Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

Comparison

Best Power Running Boards by Truck: Published Specs Compared, No Lab Claims

Nobody we can find has run an independent test of power running boards, so any list calling one the best is an opinion. Ours is based on what you can check: the paperwork. Our pick is the AMP PowerStep for 2022-2026 Silverado and Sierra 1500, because its maker guide names the cabs, the time, the tools and the warranty.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 6 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Straight answer

We found no independent test or failure data, so our pick rests on published documents. For 2022-2026 Silverado and Sierra 1500 trucks, it is the AMP PowerStep tied to guide 76255-01A: all cabs, 3-5 hours, skill level 4, 5-year limited warranty. Of the documents we read, only Westin's states a load: 300 lbs. per side. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What's on this page

Power steps sit in the premium price class and bolt a motor, a harness and a moving arm under your cab. If you are spending that kind of money, you should see the receipts behind any "best" list. Here are ours, all read on November 2, 2026. For how these steps work and which trucks each listing names, start at power running boards. This page is the head-to-head.

Fit sheetOur pick: power steps, 2022+ GMAd

AMP Research

AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)

The powered step with the clearest paperwork in our data: a maker install guide that names cabs, tools and time.

Why here: No other powered step in our data states this much in the maker's own guide: every cab, the board length for each, the tools, the time and the warranty.

Fits, according to the listing and maker sheet
Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026 (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Powered retractable step (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Guide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plug
Warranty
5-Year Limited Warranty (guide)
Price class
Premium

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • RealTruck's install guide states a 5-year limited warranty and connects through an OBD II plug
  • The guide lists every cab: 79-inch board for Crew, trimmed for Double and Single Cab

Watch out for

  • The guide calls for drilling through the pinch weld and rates the job skill level 4 (experienced)
  • Professional installation recommended; the guide states 3-5 hours
  • The title gives no part number, so match 76255-01A on the listing
  • Premium price class

Best for: Owners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

The title names no part number, so we tie it to 76255-01A through the application in the guide. Confirm that on the listing. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What the makers put in writing

Blank is a finding here. "Not stated" means we read the document and the figure is not in it.

PartTrucks, per the documentTimeDrilling, per the documentWarrantyLoad
AMP 76255-01A2022-2026 Silverado and Sierra 1500, all cabs3-5 hours19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld5-year limitedNot stated
AMP 76254-01A2019 Silverado and Sierra 1500, Crew and Double3-5 hours19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld5-year limitedNot stated
AMP 76151-01A2015-2020 F-150 SuperCab and SuperCrew2-3 hoursLight wire holes; a 9/32-inch floor hole on SuperCab5-year limitedNot stated
Rough Country PSR51920AHeaded Chevy 2019-23 1500/2500Not stated7/16-inch hole through a floor grommetNot statedNot stated
Rough Country ERBOX090910Headed Ram 2010-25 2500/3500 and Ram 09-18 1500, 19+ ClassicNot statedNo drill step; hex rivet inserts where threads are missingNot statedNot stated
Westin Pro-eWestin's table, truck by truckNot stated"No-drill"5 years; LEDs limited lifetime300 lbs. per side

All three AMP guides also rate the job skill level 4, Experienced, and recommend professional installation. That is the plain truth behind the "plug and play" wording you will see on some listings. There is an OBD II plug, and there is also real wrenching, wiring and drilling.

Picks by truck, and how far the proof goes

Comparison: AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM), AMP PowerStep 76254-01A (2019 GM), AMP PowerStep (2015-2020 F-150), Rough Country Power (GM), WOLFBOX Power (GM crew)
Spec sheetOur pick: power steps, 2022+ GMAMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)AMP PowerStep 76254-01A (2019 GM)AMP PowerStep (2015-2020 F-150)Listing data onlyRough Country Power (GM)WOLFBOX Power (GM crew)
Fits, according to the listingListing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-20262019 Silverado & Sierra 1500 with Crew Cab2015-2020 Ford F-150Chevy Silverado & GMC Sierra 1500/2500HD/3500HD (2019-2026) Crew CabChevy Silverado & GMC Sierra Crew Cab (no model years in the title)
StylePowered retractable step (as titled)Powered retractable step (as titled)Powered retractable step (as titled)Powered retractable step (as titled)Powered retractable step (as titled)
MaterialNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Weight ratingNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
InstallGuide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plugNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Price classPremiumPremiumPremiumPremiumPremium
Best forOwners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install.Owners of a 2019 Silverado or Sierra 1500 crew cab, and only if the listing confirms that exact truck.2015-2020 F-150 SuperCab and SuperCrew owners who confirm the part number on the listing.GM crew cab owners shopping powered steps in the same premium tier as AMP.Only owners who have confirmed their year on the listing itself.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Fit and specs as the listing title or maker sheet states them. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. Swipe sideways on a phone.

AMP PowerStep, 2022-2026 GM. The strongest paper trail. Crew Cab gets the 79-inch board as is, the Double Cab trims to 69 and the single cab to 50. The guide has one more line about Sierra 2500/3500 that looks wrong, so we do not use it. Skill level 4 is the catch: if you do not want to run a harness and drill your pinch weld, budget for a shop. AMP Research has the warranty conditions.

AMP 76254-01A, 2019 GM. The listing* has the part number in its title, which is rare, and it names only the 2019 Crew Cab. The guide adds a Double Cab row. Neither names the 2019 LD. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. The year traps are on Silverado power running boards.

AMP PowerStep, 2015-2020 F-150. The title* gives the years and no part number or cab, so we match it to guide 76151-01A by application only. That guide lists 2-3 hours, an 85-inch board for the SuperCrew with no modification, and a 75-inch board for the SuperCab after a 10-inch trim. It has no Regular Cab row. Confirm the part on the listing. See F-150 power running boards.

AMP PowerStep, 2025-up gas Ram 1500. The listing* says "2025-2027 RAM 1500 Gas Only". We found a guide for part 76364-01A that lists 2025-2026 Crew and Quad Cabs, and the fine print is on Ram 1500 power running boards. The title has no part number, so that link is ours and not the seller's. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Rough Country. The sheets are detailed, and they run long on mounting and wiring. They just do not tell you the numbers people shop on. The GM title* says 2019-2026 and 1500/2500HD/3500HD, while the sheet we read is headed 2019-23 1500/2500. The Ram 2500/3500 title* says 2010-2026, and that sheet heading says 2010-25. Neither title names a part number, so we cannot prove which sheet ships with which listing. Ask first. The rest is on Rough Country.

WOLFBOX. It sat at the lower end of the premium class in our data, and that is the main argument for it. The GM title* gives no model years at all. The F-150 title* says no-drill and 5-Yr Warranty, which is the seller's wording. WOLFBOX's own Chevy/GMC page and sheet name the same trucks as the GM title, state 660 lbs per side and start at the 22 model year. They split the warranty too: one year on motors and wiring. Its page for the Ford part would not open for us, so we repeat no load figure from that title. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Westin Pro-e. The cleanest fit table of the bunch, and the only load statement we read in a maker document: "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side". Watch that figure, because some AI answers double it. We have no Amazon listing for it in our data, so go to Westin's page. Its footnotes also exclude vehicles with air suspension, without saying row by row where that applies. See Westin.

Four things "best" cannot settle yet

  • Durability. No independent data turned up. A warranty length is a promise, not a measurement. Power running board problems covers what can go wrong and what to do.
  • Load. There is no shared rating basis, and the AMP and Rough Country documents we read state nothing. So a bigger number in a seller's title proves little.
  • Lifted trucks. Neither the AMP guides nor the Rough Country sheets above say anything about a lift. Check running boards for lifted trucks before you assume anything.
  • Whether you need one at all. A fixed step has no motor to fail. Are power running boards worth it? takes that on directly.

Take this one if...

Our call, by truck

  • If you drive a 2022-2026 Silverado or Sierra 1500 → AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)

    Fits, according to the listing: Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2019 Silverado or Sierra 1500 crew cab, and not an LD → AMP PowerStep 76254-01A (2019 GM)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019 Silverado & Sierra 1500 with Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2015-2020 F-150 and can confirm your cab → AMP PowerStep (2015-2020 F-150)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2020 Ford F-150. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2021-up F-150 SuperCrew and accept seller wording → WOLFBOX Power (2021+ F-150) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2021-2027 F150 Supercrew Cab | 2021-2027 F150 Lightning EV/F250/F350/F450/F550. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2025-up gas Ram 1500 → RealTruck PowerStep (2025+ Ram 1500)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2025-2027 RAM 1500 Gas Only. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a Ram 2500 or 3500 crew cab → Rough Country Power (Ram 2500/3500) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Ram 2500/3500 (2010-2026) Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If your truck is not here

No picks here come from our own install or measurement, and the method is on how we verify fitment. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Tailgate questions

What is the most reliable brand of power running boards?

We cannot tell you, and we doubt anyone else can back it up. We found no independent failure data or durability test for any brand. What we can compare is warranty and paperwork. The AMP guides we read state a 5-year limited warranty, and Westin states 5 years on the boards. Warranty length is the maker's promise, not a measurement of reliability.

Which power running boards are the easiest to install?

On paper, Westin calls its Pro-e an easy, bolt-on, no-drill install. AMP's guides rate their jobs skill level 4, Experienced, and recommend professional installation. Rough Country's sheets give no time or skill rating, and the GM sheet has you drill through a floor grommet. Nobody here has installed any of them, so read the sheet for your exact part.

What are the best power steps for a lifted truck?

We cannot name one. None of the AMP or Rough Country documents we read says anything about a lift, so there is no maker statement to compare. Ask the maker before you buy for a lifted truck, and read our page on running boards for lifted trucks, which covers what to check on height and fit.

Are AMP power steps better than Rough Country?

They are better documented, and that is all we can say. AMP's guides state time, skill level, tools and warranty. The Rough Country sheets we read cover the mounting and wiring in detail but state no time, load or warranty, and the listing titles name no part number to tie them to. Performance and durability are unmeasured here for both.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we verify fit