Buying guide
Running Boards With Lights and Add-On LED Strips: Wiring, Length and Fit
You can get lit running boards two ways: a step that comes with lights, which in our data means a power step, or an LED strip kit you add to the step or rocker you already have. The strips are the cheap route, but you wire them yourself. For a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500, our pick is the AMP PowerStep, the one whose lights we could read a guide for.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
Built-in lights come mainly on power steps: RealTruck's guide for its 2022-2026 GM PowerStep has four lamps that come on with any door. Add-on strips such as the Nilight 60-inch or OPT7 86-inch name no truck, year or cab, and you wire them to your parking, door and turn-signal circuits yourself. Measure your run before you buy.
Shoppers search for "lighted running boards" and "LED running boards" as if it were one product. It is two different purchases with two different jobs attached. Decide which one you are in the market for before you compare anything.
AMP Research
AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)
The powered step with the clearest paperwork in our data: a maker install guide that names cabs, tools and time.
Why here: Of the steps with lights in our data, this is the only one where a maker guide explains how the lights are fitted and when they come on.
- Fits, according to the listing and maker sheet
- Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026 (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Powered retractable step (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Guide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plug
- Warranty
- 5-Year Limited Warranty (guide)
- Price class
- Premium
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- RealTruck's install guide states a 5-year limited warranty and connects through an OBD II plug
- The guide lists every cab: 79-inch board for Crew, trimmed for Double and Single Cab
Watch out for
- The guide calls for drilling through the pinch weld and rates the job skill level 4 (experienced)
- Professional installation recommended; the guide states 3-5 hours
- The title gives no part number, so match 76255-01A on the listing
- Premium price class
Best for: Owners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install.
Built-in lights or add-on strips?
| Step with lights | Add-on LED strip kit | |
|---|---|---|
| What you are buying | A step, with lights in the kit | Lights only; the step is yours |
| Examples here | AMP PowerStep, Rough Country, WOLFBOX, Westin Pro-e | Nilight 60-inch, OPT7 Sidekick 86-inch |
| Truck-specific | Yes, by title or maker table | No truck, year or cab in either title |
| Wiring | Part of a larger harness job | You pick the circuits and tap them |
| Price class | Premium | Budget to mid-range |
| Source we read | RealTruck's guide, Westin's page | Seller listings, plus one related OPT7 manual |
Every step with lights in our data is a power step. That does not mean a fixed board with lights does not exist, only that none of the fixed running boards we list names one. If that is what you want, the strip kits are your way there.
Which one for which truck?
If you drive a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 and want a power step with lights → AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)
Fits, according to the listing: Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a GM crew cab and want LED lights named in a power step title → Rough Country Power (GM) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: Chevy Silverado & GMC Sierra 1500/2500HD/3500HD (2019-2026) Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a Ram 2500 or 3500 crew cab and want the same → Rough Country Power (Ram 2500/3500) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: Ram 2500/3500 (2010-2026) Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2021-up F-150 SuperCrew and want the same → WOLFBOX Power (2021+ F-150) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2021-2027 F150 Supercrew Cab | 2021-2027 F150 Lightning EV/F250/F350/F450/F550. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you already have a step and want a strip with every wire spelled out → Nilight 60" LED strips · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: Trucks Pickup SUV (title); Universal Fit (listing details). No year or cab stated. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you measured a longer run and want a longer strip → OPT7 Sidekick 86" LED strips · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: Universal Fit (listing details). No truck, year or cab in the title. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you do not need lights at all
| Spec sheet | Our pick: power steps, 2022+ GMAMP PowerStep (2022+ GM) | Listing data onlyRough Country Power (GM) | Listing data onlyNilight 60" LED strips | Listing data onlyOPT7 Sidekick 86" LED strips |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026 | Chevy Silverado & GMC Sierra 1500/2500HD/3500HD (2019-2026) Crew Cab | Trucks Pickup SUV (title); Universal Fit (listing details). No year or cab stated | Universal Fit (listing details). No truck, year or cab in the title |
| Style | Powered retractable step (as titled) | Powered retractable step (as titled) | LED strip kit, 2 pieces, 60 inches (as titled) | LED strip kit, 2 pieces, 86 inches (as titled) |
| Material | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Guide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plug | Not stated in the title | Peel and stick with no drilling, plus 12V wiring, according to the seller | 3M tape, plus wiring to the vehicle's front circuits, according to the seller |
| Price class | Premium | Premium | Budget | Mid-range |
| Best for | Owners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install. | GM crew cab owners shopping powered steps in the same premium tier as AMP. | Owners who already have a step or rocker to light and are willing to wire four circuits themselves. | Owners who measured a run longer than a 60-inch strip covers and can tap signal wires near the front of the truck. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
Steps that come with lights
AMP PowerStep 76255-01A (2022-2026 GM)
Here is something the marketing skips: the lights are not built into the board. RealTruck's guide has you stick four LED lamps to the rocker panel, then drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld to run their wires. You crimp the wires red to red and black to black, heat-shrink them and pull them up out of harm's way so they do not snag. All four lamps light when any door opens. They stay on until both steps stow, or until 5 minutes pass with the doors open. Close and open a door to bring them back. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Rough Country and WOLFBOX
The Rough Country GM* and Ram 2500/3500* titles say "LED Truck Step Lights". The WOLFBOX F-150* title says "LED Lights". That is all we can read about them, so we cannot tell you where the lights sit or how they are wired. Rough Country's own site would not load for us. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Westin Pro-e
Westin describes "integrated LED lighting for a visible stepping surface" on the Pro-e, and it lists a limited lifetime warranty on the LEDs against 5 years on the board. We have no Amazon listing for it in this comparison. If it interests you, Westin covers the brand. The bigger question of a powered step is on power running boards.
Add-on LED strips
Nilight
Nilight 60" LED strips
A pair of 60-inch add-on LED strips with white courtesy light and sequential amber signal, according to the seller.
Why here: The listing spells out all four wires, which is the thing you need most when you wire a strip yourself.
- Fits, according to the listing
- Trucks Pickup SUV (title); Universal Fit (listing details). No year or cab stated (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- LED strip kit, 2 pieces, 60 inches (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Peel and stick with no drilling, plus 12V wiring, according to the seller
- Warranty
- 2 years warranty (listing, 2 November 2026)
- Price class
- Budget
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- The listing spells out all four wires: black ground, red parking lights, green door assist, white turn signal
- According to the seller, it is peel and stick with no drilling, with mounts and screws as an extra hold
Watch out for
- A light kit, not a step
- The title names no truck, year or cab; the listing says Universal Fit
- Nilight's own page refused our reader, so this is listing data only
Best for: Owners who already have a step or rocker to light and are willing to wire four circuits themselves.
Listing data only: We only have the Amazon listing title for this one, no maker sheet. It is an option, not a recommendation.
The Nilight title says 2 pieces, 60 inches, white courtesy light and sequential amber turn signal. According to the seller, that is 72 white and 72 amber LEDs, peel-and-stick with no drilling, and mounts and screws if you want extra hold, with a 2-year warranty. Its title says "for Trucks Pickup SUV". It names no year or cab, and the listing says Universal Fit. Nilight's own page refused our reader, so all of this is the seller's wording.
The OPT7 Sidekick* is the longer one at 86 inches per its title. The seller lists sequential amber turn signals, white door-assist light, IP67, 3M tape and a 1-year warranty. Its listing carries the most useful wiring notice we read, covered below. As written, its stated temperature range stops at 40F, so ask the seller if your truck sees winter.
The wiring
This is the real work, and the wire colors are not the same across kits.
| Function | Nilight 60-inch (listing) | OPT7 Sidekick, warning-light version (manual) |
|---|---|---|
| Ground | Black | Ground connection |
| Parking lights, 12V+ | Red | Red |
| Door assist, 12V+ | Green | Not in the wiring lines we read |
| Turn signal, 12V+ | White | Blue and yellow |
| Fuse | Not stated | 10A inline fuse |
The OPT7 column comes from a manual for a related Sidekick with a warning-light switch, not for the 86-inch kit. Use your own kit's sheet. That manual does give a sequence worth following on any strip: bench test it first, clean the surface thoroughly, wipe it with the adhesive booster, stick the bar down, then use the brackets and screws if you want a stronger hold.
The OPT7 listing for the 86-inch kit adds three points. Signal wires must come from the headlights, fuse box or front-side running board wiring. Additional wiring may be needed on longer vehicles. Do not wire from the rear of the truck, because the seller says that causes incorrect light function.
If you are not sure which wire is which on your truck, stop and ask a shop, or check your truck's manual. Neither listing lists circuits by truck. Do running boards void your warranty explains why damage from an add-on is a separate question from the add-on itself.
Length
Neither strip title names a cab, so here is what to do: measure the run where the strip will go, on your own truck, and compare it to the 60 or 86 inches in the title. Do not go by a chart that says what suits a crew cab, because we have none from a maker. According to ARIES, cab-length boards run along the cab, and wheel-to-wheel boards run from the front wheel to the rear wheel, so a longer board is a longer run to light. Ask the seller if a strip can be cut before you assume it can. If you are starting from a truck rather than a strip, all trucks is the way in.
What to check before you order
- Your circuits. You need parking, door and turn signal sources you can reach. Tap them per your kit's sheet.
- Your step. The Nilight listing and the OPT7 manual both say to clean the surface first, and RealTruck's guide asks for a flat, clean surface for its lamps. A rounded tube may not give you that, so ask.
- A moving step. If you have a power step, ask before you stick a strip or run a wire near the linkage. RealTruck's guide has you pull lamp wires upward to avoid snagging.
- Your state's rules. We did not review lighting law. Added amber and sequential signals are a question to check locally.
Mistakes people make
- Thinking a light kit is a step. It adds no step, and it has nothing to do with load.
- Buying by "fits all". Universal fit means no truck was named, not that yours was checked.
- Assuming one color code. The wire colors above differ, so go by your kit's sheet.
- Wiring from the rear. The OPT7 listing warns against exactly that.
What do you drive?
Start with the truck. We only show what a listing title or maker states for it.
Bottom line
If you want a new powered step, and the lights are part of the reason, take the AMP PowerStep* on a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500. If you already have a step and just want light at the door, start with the Nilight 60-inch*, measure first, and budget time for the wiring. If you still need the step itself, best running boards sorts them by truck, and how to install running boards covers the bolt-on side. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Tailgate questions
Can I add lights to my existing running boards?
Yes, that is what strip kits are sold for. The Nilight and OPT7 kits are universal fit according to their listings, and both stick on with adhesive. Nilight's listing also mentions mounts and screws for extra hold. Neither listing tells you how the strip attaches to your particular board, so look at your step and ask the seller if it is a narrow tube.
How do you wire running board lights?
To your truck's 12V circuits, according to the listings. Nilight gives black to ground, red to parking lights, green to door assist and white to turn signal. OPT7's listing says signal wires must come from the headlights, fuse box or front-side running board wiring, not from the rear. If you are not sure of a circuit, have a shop do it.
What length of running board lights do I need?
Measure the run on your own truck first. The two kits here are titled 60 inches and 86 inches, and neither title names a cab, so no chart of ours can tell you. The only maker length we can quote for a step is RealTruck's 79-inch Crew Cab board, and it belongs to that part. Ask the seller if the strip can be cut before you assume it can.
Do running board lights work as turn signals?
Both kits are sold with sequential amber turn signals, according to their listings. Neither listing tells you whether added amber or sequential signals are allowed where you live. We did not review state lighting rules, so check yours before you wire a turn signal circuit. This is not legal advice.
Are LED running board lights waterproof?
Both listings state IP67, and that is the seller's claim, since we read no spec sheet for either kit. OPT7's listing gives a temperature range of 40F to 185F. As written, that stops above freezing. It may be a typo, so ask the seller if your truck sees winter.
Where this comes from
Keep reading
- Buying guidePower running boardsPower running boards come out with the door and fold away after. See which trucks each listing names, what the install takes and which load figures hold up.
- Buying guideFixed running boardsFixed running boards have no motor and no wiring. Compare flat boards and tube steps by width and sheet, see what custom and DIY really mean, and pick by truck.
- ComparisonBest running boardsThe best truck running boards are the ones listed for your year and cab. Our picks by truck and use, with no lab scores, only published fit and maker sheets.
- How-toHow to installHow to install running boards from the maker sheets: find the mounting points, hang brackets loose, level, torque, and when a kit really does need a drill.
- Question & answerDo Aftermarket Running Boards Void Your Truck's Warranty? What the FTC, Ford and Ram SayDo running boards void a truck warranty? What the FTC, Ford and Ram's own booklet state, what stays uncovered if a part does damage, and what we could not read.
- CompatibilityAll trucksWhich running boards fit your truck depends on model, year block, cab and sometimes bed. See the splits listings state for each truck and where to start.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint