Question & answer
Can You Install Running Boards Without Drilling? The Parts and Years That Still Need Holes
Often yes, but it depends on the part and sometimes the year. Tyger's sheet for its 2019-up GM rail has no drilling step, while its sheet for the older Ram rail says drilling may be required. AMP's PowerStep for 2022-up GM and Carr's Hoop II both call for holes. Go by the maker's sheet, not the word no-drill in a title.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The straight answer
Often, but it depends on the part. Tyger's sheets for its 2019-up GM, new-body Ram, Colorado and F-150 parts have no drilling step. Its older Ram sheets say drilling may be required, and one warns about 2009-12 trucks. AMP's 76255-01A guide and Carr's Hoop II sheet both call for drilling through the pinch weld. Read the sheet for your exact part.
"No-drill" gets thrown around as if it were true of every kit. It isn't. On the sheets we read, plenty of truck-specific kits go on with factory holes and studs, and a few bring out the drill. The difference comes down to the part, the mount style and sometimes the model year. If you want the full job from start to finish, see how to install running boards.
What the maker documents say
Read 2 November 2026. The first group comes from the maker's sheet or page, and the last row is seller wording.
| Part | What it mounts to | Drilling |
|---|---|---|
| Tyger Rider TG-SS2C35068 (2019-up GM crew, as listed) | 8 brackets, threaded holes behind plugs | No drilling step in the sheet |
| Tyger Rider TG-SS2D35098 (new-body Ram 1500 crew, as listed) | 6 brackets, factory studs | No drilling step in the sheet |
| Tyger Rider TG-SS2C35168 (Colorado and Canyon crew, as listed) | 6 brackets | No drilling step in the sheet |
| Tyger Riser TG-RS6F60118 (F-150 SuperCrew, as listed) | Factory studs, plastic retainers | No drilling step in the sheet |
| Westin Pro-e | Vehicle-specific brackets | "No-drill", per Westin |
| Ford 5-inch step bars for the Super Duty Crew Cab | Not described | "No drilling required", per Ford |
| Tyger Rider TG-SS2D35318 (older Ram and Classic crew, as listed) | Brackets and support brackets | "DRILLING MAY BE REQUIRED": 2009-12 trucks may lack factory holes and need 1/4-inch holes through the pinch weld |
| Tyger Riser TG-RS2D40078 (older Ram and Classic crew, as listed) | Brackets and bolt/nut plates | "DRILLING MAY BE REQUIRED" |
| AMP PowerStep 76255-01A (2022-2026 GM, per the guide) | Covered in the guide | 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, for the step light wires |
| Carr Hoop II 103991 | Back side of the rocker panel | 5/16-inch holes through the pinch weld, 1/8-inch holes into body metal |
| Rough Country power steps and the WOLFBOX F-150 step | Not read | "No-Drill" in the seller's title only |
| WOLFBOX power steps, GM and Ram | Read | "No-Drill Rocker Mount" on the maker's pages; the GM sheet has a wire hole through a plastic cap, made with a drill or punch |
The pinch weld is the seam along the bottom of the body, where the sheet metal comes together. You will see it named in most of the sheets above.
Where the drill comes back
Older trucks. Tyger's sheet for the older Ram spells it out. It says 2009-12 models may not be equipped with factory holes for the support brackets. If yours has none, you mark and drill them yourself, and the sheet warns against going too close to the bottom edge of the weld. The 2009-2018 Ram and Classic page has the parts.
Power steps. A motorized step has wires to route, not only brackets to bolt up. RealTruck's guide for AMP's 76255-01A rates the job skill level 4, states 3-5 hours and recommends professional installation. AMP Research covers the lineup.
Hoop steps. A single step per door hangs on a smaller bracket, and Carr's sheet puts a drill first on its materials list. Hoop steps go through what that job looks like, and Carr's Hoop II* has the clearest paperwork of the group. Its title names no truck, so check Carr's application list. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Our pick if you want no holes
Tyger Auto
Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)
A 3.5-inch rail whose title names the Silverado and Sierra years, the HD split and the cab.
Why here: Tyger's sheet for this part uses threaded holes behind plugs and has no drilling step, and the part number in the title ties the listing to that sheet.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- The part number in the title (TG-SS2C35068) ties the listing to Tyger's own instruction sheet
- That sheet bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and has no drilling step
- Title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years
Watch out for
- 3.5 inches wide per the title, narrower than the 6-inch boards
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
- The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited; a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering
Best for: Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.
That pick is for a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab, as the title states. Other trucks have their own parts on the all trucks page, and a Ram crew cab owner on the older body should read the TG-SS2D35318 listing* with that drilling note in mind. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
If you do have to drill
Follow the sheet for your part. These points come straight from the Carr, Tyger and AMP documents:
- Check the location first. Carr says to double-check dimensions before drilling and leave at least 1/8 inch of metal to the edge of the weld.
- Pilot first, then enlarge. Both Carr and AMP start with a 1/8-inch bit.
- Deburr every hole.
- Protect the bare metal. AMP's guide says to apply paint to the holes to prevent rusting, and Carr advises silicone sealer where the steel brackets contact the body metal.
A hole in your truck also raises the warranty question. Ford says an aftermarket part does not necessarily void the New Vehicle Limited Warranty, but a failure it causes is not covered. See do running boards void your warranty?. This is not legal advice. Whether to pay someone instead is on how much to install running boards, and how we read every sheet is on how we verify fitment.
Tailgate questions
Are no-drill running boards really no-drill?
When the maker's own sheet has no drilling step, yes for that part. When the claim is only in a seller's title, you have the seller's word. Rough Country titles say no-drill, and so does the WOLFBOX F-150 title, and we read no sheet for those listings, so we can't confirm it. WOLFBOX's GM and Ram pages say no-drill too, while its GM sheet has you poke a wire hole through a plastic cap. Ask for the instructions before you order.
Do hoop steps need drilling?
Carr's do. The Hoop II sheet for part 103991 lists a drill motor and has you put 5/16-inch holes through the pinch weld, then 1/8-inch holes into the body metal for sheet metal screws. We read no sheet for the Bully or DNA hoop steps, so those stay an open question.
Why do 2009-2012 Rams need drilling?
Tyger's sheet for TG-SS2D35318 says 2009-12 models may not be equipped with factory holes for its support brackets, and then you drill 1/4-inch holes through the pinch weld. It does not say why those trucks differ. Check your own pinch weld for the holes before you start.
Where this comes from
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-SS2C35068 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-SS2D35318 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-RS2D40078 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- RealTruck AMP Research installation guide IM76255 (PDF)
- Carr Pattern Co.: Hoop II instruction sheet for 103991 / 103992 / 103997 (PDF on SEMA Data)
- Westin Automotive: Pro-e power running boards
Keep reading
- How-toHow to installHow to install running boards from the maker sheets: find the mounting points, hang brackets loose, level, torque, and when a kit really does need a drill.
- Compatibility2009-2018 and ClassicRunning boards for 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017 Ram 1500 trucks and the 2019-2024 Classic. Listings by cab, and where the sheets split the years for drilling.
- Buying guideHoop stepsHoop steps give you one step per door. Carr's sheet lists trucks by year and calls for drilling; Bully and DNA titles name makes only. Here is what each one states.
- Question & answerHow Much Does It Cost to Install Running Boards? What the Job Actually TakesThe cost of installing running boards comes down to the job: tools, wiring, drilling and skill. What maker sheets ask for, and when to hand it to a shop.
- Question & answerDo Aftermarket Running Boards Void Your Truck's Warranty? What the FTC, Ford and Ram SayDo running boards void a truck warranty? What the FTC, Ford and Ram's own booklet state, what stays uncovered if a part does damage, and what we could not read.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint