Explainer
SuperCab vs SuperCrew: How to Tell Them Apart Before You Order F-150 Running Boards
SuperCrew is Ford's crew cab: typically four full-size doors and a real back seat. SuperCab is its extended cab: smaller rear doors and a tighter back seat. On a 2026 F-150, Ford's specs give the SuperCrew 10.1 inches more rear legroom and an 11.8-inch longer cab. Running boards are listed per cab, so a SuperCrew board is not a SuperCab board.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
SuperCab is Ford's extended cab, with smaller rear doors. SuperCrew is its crew cab, typically with four full-size doors. Ford's 2026 F-150 specs show 33.5 inches of rear legroom in the SuperCab and 43.6 in the SuperCrew. The cab is about 11.8 inches longer on the SuperCrew. Makers list boards separately by cab, so match the name in the title to your doors.
Ford uses three names on the F-150: Regular Cab, SuperCab and SuperCrew. The ARIES cab guide files SuperCab under extended cabs and SuperCrew under crew cabs, and says plainly that its groups only help you understand the types. For the wider picture across makers, see extended cab vs crew cab. Here we stick to Ford.
Ford's own numbers
These come from Ford's 2026 F-150 technical specifications. They are inches unless marked, and they cover the standard 4x2 and 4x4 trucks. Tremor and Raptor numbers run a little different.
| 2026 F-150 | Regular Cab | SuperCab | SuperCrew |
|---|---|---|---|
| Seating | 3 | 5 or 6 | 5 or 6 |
| Box length | 6.5 ft or 8 ft | 6.5 ft | 5.5 ft or 6.5 ft |
| Wheelbase | 122.8 or 141.5 | 145.4 | 145.4 or 157.2 |
| Overall length | 209.4 or 228.1 | 232.0 | 232.0 or about 243.8 |
| Front bumper to back of cab | 121.2 | 143.8 | About 155.6 |
| Front legroom | 43.9 | 43.9 | 43.9 |
| Rear legroom | None | 33.5 | 43.6 |
The subtraction is ours: 43.6 minus 33.5 is 10.1 inches of rear legroom, and 155.6 minus 143.8 is 11.8 inches of cab. Ford prints the numbers. It does not print those differences.
The measurement that fools people
Grab a tape measure and you may talk yourself into the wrong cab. A SuperCab with the 6.5-foot box and a SuperCrew with the 5.5-foot box share the same 145.4-inch wheelbase and the same 232.0-inch overall length. Same footprint, different cab. Ford moved the back of the cab, and the box length made up the difference.
So overall length and wheelbase settle nothing on those two trucks. Doors and box length do.

How to tell at the truck
Compare the doors
Rear doors about the size of the front ones point to a SuperCrew. Clearly smaller ones point to a SuperCab.Open only the rear door
ARIES describes extended-cab rear doors as smaller, and says they may open only after the front doors are open. If yours will not open alone, that points to a SuperCab.Sit behind the front seat
Ford gives the SuperCab 33.5 inches of rear legroom. Slide the front seat back and you will know which truck you are in.Read the paperwork
Your window sticker or a Ford dealer can give you the exact cab name. That is the name to match in a listing. Our guide on how to tell which cab you have covers other makes.
Why the boards don't swap
An 11.8-inch difference in cab length is a long way for a board to be wrong. Makers treat the cabs as separate parts:
- Westin Pro-e, maker's list. Part 29-23945 covers the F-150 SuperCrew 2015-2027, with the Lightning 2022-2025 and the F-250 and F-350 Crew Cab 2017-2027. Part 29-23935 covers the F-150 SuperCab 2015-2027 and the F-250 and F-350 SuperCab 2017-2027. More on that lineup is on the Westin page.
- Tyger Riser, according to the listing. The title says Supercrew Cab, for the 2015-2027 F-150, 2022-2025 Lightning and 2017-2027 F-250 and F-350 SD.
- Go Rhino RB20, maker's sheet. Part 69417680 names the F-250, F-350 and F-450 Super Duty Super Cab on its own sheet, and warns against installing it on any other vehicle.
Here is the gap you should know about. None of the F-150 Amazon listings in our data names the SuperCab. They name the SuperCrew. That does not mean SuperCab parts do not exist, and Westin's list shows they do. It means a title that says SuperCrew is not speaking to you if you drive a SuperCab. F-150 SuperCrew and SuperCab boards has the listings cab by cab.
SuperCrew owners: where to start
Tyger Auto
Tyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew)
A 6-inch step with a maker sheet that deals with Ford's aluminum body.
Why here: It names the SuperCrew in the title, and Tyger's sheet for TG-RS6F60118 uses factory studs and plastic retainers, with no drilling step.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Running board / step bar (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Bolt-on to factory studs with plastic retainers; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Part number (TG-RS6F60118) ties it to Tyger's instruction sheet
- Sheet uses plastic retainers to prevent corrosion between the aluminum body panel and steel brackets
- No drilling step in the sheet
Watch out for
- Not for the SuperCab per the title
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
- The sheet says to clear paint or undercoating from the studs first
Best for: SuperCrew owners on the 2015-up F-150 who want a wide step and a clear install sheet.
Plastic retainers matter on this truck. Tyger's sheet says they keep the steel brackets off the aluminum body, which is a corrosion measure on Ford's aluminum cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. All the F-150 options are on the F-150 page.
Super Duty and other Fords
Ford's Super Duty page calls the SuperCab an extended cabin, available with a 6.75-foot or 8-foot bed. It calls the Crew Cab its largest cabin, with the same bed choices. There is no SuperCrew on a Super Duty. The same idea wears the name Crew Cab, which is why a title covering both trucks has to say both names.
If you are ordering wheel-to-wheel boards, the bed comes into it too. Bed and cab fitment explains how to read those titles, and the cab guide has the other makers' names. Our sourcing rules are on how we verify fitment.
Tailgate questions
Is SuperCab or SuperCrew bigger?
SuperCrew has the bigger cab. Ford's 2026 F-150 specs put the back of the cab 155.6 inches from the front bumper on a typical SuperCrew and 143.8 on a SuperCab. Rear legroom is 43.6 inches against 33.5. Both can seat five or six, according to Ford, so seat count will not separate them.
Do SuperCrew running boards fit a SuperCab?
Do not count on it. Makers list the two cabs separately. Westin's Pro-e list uses part 29-23945 for the F-150 SuperCrew and 29-23935 for the SuperCab. The F-150 titles we read name the SuperCrew and say nothing about the SuperCab. Buy a part that names your cab, and check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
How can I tell if my F-150 is a SuperCab or a SuperCrew?
Look at the rear doors. Clearly smaller rear doors point to a SuperCab, and ARIES notes that extended-cab rear doors may open only after the front doors do. Rear doors about the size of the front ones point to a SuperCrew. Your window sticker or a Ford dealer can confirm the name.
Is a Super Duty Crew Cab the same as a SuperCrew?
Same idea, different name. The ARIES table puts the F-150 SuperCrew and the Super Duty Crew Cab in the same crew group, and calls that grouping an aid to understanding only. Some listings cover both trucks in one title, such as the Tyger Riser for the F-150 SuperCrew and F-250 and F-350. Others do not, so read the title.
Where this comes from
- Ford: 2026 F-150 technical specifications (PDF)
- Ford: 2026 Super Duty F-250 XL model page
- ARIES Automotive: truck cab guide
- Westin Automotive: Pro-e power running boards, fit list
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-RS6F60118 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- Go Rhino instruction sheet: RB20 part 69417680, Super Duty Super Cab (PDF hosted by CARiD)
Keep reading
- CompatibilitySuperCrew and SuperCabF-150 SuperCrew and SuperCab running boards and step bars, cab by cab. What Amazon titles, Ford's catalog and Westin each list, and where a SuperCab owner shops.
- CompatibilityFord F-150F-150 running boards by year and cab: SuperCrew, SuperCab, Regular. What the titles state, what Ford's sheet says about the body, and factory vs aftermarket.
- ExplainerTruck cab typesThere are three truck cab types: regular, extended and crew. Each maker names them differently. See Ford, Ram, GM, Toyota and Nissan names, sizes and door layouts.
- ExplainerExtended vs crew cabA crew cab typically has four full-size doors. An extended cab has smaller rear doors or a seat-forward layout. See each maker's names and why boards don't swap.
- How-toWhich cab do you have?Find your truck's exact cab name in six steps: paperwork, VIN decoder, doors, hinges and the maker's name. Why door count alone can buy you the wrong boards.
- ExplainerCab and bed fitmentCab length running boards run along the cab, wheel-to-wheel boards run to the rear wheel. How cab names and bed length decide fit, and how to read a listing title.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint