Compatibility
Running Boards for the 2005-2023 Tacoma: Double Cab and Access Cab
For a 2005-2023 Tacoma, the cab decides the listing. A Double Cab has five listings in our data, and we start with the COMNOVA aluminum board. An Access Cab has one. Every title runs 2005-2023 as a single range, across two truck generations, and none says what changes inside it. For factory boards, your Toyota dealer is the source.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
Double Cab: start with the COMNOVA aluminum board, or compare two Tyger drop rails, an oval tube rail and an OEDRO drop step. Access Cab: one unbranded title names it. These are listing statements only, with no maker sheet read. Titles span 2005-2023 in one block, across two generations. Factory boards come through Toyota. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
The Tacoma overview sets out the split at 2023 and 2024. This page stays on the older trucks and adds what the overview leaves out: how a single title spans two generations, how the shapes differ and what to do about factory boards.
We use "start here" and not "our pick". A pick on this site needs a maker document, and we could not read one for any of these parts.
What the titles state
Read November 2, 2026. This is title wording, according to the listing, and we add nothing to it.
| Listing | Cab as titled | Shape as titled | Part number in title |
|---|---|---|---|
| COMNOVA | Double/Crew Cab | Aluminum running board | None |
| Tyger Access | Double Cab | Textured black drop step rail | TG-AS2T24004 |
| Tyger LanderX | Double Cab | Drop step, side step rail, nerf bars | TG-LX3T82338 |
| Tyger Rider | Double Cab | 3.5-inch oval tube rail | TG-SS2T64961 |
| OEDRO | Double Cab | Drop down running board | None |
| Brand not in title | Xtar/Access Cab | Running boards, step bars | None |
Every one of them says 2005-2023. Searching for a 2015, a 2016, a 2019 or a 2023 lands you on the same titles. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Double Cab: where to start
COMNOVA
COMNOVA Aluminum (2005-2023 Tacoma)
An aluminum board listed for the 2005-2023 Double Cab.
Why here: It is a plain board with the material, years and cab in the title. No maker sheet backs it, so this is where to start and not a pick.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma Double/Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Running board / step bar (as titled)
- Material
- Aluminum (title)
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Not stated in the title
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Title names material and years
Watch out for
- The title says Double/Crew; Toyota's name for this cab is Double
- Listing data only
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
Best for: 2005-2023 Double Cab owners who want aluminum.
Listing data only: We only have the Amazon listing title for this one, no maker sheet. It is an option, not a recommendation.
The title's "Double/Crew Cab" is the seller's wording. Toyota's name for this cab is Double Cab, and ARIES files that cab under crew. If you want a lower step or a tube, compare these.
| Spec sheet | Start here: Tacoma 2005-2023COMNOVA Aluminum (2005-2023 Tacoma) | Listing data onlyTyger Access (2005-2023 Tacoma) | Listing data onlyTyger LanderX (2005-2023 Tacoma) | Listing data onlyTyger Rider 3.5" Oval (2005-2023 Tacoma) | Listing data onlyOEDRO Drop Down (2005-2023 Tacoma) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma Double/Crew Cab | 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma | Double Cab | 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma | Double Cab | 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma | Double Cab | 2005-2023 Tacoma Double Cab |
| Style | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Drop step (as titled) | Drop step (as titled) | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Drop step (as titled) |
| Material | Aluminum (title) | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Price class | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range | Mid-range |
| Best for | 2005-2023 Double Cab owners who want aluminum. | 2005-2023 Double Cab owners who want a lower step. | 2005-2023 Double Cab owners comparing drop steps. | 2005-2023 Double Cab owners who prefer a tube. | 2005-2023 Double Cab owners comparing drop steps. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
If you drive a Double Cab and want a plain flat board → COMNOVA Aluminum (2005-2023 Tacoma) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma Double/Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want step bars or an oval tube on a Double Cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" Oval (2005-2023 Tacoma) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma | Double Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf the first step is the climb on a Double Cab → Tyger Access (2005-2023 Tacoma) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma | Double Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want to compare another drop step → Tyger LanderX (2005-2023 Tacoma) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma | Double Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive an Access Cab → Step bars (2005-2023 Tacoma Access Cab) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma Xtar/Access Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2024-up Tacoma
One range, two generations
Wikipedia places the second-generation Tacoma at model years 2005-2015 and the third at 2016-2023. It lists regular, access and double cabs for the second generation, and access and double cabs for the third. These titles treat all of it as one block.
That does not make the titles wrong. It means a title does not answer the question for you:
- Near 2015 and 2016. No title says whether the part differs at that line. Ask the seller if your truck sits close to it.
- Regular cab. Wikipedia lists one for the older generation. No listing in our data names it, which means none in our data.
- Trim. One slider listing we read rules out TRD Off-Road and TRD Sport by name, for the same 2005-2023 Double Cab. These six titles name no trim, and that silence does not settle it either way.
- Bed. None of these titles names a bed length. On parts that run past the cab, it can matter, and bed and cab fitment shows how.
We do not use the generation dates to work out fit. If a seller says a part fits your truck, ask that seller to confirm it for your year in writing. How to check a listing fits has the routine.
Access Cab
The step bars for the Access Cab* are the only listing we have for this cab, with "Xtar/Access" in the title and no brand. ARIES files the Access Cab under extended cabs, for 2005 to current in its table, and it calls that table a guide only. Do not put a Double Cab part on an Access Cab. Extended cab vs crew cab explains the door difference, and extended cab running boards has the wider list. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Tacoma factory running boards
Many owners search for the factory part first. We can't give you what we could not read: toyota.com and a Toyota parts dealer both refused our requests. So we print no factory part numbers, fit or material here. Ask your Toyota dealer these questions, with your VIN to hand:
- What is the part number, and which years and cabs does it cover?
- Does it need the truck to have anything else fitted, such as brackets or a package?
- What does the warranty say when a dealer fits it, and when you do?
Bring those answers back to this page and compare them with the listings. OEM vs aftermarket running boards covers the trade-off in general.
Shape, sliders and the numbers we leave out
Shape. A drop rail puts the step lower than the rail, which helps when the first step is the problem. A tube is narrow, 3.5 inches on the Rider per its title. A board gives your boot more to stand on.
Sliders. A step is for your boot. Many Amazon titles use the word slider on step rails, so do not buy protection on one word. See Tacoma rock sliders.
Numbers. No title on this page gives a weight rating we print, and we have no maker sheet here, so we state no install time and no drilling answer. For comparison, Tyger's sheet for a Silverado part has a clear parts list and no drilling step, and we do not carry that across to a Tacoma.
What to do next
Know your cab, then your shape, then ask the seller anything the title leaves out. A 2024-up truck belongs on the 2024-2026 Tacoma page. Our rules are on how we verify fitment.
What do you drive?
Start with the truck. We only show what a listing title or maker states for it.
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Tailgate questions
Where do I get Tacoma factory running boards?
Start with a Toyota dealer's parts counter and your VIN. We read no Toyota document for factory boards, because toyota.com and a Toyota parts dealer refused our requests. So we print no part numbers or fit for them. Ask for the part number, which cabs it covers and how it mounts, then compare with what you see here.
Do these running boards fit a 3rd gen Tacoma?
The titles do not use the word generation. They state 2005-2023, and Wikipedia places the third generation at 2016-2023, so those years sit inside that range as titled. None of the titles says whether the part changes at 2016. If your truck sits near that line, ask the seller. Check your exact year and cab on the listing.
What running boards are listed for a 2017 Tacoma?
No title we read names 2017 by itself. Five state 2005-2023 for the Double Cab, one with the wording Double/Crew Cab, and one states 2005-2023 for the Access Cab, spelled Xtar/Access. Pick by your cab first and then by shape. Read the whole title, because trims and beds can matter on some parts.
Are Access Cab and Double Cab running boards the same?
Do not plan on it. Listings keep them apart, and ARIES files the Access Cab under extended cabs and the Double Cab under crew cabs. Toyota's cab names also change at 2024, when the Access Cab name gives way to XtraCab on the newer truck. Buy the listing that names your cab.
Do 2005-2023 Tacoma running boards need drilling?
We cannot say for these parts. We could not read a maker sheet for any of them, and a sheet address we tried for the Tyger Rider returned nothing. Sheets we did read for other trucks range from no drilling step to drilling may be required. Ask the seller or read the instructions on the listing first.
Where this comes from
Keep reading
- CompatibilityTacomaTacoma running boards split at 2023 and 2024, and by Double, Access and XtraCab. See what the listings state, where to start and what rock sliders are not.
- CompatibilityTacoma 2024-2026Running boards for the 2024-2026 Tacoma by cab: Double Cab, XtraCab and hybrid. What each title names, what Toyota says on grades, and where listings disagree.
- Buying guideTacoma rock slidersTacoma rock sliders on Amazon: which ones state a frame mount, which are titled as nerf bars, and what 2005-2023 and 2024-up owners should read before ordering.
- ComparisonOEM vs aftermarketFactory running boards vs aftermarket: who states the fit, who backs the part and what it does to your truck's warranty, with Ford's pages as the example.
- How-toCheck a listing fitsCheck any running board listing against your truck in seven steps: year, cab, exclusions, part number and maker sheet. Real title traps, and what to ask the seller.
- About usHow we verify fitFit here is what a listing title or maker sheet states, marked as such. What we read, what blocked us and why you still confirm year and cab before you buy.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint