Question & answer
Do Running Boards Fit All Trucks? Universal Steps vs Year-and-Cab Parts
No. Each part is built for specific model years and cabs, sometimes bed lengths, and some titles rule out a near-identical truck by name. The listings sold as universal in our data are individual side steps, and their titles name no years or cabs. That does not mean they suit your truck. It means the fit question lands on you.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The straight answer
No. Each part is built for specific model years and cabs, sometimes bed lengths, and one Tyger title rules out the 2019-2024 Ram 1500 Classic by name. Listings sold as universal name no years or cabs, so they state no fit for your truck. Start from your truck, year and cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
A running board is a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out. It has to bolt to that truck, and that is why no maker sells one board for everything. Mounting points, cab lengths and door layouts change between trucks, and between years of the same truck. If you already know what you drive, skip ahead to all trucks.
Five ways listings cut the fit
We read these November 2, 2026. Each row is the source's wording, not our conclusion.
| The split | What the source states | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Body style | Tyger title: "2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic)" | Same name, same model year, separate listings. See Ram 1500 |
| One version inside a year | Aluminum crew title: "(Excl 2019 Ld/Lt)" | A 2019 is not one truck. See Silverado |
| Cab | Westin: F-150 SuperCab is part 29-23935, SuperCrew is part 29-23945 | The cab word has to match. See F-150 |
| Sister truck | COMNOVA title: "Silverado 1500" but "Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD" | It names no Sierra 1500, so it states nothing for that truck |
| Bed | Westin R5: 2019-2026 Silverado 1500 Crew wheel-to-wheel, listed by "5.5ft and 6.5ft" | Only for parts that run past the cab. See bed and cab fitment |
Some parts do cross trucks, on the maker's say-so
Crossing over is real, but somebody has to state it. Westin's Pro-e table gives part 29-23945 to the F-150 SuperCrew, the F-250 and F-350 Crew Cab and more. RealTruck's guide for the AMP PowerStep 76255-01A lists "All Cabs" for the Silverado 1500 and Sierra 1500, then has you work for it: 79 inches for a Crew Cab, trimmed to 69 for a Double Cab and to 50 for a Single Cab. Those are that part's numbers on those trucks. They do not carry over to anything else.
What "universal" actually tells you
Two listings in our data are sold that way. Here is the first, and it is here to show what a title like this says and leaves out. It is not a recommendation for your truck.
Bully
Bully BBS-1103 side step pair
A pair of individual side steps whose title names truck makes, and no years or cabs.
Why here: Its title shows the pattern: truck makes and included brackets, but no model, year or cab.
- Fits, according to the listing
- Various Trucks from Chevy (Chevrolet), Ford, Toyota, GMC, Dodge RAM and Jeep (no models, years or cabs in the title) (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Individual side step, pair (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Not stated in the title
- Price class
- Budget
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Title says mounting brackets are included
- Sold as a pair of individual steps, not a full-length board
Watch out for
- The title names makes only: no model, year or cab, so we state no fit
- Listing data only: we read no Bully sheet for this part
- No weight rating printed here, because we read no maker document that states one
Best for: Owners with a truck no vehicle-specific listing names, who are ready to confirm the mounting themselves first.
Listing data only: We only have the Amazon listing title for this one, no maker sheet. It is an option, not a recommendation.
The title says it fits "Various Trucks from Chevy (Chevrolet), Ford, Toyota, GMC, Dodge RAM and Jeep". The Auto Dynasty side step* goes further and says "Universal Side Step for Pickups & Trucks", with no make at all. We read no maker sheet for either, so we print no mount, drilling step or weight rating. These are individual steps, which is a different product from a full-length board. Hoop steps covers that style.
Before you buy one, ask the seller three things:
- Where does it mount on your year and cab, and does the kit's bracket suit that spot?
- Does the job need drilling?
- What load does the maker's own document state?
If the answers do not come back in writing, buy something else.
How to confirm a part for your truck
- Get your make, model, year and cab name from your paperwork. How to tell which cab you have helps if the name is unclear. Double Cab, for one, sits in different columns of the ARIES table depending on the truck.
- Start from the page for your truck on all trucks, not from the product.
- Read the whole title for your years, your cab word and any exclusion.
- Run through how to check a listing fits, then check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Trucks we cannot speak for
Our Amazon searches turned up no listing for the Titan, Ridgeline, Maverick or Cybertruck. We did not search them by name, so that is missing data and not proof that none exists. The rule for what counts as a statement is on how we verify fitment.
Own something outside the big six, such as a Nissan Titan? Start with other trucks.
Tailgate questions
Are universal running boards a good idea?
We cannot call them good or bad, because we found no independent test and read no maker sheet for the two universal listings here. Their titles name no years or cabs, so you have to confirm the mounting yourself. If a listing names your truck, year and cab, you start with far more to go on.
Will running boards from one truck fit another truck?
Only where the listing or maker says so. Tyger titles put the 2015-up F-150 and 2017-up F-250 and F-350 on one part, and Westin's Pro-e table gives those Crew and SuperCrew trucks one part number. It uses a different number for the SuperCab versions. How alike two trucks look tells you nothing on its own.
Does my bed length matter for fit?
Only for parts that run past the cab. According to ARIES, cab-length boards run along the cab, while wheel-to-wheel boards run from the front wheel to the rear wheel. Westin's R5 table lists its wheel-to-wheel parts by bed length. Most cab-length titles we read name no bed at all.
Where this comes from
Keep reading
- CompatibilityAll trucksWhich running boards fit your truck depends on model, year block, cab and sometimes bed. See the splits listings state for each truck and where to start.
- ExplainerCab and bed fitmentCab length running boards run along the cab, wheel-to-wheel boards run to the rear wheel. How cab names and bed length decide fit, and how to read a listing title.
- Buying guideHoop stepsHoop steps give you one step per door. Carr's sheet lists trucks by year and calls for drilling; Bully and DNA titles name makes only. Here is what each one states.
- How-toCheck a listing fitsCheck any running board listing against your truck in seven steps: year, cab, exclusions, part number and maker sheet. Real title traps, and what to ask the seller.
- How-toWhich cab do you have?Find your truck's exact cab name in six steps: paperwork, VIN decoder, doors, hinges and the maker's name. Why door count alone can buy you the wrong boards.
- About usHow we verify fitFit here is what a listing title or maker sheet states, marked as such. What we read, what blocked us and why you still confirm year and cab before you buy.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint