Compatibility
GMC Truck Running Boards: Sierra, HD or Canyon, and the Titles That Skip GMC
GMC running boards split by model first: Sierra 1500, Sierra 2500 and 3500HD, or Canyon. Then comes the trap that catches GMC owners: some of the best-known listings name the Silverado 1500 but not the Sierra 1500. For a 2019-2026 Sierra 1500 crew cab, our pick is the Tyger Rider 3.5-inch, whose title names the Sierra and whose maker sheet we read.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
For a 2019-2026 Sierra 1500 crew cab, start with the Tyger Rider 3.5-inch, which names the Sierra in its title and has no drilling step in its sheet. Do not assume a Chevy board covers a GMC: COMNOVA titles name the Sierra only for 2500HD and 3500HD. A Canyon crew cab has its own Tyger listing. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
A running board is a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out. On a GMC, the first job is finding your model below. All of this comes from listing titles as we read them on November 2, 2026, plus the maker sheets we name. How we verify fitment explains the rule.
| Your GMC | What the listings state | Start with |
|---|---|---|
| 2019-2026 Sierra 1500 Crew Cab | Named by the Tyger and aluminum titles below | Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+) |
| 2020-2027 Sierra 2500 or 3500HD Crew Cab | Same Tyger titles, on their own HD years | Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+) |
| 2019 Sierra Limited | Left out of 2019-up by one title, or grouped with 2007-2018 | Tyger Rider 3.5" (2007-2018) |
| 2007-2018 Sierra 1500 Crew Cab | Separate listings | Tyger Rider 3.5" (2007-2018) |
| 2007-2018 Sierra 1500 Double or Extended Cab | One title uses both names | COMNOVA 6" Double Cab |
| 2007-2018 Sierra 1500 Regular Cab | One title names "2-Dr Standard Cab" | DNA Motoring 6.75" |
| 2015-2027 Canyon Crew Cab | Named by Tyger; COMNOVA stops at 2026 | Tyger Rider 3.5" (Colorado and Canyon) |
Tyger Auto
Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)
A 3.5-inch rail whose title names the Silverado and Sierra years, the HD split and the cab.
Why here: The title names the GMC Sierra 1500 outright and gives the HD years separately, and its part number leads to a maker sheet we could read.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- The part number in the title (TG-SS2C35068) ties the listing to Tyger's own instruction sheet
- That sheet bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and has no drilling step
- Title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years
Watch out for
- 3.5 inches wide per the title, narrower than the 6-inch boards
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
- The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited; a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering
Best for: Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.
Tyger's sheet for TG-SS2C35068 uses 8 brackets on threaded holes behind plugs along the bottom of the body, with no drilling step. It recommends a second person. It gives no install time and no weight rating, so we print neither.
The titles that skip the Sierra 1500
This is the part most GMC shoppers miss. Plenty of listings are written around the Chevy name:
- COMNOVA 6-inch*: "2019-2026 Chevy Silverado 1500, 2020-2026 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD". The Sierra 1500 is not there.
- COMNOVA 6-inch stainless*: the same split, with stainless steel in the title and no grade.
These may turn up in a search for a Sierra, but their own words do not name your truck. If you drive a Sierra 2500HD or 3500HD, both do name it. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
What is listed for a 2019-up Sierra crew cab
Boards, rails and drop steps are all listed, with differences in the small print. The words on a title are no build guarantee, so go by shape and width.
| Spec sheet | Our pick: Silverado and Sierra crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM) | Listing data onlyTyger Riser 6" (2019+ GM) | Listing data onlyTyger LanderX (2019+ GM) | Listing data onlyTyger Trax (2019+ GM) | Listing data onlyAluminum nerf bars (2019+ Silverado and Sierra) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | Crew Cab ... 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado & GMC Sierra 1500 (Excl 2019 Ld/Lt), 2020-2026 2500 HD 3500 HD |
| Style | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Drop step (as titled) | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) |
| Material | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Aluminum (title) |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Price class | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range | Budget |
| Best for | Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet. | GM crew cab owners who want a wider Tyger step. | GM crew cab owners who want the step lower than a straight rail. | GM crew cab owners comparing Tyger rails. | GM crew cab owners who want aluminum and an explicit LD exclusion on the listing. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
We read a maker sheet for the Rider only. The other four are listing data. The aluminum title excludes "2019 Ld/Lt". The Sierra page goes truck by truck.
If you drive a Sierra 1500
If you drive a Sierra 2500HD or 3500HD
If you drive a Canyon
If you want a powered step
Sierra Limited and older cabs
Several listing titles leave the 2019 LD out of their 2019-up range or list it with 2007-2018 trucks, and they write the GMC version as Limited. The older Tyger Rider* says "2019 LD/Limited". Our source for that split is listings only, with no GM document read. LUVERNE's 2023 catalog, a maker document but not GM's, also lists "Sierra 1500 Limited" on its own 2022 rows. So if your paperwork says Limited, read every title with that word in mind. The 2019 LD page has the wording.
ARIES files the Sierra Double under extended cabs and the Crew under crew cabs. The word Double does not travel across makers, as double cab vs crew cab shows. For 2007-2018 trucks, the COMNOVA Double Cab title* names Sierra 1500 Extended Cab, and the DNA Motoring title* names a two-door. Both are listing data only. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Canyon
The Tyger Rider 3.5-inch* states "2015-2027 Chevy Colorado GMC Canyon" and "Crew Cab" in one range, so confirm your year. Tyger's sheet for TG-SS2C35168 uses 6 brackets and has no drilling step. A search excerpt of Tyger's page says its part only fits a crew cab with 4 full-size doors. A separate unbranded title names the 2015-2026 Canyon Extended Cab. The Canyon page has both. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Power steps and factory steps
People search for GMC's own "power retractable assist steps". GMC's accessories site refused our reader, so we state no fit or code for those. Look at your window sticker first, and ask a GMC dealer if your truck already has steps. In the aftermarket:
AMP Research
AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)
The powered step with the clearest paperwork in our data: a maker install guide that names cabs, tools and time.
Why here: RealTruck's guide names the 2022-2026 Sierra 1500 with all cabs, which is more than most power step titles say.
- Fits, according to the listing and maker sheet
- Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026 (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Powered retractable step (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Guide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plug
- Warranty
- 5-Year Limited Warranty (guide)
- Price class
- Premium
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- RealTruck's install guide states a 5-year limited warranty and connects through an OBD II plug
- The guide lists every cab: 79-inch board for Crew, trimmed for Double and Single Cab
Watch out for
- The guide calls for drilling through the pinch weld and rates the job skill level 4 (experienced)
- Professional installation recommended; the guide states 3-5 hours
- The title gives no part number, so match 76255-01A on the listing
- Premium price class
Best for: Owners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install.
That guide, for part 76255-01A, states 3-5 hours, skill level 4 and professional installation recommended. It calls for drilling through the pinch weld. Its second line, on the Sierra 2500/3500, looks like a misprint to us, so we do not use it. The listing names no part number, so we tie it to the guide through the application only. Westin's Pro-e table has its own Sierra rows: part 29-24135 for the 2019-2026 Sierra 1500 Crew Cab and 2020-2027 HD Crew Cab. The rest are on power running boards.
We have no factory GMC boards in our data, and we print no weight rating for the parts above, because the titles and Tyger's sheets give none. Other makes are on all trucks.
Tailgate questions
Do Chevy Silverado running boards fit a GMC Sierra?
Only when the title says so. Tyger titles name both the Silverado and the Sierra 1500. COMNOVA's 2019-up titles name the Silverado 1500 and mention the Sierra only for 2500HD and 3500HD. Do not go by how alike the trucks look. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
What running boards fit a 2019-2026 Sierra 2500HD or 3500HD?
Tyger's titles run the heavy-duty trucks on different years from the 1500: 2020-2027 for the 2500 and 3500HD. The aluminum title says 2020-2026. A 2019 HD is outside those ranges, and some older titles state 2007-2019 for it. Go by the HD years in the title, not the 1500 years.
Does GMC offer factory power retractable assist steps?
Those words come up in GMC searches, but GMC's accessories site refused our reader, so we state no fit, option code or part number for factory steps. Ask a GMC dealer with your VIN. For aftermarket power steps, RealTruck's guide for the AMP PowerStep 76255-01A names the 2022-2026 Sierra 1500, all cabs.
Are Denali or AT4 trucks different for running boards?
The titles on this page do not name trims for 2019-up trucks, so they neither include nor exclude a Denali or an AT4. Trucks with factory steps already fitted are a separate question, which the titles also skip. Ask the seller about your exact trim before you order.
What about a 2027 Sierra 1500?
No title we read names one. Tyger titles reach 2027 only for the 2500 and 3500HD and stop the 1500 at 2026. We treat a 2027 Sierra 1500 as unverified and do not stretch a 2019-2026 listing to cover it. The Silverado side of that question is on our 2027 page.
Where this comes from
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-SS2C35068 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-SS2C35168 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- ARIES Automotive: truck cab guide
- RealTruck AMP Research installation guide IM76255, part 76255-01A (PDF)
- Westin Automotive: Pro-e power running boards, fit table
- LUVERNE: 2023 catalog and application guides (PDF hosted by a dealer)
Keep reading
- CompatibilityAll trucksWhich running boards fit your truck depends on model, year block, cab and sometimes bed. See the splits listings state for each truck and where to start.
- CompatibilitySierra 1500GMC Sierra 1500 running boards by year and cab. Many titles share the Silverado, some name the Sierra only for HD, and none here names Denali or AT4.
- CompatibilityGMC CanyonGMC Canyon running boards are mostly shared Colorado listings. See which titles name the Canyon, which cab they state, and the 2023 catch to check before you buy.
- CompatibilitySilverado / Sierra HDRunning boards for the Chevy 2500 and Sierra HD split at 2019 and 2020, a year after the 1500. What the titles state, and why a 2019 HD goes with the older trucks.
- CompatibilitySilverado power stepsSilverado and Sierra power running boards split by year: 2019, 2022-2026 and older. What AMP, Westin and Rough Country sheets state, and where titles fall short.
- About usHow we verify fitFit here is what a listing title or maker sheet states, marked as such. What we read, what blocked us and why you still confirm year and cab before you buy.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint