Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

Buying guide

Hoop Steps for Trucks: Carr, Bully and DNA on Fit, Drilling and What Nobody States

A hoop step is a single step at the door, not a full-length board, and you should expect to drill. Our pick is the Carr Hoop II 103991, because Carr's sheet lists trucks by year and spells out the holes. Bully and DNA titles name truck makes only, so with those you have to confirm your truck before you buy.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 7 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Straight answer

Hoop or stirrup steps put one small step at a door. Our pick is the Carr Hoop II 103991: its sheet lists applications by make and year and calls for drilling through the pinch weld. Bully and DNA titles name makes, not models or years. No maker document we read states a load, so we print none. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What's on this page
AI-generated illustrative image: a work boot on a plain black step of a dusty pickup, not a specific part
Image: AI-generated (OpenAI)

A running board is a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out. A hoop step, or stirrup step, does that job at one spot: a small hanging step at the door, sold in pairs. The idea is simple, and on the one maker sheet we could read, it means taking a drill to your truck. Know that before anything else.

Fit sheetOur pick: hoop stepsAd

Carr

Carr Hoop II 103991 (pair)

A black hoop step pair with a maker sheet that lists its trucks by year and spells out the drilling.

Why here: It is the only hoop step here with a maker sheet we could read, and that sheet lists trucks by year and walks through every hole.

Fits, according to the listing and maker sheet
Listing title names no truck. Carr sheet 103991 lists, among others: 04-14 F150 New Body Style; 88-18 Sierra/Silverado 1500; 88-19 Sierra/Silverado 2500-3500; 02-09 Dodge F/S Pickup (will not fit 09 1500) (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Hoop step pair (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Carr sheet: drill 5/16-inch holes through the pinch weld and 1/8-inch holes into body metal; no time stated
Warranty
Limited Lifetime on finish and structure; labor not covered (Carr sheet)
Price class
Budget

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • Carr's sheet lists applications by make and year, which no other hoop step title here does
  • The sheet states Limited Lifetime on finish and structure

Watch out for

  • The title names no truck, so the fit comes from Carr's sheet, not the title
  • The sheet calls for drilling through the pinch weld and into body metal
  • Warranty excludes labor and installation per the sheet
  • No weight rating on the sheet, so none is printed here

Best for: Owners of a truck on Carr's application list who want a step at the door and are willing to drill.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

Which hoop step?

Nothing here is fitted to a truck by its title. So the first question is how much you need in writing.

What matters most?

  • If your truck is on Carr's list and you want a maker sheet in hand → Carr Hoop II 103991 (pair)

    Fits, according to the listing: Listing title names no truck. Carr sheet 103991 lists, among others: 04-14 F150 New Body Style; 88-18 Sierra/Silverado 1500; 88-19 Sierra/Silverado 2500-3500; 02-09 Dodge F/S Pickup (will not fit 09 1500). Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you want black at the budget end and can get your truck confirmed → Bully BBS-1103 side step pair · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Various Trucks from Chevy (Chevrolet), Ford, Toyota, GMC, Dodge RAM and Jeep (no models, years or cabs in the title). Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you want polished metal and can get your truck confirmed → Bully AS-600 Polished (set of 2) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Universal Fit ... for Trucks from Chevy (Chevrolet), Ford, Toyota, GMC, Dodge RAM, Jeep (no model, years or cab in the title). Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you want the dimensions in the title → DNA Motoring Hoop Steps SSTEP-SS · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Universal Side Step Compatible With Chevy GMC Dodge Pickup Trucks SUVs (no model, years or cab in the title). Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you want a long platform and no drilling step

Compared

Read 2 November 2026. Carr's fit line comes from its sheet. The others are title wording.

Comparison: Carr Hoop II 103991 (pair), Bully BBS-1103 side step pair, Bully AS-600 Polished (set of 2), DNA Motoring Hoop Steps SSTEP-SS
Spec sheetOur pick: hoop stepsCarr Hoop II 103991 (pair)Listing data onlyBully BBS-1103 side step pairListing data onlyBully AS-600 Polished (set of 2)Listing data onlyDNA Motoring Hoop Steps SSTEP-SS
Fits, according to the listingListing title names no truck. Carr sheet 103991 lists, among others: 04-14 F150 New Body Style; 88-18 Sierra/Silverado 1500; 88-19 Sierra/Silverado 2500-3500; 02-09 Dodge F/S Pickup (will not fit 09 1500)Various Trucks from Chevy (Chevrolet), Ford, Toyota, GMC, Dodge RAM and Jeep (no models, years or cabs in the title)Universal Fit ... for Trucks from Chevy (Chevrolet), Ford, Toyota, GMC, Dodge RAM, Jeep (no model, years or cab in the title)Universal Side Step Compatible With Chevy GMC Dodge Pickup Trucks SUVs (no model, years or cab in the title)
StyleHoop step pair (as titled)Individual side step, pair (as titled)Side step set of 2 (as titled)Hoop step pair (as titled)
MaterialNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titlePolished aluminum (title)Aluminum (title)
Weight ratingNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
InstallCarr sheet: drill 5/16-inch holes through the pinch weld and 1/8-inch holes into body metal; no time statedNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Price classBudgetBudgetBudgetBudget
Best forOwners of a truck on Carr's application list who want a step at the door and are willing to drill.Owners with a truck no vehicle-specific listing names, who are ready to confirm the mounting themselves first.Owners who want polished metal and can confirm the mount for their truck.Owners who want dimensions in writing and can confirm the mount for their truck.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Fit and specs as the listing title or maker sheet states them. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. Swipe sideways on a phone.

Carr Hoop II 103991

Carr Pattern Co.'s instruction sheet covers part numbers 103991, 103992 and 103997. The Amazon title names no truck, so the sheet is where the fit comes from. Here are the pickup lines we read, in Carr's own shorthand:

MakeLines on the sheet
Ford04-14 F150 New Body Style; 04 F150 Heritage; 97-04 F150 F/S PU; 97-03 F150 Quad Cab; 01-03 Super Crew
Chevy/GMC88-18 Sierra/Silverado 1500; 88-19 Sierra/Silverado 2500-3500; 88-18 F/S Crew Cab all doors; 02-22 Denali Truck only; 02-13 Avalanche; 73-87 Pickup
Dodge02-09 F/S Pickup, "Will not fit 09 1500"; 02-09 Quad Cab; 06-09 Mega Cab; 94-02 F/S PU; 98-02 F/S Quad; 74-93 F/S PU
Toyota74-88 Pickup; 89-95 Pickup
Nissan98-01 Frontier; 86-97 Hrdbody PU; 72-86 Pickup

This sheet shows no F-150 after 2014, no Silverado 1500 after 2018 and no Dodge pickup after 2009. Your newer truck may be on another Carr sheet. Carr publishes one per part-number group, so it would mean a different part number, and we state no fit from what we didn't read. The sheet names a technical help line and Carr's site, so ask them.

The job. The materials list opens with a drill motor. The steps mount to "the back side of its rocker panels". You mark the spot so the front edge of the seat lines up with the center of the step, mark three vertical lines on the pinch weld, center punch, drill 1/8 inch and enlarge to 5/16 inch. Then come 1/8-inch holes into the body metal for sheet metal screws. Carr advises silicone sealer where the brackets meet the body, a final tighten after one month of use, and warns against over-tightening. The sheet gives no install time, so we print none.

The paper. Carr states Limited Lifetime on both finish and structure, for the original purchaser, with proof of purchase. It does not cover labor, installation or removal. Damage from normal wear, abuse or improper installation is out too.

Price class: budget, though above the Bully and DNA listings. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Bully BBS-1103

The Bully BBS-1103* is a black powder-coated pair, and the title says mounting brackets are in the box. It "Fits Various Trucks from Chevy (Chevrolet), Ford, Toyota, GMC, Dodge RAM and Jeep". That names makes. It says nothing about your model, your year or your cab.

We could not find Bully's own instructions. One thing to watch: BullyUSA.com looks like the maker's site, but its footer calls it an independent enthusiast website. So its install time and load figure are not maker data, and we don't repeat them. Price class: budget. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Bully AS-600

The Bully AS-600* is the polished aluminum set. Its title says "Universal Fit" for trucks from the same makes. It has the same gap: no model, no year, no cab, no sheet we could read. Take it if you want polished metal, and be ready to work out the mount yourself. If your truck sees winter roads, look at do running boards rust? as well. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

DNA Motoring SSTEP-SS

The DNA Motoring pair* is the only title here that gives dimensions: 11 inches long, 6 high, 12 wide. It also names aluminum and silver, and says "Chevy GMC Dodge Pickup Trucks SUVs". Those are useful when you are holding a tape up to your rocker panel, but Ford and Toyota owners will notice they are not named. We read no maker sheet. Price class: budget. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

The look-alike trap

Carr's hoop step titles are nearly identical, and that causes trouble. A listing titled "Carr's 102551 Hoop II XP3 Black Powder Coat Pair" reads just like the 103991. But Carr's sheet for 102551 gives the vehicle application as the 1997-2006 Jeep TJ Wrangler. Same name, same finish, different vehicle. That's why we leave it off this page. On any Hoop II, match the part number in the title to Carr's sheet for your truck.

Same goes for other names you may be searching. We have no listing or maker document for Havoc HS2 or HS3, RBP or Super Hoop steps, so we say nothing about them here.

What to check before you order

Fit. Hoop steps are the clearest case of "universal" on a listing. Ask the seller to confirm your exact truck, and cab, in writing.

Your rocker area. Carr's sheet tells you to avoid bumps and screws so the step sits against a flat surface. Look behind your rocker panel before you buy, not after.

Drilling. If you won't drill, a hoop step is probably the wrong part. Can you install running boards without drilling? lists what goes on without holes, and it opens a warranty question: see do running boards void your warranty?.

Load. Only a maker's document counts. The Carr sheet has no rating, and the dealer numbers floating around are not maker numbers. How much weight running boards can hold goes further.

Doors. A box holds two steps. Four doors means two boxes.

Common mistakes

  • Trusting "universal". It means the seller thinks it can be made to fit. It is not a fit statement for your truck.
  • Using the wrong sheet. Carr has a sheet per part-number group. A different number can mean a different vehicle.
  • Drilling too close to the edge. Carr says to leave at least 1/8 inch of metal between the hole and the edge of the pinch weld, and to double-check dimensions first.
  • Skipping the one-month check. Carr asks for a final tightening after a month of use.

What do you drive?

Start with the truck. We only show what a listing title or maker states for it.

The fit finder above covers boards and rails for your truck, and it does not list hoop steps, since their titles name no specific truck. If you decide a longer step suits you better, compare nerf bars and truck steps, or start from all trucks.

Bottom line

If your truck is on Carr's list and a drill does not scare you, buy the Carr Hoop II 103991*. It is the only one of these with a maker telling you exactly what you are in for. If you pick a Bully or DNA, get your truck confirmed first, and go in knowing the title has not done that for you. None of this comes from an install of our own: how we verify fitment shows what we read. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Weighing one against a rail? See hoop steps vs nerf bars.

Tailgate questions

How much weight can hoop steps hold?

We print no number. The Carr sheet we read states no load rating, and we read no Bully or DNA maker document. Dealers publish figures, but those are not maker figures and they disagree. A missing rating means it was not stated in what we read. It does not tell you what the step can hold.

Do hoop steps need drilling?

Carr's do, according to its sheet: 5/16-inch holes through the pinch weld and 1/8-inch holes into the body metal. We read no sheet for the Bully or DNA steps, so we cannot say for those. Plan on a drill unless the maker's instructions for your truck say otherwise.

Are hoop steps universal?

Sellers use that word, and it promises less than it sounds. Bully's AS-600 title says universal fit and DNA's says universal side step, but neither names a model, year or cab. Carr sells the same style with a long list of applications, and part numbers change by truck. Get your exact truck confirmed before you order.

How many hoop steps do I need for a crew cab?

Carr's sheet supplies two step castings and four brackets per box, so one box does two steps. The same sheet lists 88-18 Chevy and GMC full-size crew cabs for all doors. If you want a step at all four doors, that means two boxes. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Are hoop steps better than running boards?

They do a narrower job. A hoop step gives you a small step at one spot, and leaves the rest of the rocker area clear. A board or rail gives you a long platform and usually no drilling, on the sheets we read. Choose by where your feet go and how much you mind drilling your truck.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we verify fit