neither touches the cab, and neither will help you climb into the seat. Westin's sheet covers its hitch step on 2-inch receivers, and we found no load rating for any of these in a maker document we read.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
Buy by what you need to reach. A hitch step goes in the receiver and helps at the bed. A tire step hangs on a tire for the engine bay or roof. Tailgate steps are mostly factory features. Westin's PRO TRAXX 5 hitch step is listed for all 2-inch receivers. Check the receiver or tire size on the listing, along with your exact year and cab, before you buy.
Not every climb starts at the cab door. If you're reaching over the bed rail, checking oil on a tall truck or tying down a load on the roof, a running board does nothing for you. These steps are the budget end of the category, and they don't need brackets on your rocker panels. For the bigger picture, truck steps sorts every type by where your boot needs to go.
Which one for which job
| Step | Where it goes | Gets you to | What it asks of your truck |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hitch step | In the receiver | Bed, from the rear | A receiver of the size stated |
| Tire step | Hangs on a tire | Engine bay, roof, fender | Tire width within the stated limit |
| Tailgate step | Built into the gate or bumper | Bed | Usually a factory feature |
| Bed step | Side of the bed | Bed, from the side | See bed steps |
If you came here for folding running boards that open by themselves, those are power running boards. If you want a ladder that hangs off the tailgate, bed steps covers tailgate ladders.
Hitch steps
The best paperwork we found here belongs to Westin. Its PRO TRAXX 5 sheet covers parts 21-50010 and 21-50015 and states "Universal Fit on all 2" Receivers". It's a real install, if a short one: an anti-rattle bracket, three holes for adjustment, M10 hardware torqued to 40 ft-lbs and an M12 bolt to snug it up. Three things to catch:
- The pin is not in the box. You secure the bracket "using the receiver pin (not included)".
- The fasteners need checking. Westin says to double check all fasteners before first use and periodically after that.
- No load rating. The sheet gives none for the step. Its general warning says never to exceed the vehicle maker's maximum tow and weight rating.
Westin's product page adds, "This product is universal fit. Please check specifications before purchase." Its hitch step category also lists HDX Drop, HDX Stainless Drop, R5 and Grate Steps versions, which we did not read in detail. We have no Amazon listing for these in our data, so we can't link one.
APS is the other maker we read. Its hitch step page lists a Universal Class 3 Hitch Step that fits all 2-inch receiver hitches, 12 inches wide, in two versions: HS03CAA2B with pin lock, stabilizer and hardware, and HS19CAA2B without. Look at that split before you compare listings, since one version leaves you buying the hardware. It states no load rating.
The one hitch step in our Amazon data is the 3-in-1 tow hitch step*. It's listing data only, according to the seller, so it isn't a recommendation. Its title names no brand or receiver size. The title also gives a tow figure. We don't print it, because a tow number from a seller doesn't tell you what the step holds with you on it. Check your receiver size on the listing, along with your exact year and cab, before you buy.
Brand not in title
3-in-1 hitch step (no brand in title)
A step sold for the hitch, with no brand and no receiver size in the title.
Why here: Shown because it is the only hitch step in our Amazon data, not because we recommend it. The title names no brand or receiver size.
- Fits, according to the listing
- Tow hitch (no truck, year or receiver size in the title) (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Hitch step (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Not stated in the title
- Price class
- Budget
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Title says it is an anti-slip tow hitch step
Watch out for
- No brand in the title
- No receiver size in the title
- Listing data only, according to the seller; the title's tow figure is not printed here and no step rating was read
Best for: Owners who want a step at the tailgate and can confirm the receiver size on the listing.
Listing data only: We only have the Amazon listing title for this one, no maker sheet. It is an option, not a recommendation.
Tire steps
A tire step is the simplest of the lot: no bolts, no brackets, and it stays in the toolbox until you need it. Our data has two, and both are listing data only.
Powerbuilt
Powerbuilt tire step
A folding step that hangs on a tire, for reaching the engine bay or the roof.
Fits, according to the listing: Truck, SUV, Semi; any diameter tire up to 13 in. wide (no year or cab in the title)
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Listing data only
Brand not in title
Folding tire step (no brand in title)
A folding step that mounts on a tire, sold with no brand or tire size in the title.
Fits, according to the listing: Truck SUV RV (no year, cab or tire size in the title)
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Listing data only
The Powerbuilt* title carries a part number, 647596EC, says it adjusts to fit any diameter tire up to 13 inches wide and says it folds flat for storage. So measure your tire first, because a wider off-road tire may rule it out. Powerbuilt's own product page refused our requests, so we print no load figure from the title.
The folding tire step* title names no brand and no tire size. It says only that it folds, adjusts and mounts on a tire on a truck, SUV or RV. That's thin, so you'd need the tire limit from the seller before ordering. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Tailgate and bumper steps
Searches for truck tailgate steps mostly lead back to the factory. A 2019 Cars.com comparison describes three:
| Truck in that article | Step it describes |
|---|---|
| Ford F-150 | Integrated bed step in the tailgate, slides out with a grab handle arm and a single pullout step |
| Ram 1500 | "Hidden cantilevered step" under the bumper, part of the Multifunction Tailgate |
| GMC Sierra 1500 | MultiPro Tailgate, with an inner gate that drops with the main gate to make a long footstep |
That article is years old, and options change by trim and model year, so check your own window sticker or ask your dealer. These parts come with the truck's tailgate setup, so we have no listing to point you to. As for aftermarket bumper steps, we read no maker document, so we state nothing about them.
What to get right
- Receiver size. Westin and APS both state 2-inch. Any title that leaves this out hasn't told you it fits your hitch.
- What's in the box. Pin, stabilizer and hardware vary by version.
- Load. No shared rating exists for pickup steps. How much weight can running boards hold? explains why we print only maker figures.
- Not a way into the cab. For that, go to side steps, or start with your truck under all trucks or on the truck picker.
Bottom line
We have no pick here, as the Amazon listings in this group have no maker sheet behind them that we could read. If you want documents first, Westin's PRO TRAXX 5 sheet is the most complete. If you want the simplest fix for reaching under a hood, a tire step is the one to look at, once you've measured your tire. How we verify fitment has the rules we use here.
Tailgate questions
Do hitch steps fit any truck?
They fit a receiver, not a truck. Westin lists its PRO TRAXX 5 hitch step as "Universal Fit on all 2" Receivers", and APS lists its Class 3 hitch step as fitting all 2-inch receiver hitches. So check your receiver size first. Then check what the bumper and any tow gear leave room for, because neither sheet covers that for your truck.
How much weight can a hitch step hold?
We print no figure. The Westin sheet for PRO TRAXX 5 and the APS category page we read state no load rating for the step. Westin's general warning says never to exceed the vehicle maker's tow and weight rating. Ask the maker for the rating on your exact part before you rely on a number from a title.
Can you tow with a hitch step installed?
Nothing we read says you can, and a step in the receiver takes the spot your ball mount needs. One listing in our data calls itself a 3-in-1 tow hitch step and gives a tow figure in its title, but we read no maker document behind it. Treat that as the seller's claim, and ask before you hook up a trailer.
Are tire steps safe?
We can't vouch for that, because we run no tests and read no maker sheet for one. Our Powerbuilt listing title limits it to tires up to 13 inches wide, so check your tire first. Remember it hangs on the tire, so take it off before you move the truck, and follow the instructions that come with it.
What about a tailgate step?
Mostly it's a factory feature. Cars.com described Ford's as a step that slides out of the tailgate with a grab handle, Ram's as a step under the bumper tied to its Multifunction Tailgate, and GMC's MultiPro as a smaller inner gate that drops to make a footstep. That was in 2019, so check your model.
Where this comes from
Keep reading
- Buying guideTruck stepsTruck steps sorted by what you need to reach: the cab, the bed or the engine bay. Side, drop, hoop, power, bed and tire steps, and what each maker puts in writing.
- Buying guideBed stepsTruck bed steps by truck: AMP BedStep part numbers, Westin side bed steps, and a tailgate ladder, with what each maker says about drilling and load.
- Buying guideSide stepsTruck side steps come as rails, 6-inch boards, drop steps and power steps. Compare styles by year and cab, with fit marked as the listing or maker states it.
- Question & answerHow Much Weight Can Running Boards Hold? Maker Ratings, Per-Side vs Total, and What Is UnratedThere is no standard weight rating for running boards. What makers actually state, per side or static, and why dealer and listing title figures do not count.
- About usHow we verify fitFit here is what a listing title or maker sheet states, marked as such. What we read, what blocked us and why you still confirm year and cab before you buy.
- CompatibilityAll trucksWhich running boards fit your truck depends on model, year block, cab and sometimes bed. See the splits listings state for each truck and where to start.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint