Question & answer
Are Power Running Boards Worth It? Price Class, Failure Points and When a Fixed Board Is Better
They are worth it if you want a step that gets out of the way when the doors close, and you accept what comes with it: a premium price class, a harder install and a moving, wired part under your cab. If a step that just sits there does the job, a fixed board is the simpler buy.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The straight answer
Worth it if you want a step that tucks away and accept a premium price class, a harder install and moving, wired parts under the cab. RealTruck's guide for one 2022-2026 GM part states 3-5 hours, skill level 4 and drilling. We found no published failure rate, so that part stays open. If a fixed step does the job, buy that.
Most pages on this question sell you the step and skip the bill. Here is the bill, taken from two maker documents we could read, one for a power step and one for a fixed rail on the same family of trucks. If you are still choosing a part, power running boards lists them by truck.
What you are actually trading
| Power: AMP PowerStep 76255-01A | Fixed: Tyger Rider TG-SS2C35068 | |
|---|---|---|
| What moves | Motors and linkages on both sides | Nothing |
| Wiring | Battery connection, controller, harness, OBD II plug, wire taps | None in the sheet |
| Drilling | 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld for the light wires | No drilling step |
| Install time | 3-5 hours, per the guide | Not stated in the sheet |
| Help needed | Skill level 4, "Experienced"; professional installation recommended | Assistance recommended |
| Price class | Premium | Mid-range |
Those are two parts, not a rule. Westin describes its powered Pro-e as a bolt-on, no-drill install with vehicle-specific brackets, so a power step does not always mean a drill. Time, tools and drilling belong to one part number.
What you get for it
You get a step that shows up on its own. RealTruck's guide says the board deploys from under the truck when a door opens and returns to its stowed position when the doors close, after a 2-second delay. Westin says its boards retract flush against the body. On the AMP, all four lamps light when any door opens and stay on until both steps stow, or until 5 minutes pass with the doors open.
That is the whole case. If it matters to you, the money and the install can make sense. This is the part with the clearest paperwork in our data.
AMP Research
AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)
The powered step with the clearest paperwork in our data: a maker install guide that names cabs, tools and time.
Why here: We could read its full install guide, so you can see the job before you pay for it.
- Fits, according to the listing and maker sheet
- Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026 (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Powered retractable step (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Guide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plug
- Warranty
- 5-Year Limited Warranty (guide)
- Price class
- Premium
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- RealTruck's install guide states a 5-year limited warranty and connects through an OBD II plug
- The guide lists every cab: 79-inch board for Crew, trimmed for Double and Single Cab
Watch out for
- The guide calls for drilling through the pinch weld and rates the job skill level 4 (experienced)
- Professional installation recommended; the guide states 3-5 hours
- The title gives no part number, so match 76255-01A on the listing
- Premium price class
Best for: Owners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install.
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Where the failure points are
We found no published failure rate for any power step, and we run no tests of our own. NHTSA's site refused our reader, so recalls and complaints are unchecked here. So this is not a reliability verdict. It is what the maker itself tells you to watch.
- The motors. The guide says dropping the assembly or any excessive impact may damage the motor, and it tells you to tighten the motor screws to 36 in-lbs and not to over-torque them.
- Dirt in the mechanism. In adverse conditions, mud, dirt and salt may get trapped and cause noise. The guide says to avoid spraying the motors directly and to put silicone spray lubricant on the hinge pivot pins after washing, but not on the stepping surface.
- Obstructions. If something blocks the board, it stops. To reset, clear it, then open and close the door. Keep your hands away while the board is moving.
- The wiring. Every connection you make is one more thing to check. The guide's final step is confirming that every door activates the steps and the lights.
If yours is already acting up, go to power running board problems.
The warranty is real, with limits
RealTruck's guide gives five years from the date of purchase, for the original purchaser only, with proof of purchase kept. Misinstallation and misuse are excluded. So a botched driveway install can cost you more than the time. The listing for the RealTruck AMP Research 76254-01A names a 5-Year Limited Warranty too. The WOLFBOX F-150* title claims a 5-year warranty as well, and that is seller wording, since we read no sheet for it.
When a fixed board is the better call
Take a fixed running board if any of these sounds like you.
- You want to bolt it on and forget it. The sheet for the Tyger Rider* is brackets, bolts and a level.
- You do not want to splice into your truck's wiring. Fixed steps in our sheets have none to do.
- You drive through mud and salt and will not keep up the cleaning. The guide's maintenance note applies to you.
- The budget is the issue. Fixed boards run from budget to mid-range in our data, while the power steps here sit in premium.
Lifted trucks are their own question: ask the maker, and read running boards for lifted trucks. Load is no tiebreaker either. Westin states "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side" for the Pro-e, while RealTruck's guide states no load figure at all. The rest of the numbers we saw come from sellers and dealers, so we leave them out.
So, should you buy one?
Buy one if you have read the install guide for your exact part and still want it, or you are fine paying a shop. RealTruck recommends that for its part. On GM crew cabs, the Rough Country title* sits in the same premium tier, with listing data only. Skip it if you just need a step. For the bigger question of whether to add a step at all, read are running boards worth it, and how to install running boards shows what a bolt-on job really asks of you. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
If lit steps are the draw, running boards with lights separates powered lights from add-on strips.
Tailgate questions
What goes wrong on power running boards?
We found no published failure rate, so nobody here can tell you how often. RealTruck's guide does name the weak spots to respect: a dropped motor assembly may be damaged, and mud, dirt and salt can get trapped in the mechanism and cause noise. The guide also has an automatic stop you reset by clearing the obstruction and opening and closing the door.
Are power running boards worth it on a lifted truck?
That question has no clean answer yet. The lift figures we saw for one extra-drop model conflict from page to page, so we print none of them. A lift is a question for the maker of your exact part, in writing, before you order. Our page on running boards for lifted trucks goes through what to ask.
Are power running boards better than fixed running boards?
Better at one thing: the step comes out with the door and tucks up when you close it. A fixed board wins on simplicity, with no motor, no controller and no wiring. Neither is rated on a shared basis, and we found no independent durability comparison, so pick by which trade-off you can live with.
Where this comes from
Keep reading
- Buying guidePower running boardsPower running boards come out with the door and fold away after. See which trucks each listing names, what the install takes and which load figures hold up.
- TroubleshootingPower board problemsPower running boards stuck or dead? Work through obstructions, door triggers, fuses, settings and debris, using what AMP, Rough Country, Ford and GM documents say.
- Buying guideLifted trucksA lift raises the first step with the cab. Measure it, then choose a drop or power step. Fit as the listing states it, and what makers do not say about lifts.
- Buying guideFixed running boardsFixed running boards have no motor and no wiring. Compare flat boards and tube steps by width and sheet, see what custom and DIY really mean, and pick by truck.
- Question & answerAre Running Boards Worth It on a Truck? Benefits, Downsides and Who Can Skip ThemAre running boards worth it on a truck? Yes if the climb is a daily chore. The real downsides, install work and warranty lines, and who can skip them.
- How-toHow to installHow to install running boards from the maker sheets: find the mounting points, hang brackets loose, level, torque, and when a kit really does need a drill.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint