Buying guide
Running Boards for Extended, Double, Quad and SuperCab Trucks
Extended cab running boards are sold under the maker's cab name, not under the word extended, so search for Double Cab, Quad Cab, SuperCab, Access Cab or XtraCab. This is a thin part of the market. Most titles we read say crew, and a crew cab part is not a stand-in. Start with the listing that names your exact cab.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
Search by your maker's cab name. For a 2007-2018 Silverado or Sierra, start with the COMNOVA 6-inch, whose title says both Double and Extended. For an older-body Ram or Classic Quad Cab, start with the aluminum Quad Cab listing. Tacoma Access and XtraCab owners have their own titles. All of these are listing data only, so check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Here is the problem with "extended cab". It describes a group of cabs, and many makers do not put that word on the truck. According to the ARIES cab guide, an extended cab has at least two full-size, front-hinged doors and seating behind the first row, reached by moving the front seats forward or through smaller rear doors. Each maker gives that cab a name of its own, and sellers title their parts with that name.
So first get the name right. Then buy the part. If you are not sure which cab you have, how to tell which cab you have takes a few minutes. The full cab guide explains the whole family, and extended cab vs crew cab covers the difference in detail.
What your maker calls an extended cab
| Truck | Extended group name, per ARIES | Listing we can point you to |
|---|---|---|
| Chevrolet Silverado, GMC Sierra | Double (2014 to current), Extended (before 2004) | COMNOVA and MaxMate below |
| Chevrolet Colorado, GMC Canyon | Extended | None in our product list yet |
| Ford F-150 | SuperCab | No Amazon listing in our data; Ford's catalog names this cab |
| Ford Super Duty | SuperCab | None in our product list yet |
| Ram 1500 | Quad | Aluminum Quad Cab below, older body and Classic only |
| Ram 2500, 3500 | None listed | See the note on the Quad listing below |
| Nissan Frontier, Titan | King | None in our data |
| Toyota Tacoma | Access (2005 to current), XtraCab (1995-2004) | Access and XtraCab titles below |
| Toyota Tundra | Double (2007 to current), Access (2000-2006) | Double Cab title below |
ARIES says its table only aids understanding and does not imply shared designs. Fit in every section below is what the title states, read 2 November 2026. See how to check a listing fits for the last step.
Where to start
We have no "our pick" on this page, and that is deliberate. We award that label only where we read a maker sheet, and none of these listings has one we could read. So treat the choices below as a place to start, by truck.
If you drive a 2007-2018 Silverado or Sierra 1500 Double or Extended Cab → COMNOVA 6" Double Cab (2007-2018 GM) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: Double Cab ... 2007-2018 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra 1500 Extended Cab, 2007-2019 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a slim tube on an older GM Double Cab → MaxMate 3" nerf bars (1999-2018 GM double cab) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 1999-2018 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500 2500 LD; 2001-2019 2500 3500HD; 2019 LD/Limited (Exclude SS) | Double Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2009-2018 Ram 1500 or 2019-2024 Classic Quad Cab → Aluminum Quad Cab (Ram older body and Classic) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: Quad Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2005-2023 Tacoma Access Cab → Step bars (2005-2023 Tacoma Access Cab) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma Xtar/Access Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2024-up Tacoma XtraCab → Tyger Trax (2024+ Tacoma XtraCab) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2024-2027 Toyota Tacoma | XtraCab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2007-2021 Tundra Double Cab → Running boards (2007-2021 Tundra Double Cab) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2007-2021 Toyota Tundra Double Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive something else
| Spec sheet | Listing data onlyCOMNOVA 6" Double Cab (2007-2018 GM) | Listing data onlyMaxMate 3" nerf bars (1999-2018 GM double cab) | Listing data onlyAluminum Quad Cab (Ram older body and Classic) | Listing data onlyStep bars (2005-2023 Tacoma Access Cab) | Listing data onlyTyger Trax (2024+ Tacoma XtraCab) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | Double Cab ... 2007-2018 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra 1500 Extended Cab, 2007-2019 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD | 1999-2018 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500 2500 LD; 2001-2019 2500 3500HD; 2019 LD/Limited (Exclude SS) | Double Cab | Quad Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500 | 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma Xtar/Access Cab | 2024-2027 Toyota Tacoma | XtraCab |
| Style | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) |
| Material | Stainless steel (title) | Not stated in the title | Aluminum (title) | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Price class | Budget | Mid-range | Budget | Mid-range | Mid-range |
| Best for | Owners of a 2007-2018 GM truck with the shorter rear doors. | Older GM double cab owners who want a plain round-tube look. | Quad Cab owners on the older body or Classic. | 2005-2023 Access Cab owners. | 2024-up XtraCab owners. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
The listings, one by one
COMNOVA 6-inch for 2007-2018 GM
COMNOVA
COMNOVA 6" Double Cab (2007-2018 GM)
A stainless 6-inch board that uses both names, Double and Extended, in one title.
Why here: Its title uses both cab names, Double and Extended, in one line, which answers the question most GM owners have.
- Fits, according to the listing
- Double Cab ... 2007-2018 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra 1500 Extended Cab, 2007-2019 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Running board / step bar (as titled)
- Material
- Stainless steel (title)
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Not stated in the title
- Price class
- Budget
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Title names both cab terms, which helps when your paperwork says the other one
- Title names stainless steel
Watch out for
- Listing data only
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
- Stainless grade is not stated
Best for: Owners of a 2007-2018 GM truck with the shorter rear doors.
Listing data only: We only have the Amazon listing title for this one, no maker sheet. It is an option, not a recommendation.
The title reads "Double Cab" up front and then "2007-2018 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra 1500 Extended Cab, 2007-2019 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD". That helps when your paperwork says one word and the listing says the other. It names stainless steel with no grade and states no weight rating. Price class: budget. Our Silverado page has the rest of that truck.
Strength: the clearest cab wording in this group. Weakness: title data only.
MaxMate 3-inch for older GM Double Cabs
The MaxMate* is a 3-inch tube titled for 1999-2018 Silverado and Sierra 1500 and 2500 LD, 2001-2019 2500 and 3500HD, and the 2019 LD/Limited, excluding the SS, with Double Cab named. It takes up the 2019 LD question, which most titles skip.
Strength: wide year coverage as stated. Weakness: at 3 inches, it is the narrowest step in our data, and it is listing data only.
Aluminum Quad Cab for the older Ram body and Classic
This aluminum step* is one of the few titles in our data to name the Quad Cab. It says "Quad Cab", then 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic and Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500, and "New Body Style Not Fit". Price class: budget. There is no brand in the title.
One thing to look at twice: the title lists the 2500 and 3500, while the ARIES table shows no extended-group cab for those trucks. We quote the title and do not explain the gap. If you drive a 2500 or 3500, confirm with the seller. The Ram 1500 page goes through the Classic split.
Strength: it names the cab and rules out the new body. Weakness: no brand, no sheet, and no new-body option.
Tacoma Access Cab and XtraCab
Most Tacoma parts we read say Double Cab, and that is a crew-group cab per ARIES, so those do not help here. Two listings do name the smaller cab.
The first* is titled for the "2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma Xtar/Access Cab", spelling and all. It names no brand. The second* is the Tyger Trax titled for the "2024-2027 Toyota Tacoma", XtraCab, with part number TG-TX7T28228 and a mid-range price class. We could not read Tyger's sheet for it. The Tacoma page covers the generation split.
Strength: they name a cab that many lists skip. Weakness: listing data only, both.
Tundra Double Cab
This listing* is titled for the 2007-2021 Toyota Tundra Double Cab. ARIES files that cab under extended. It is listing data only, and the Tundra page has the CrewMax split, which is a different cab and a different part.
Colorado Extended Cab and Super Duty Super Cab
Brand not in title
Running boards (Colorado and Canyon extended cab)
A plain listing that names the Colorado and Canyon extended cab.
Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2026 Chevy Colorado/GMC Canyon Extended Cab
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Listing data only
COMNOVA
COMNOVA OE Style (1999-2016 Super Cab)
An aftermarket board for the older Super Duty that names the Super Cab, and uses the words OE Style.
Fits, according to the listing: 1999-2016 Ford F250 F350 Super Cab
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Listing data only
The first is titled for the "2015-2026 Chevy Colorado/GMC Canyon Extended Cab", with no brand. The second is COMNOVA's title for the "1999-2016 Ford F250 F350 Super Cab". Both are listing data only. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Other cabs, and where to look
F-150 SuperCab. We have no Amazon listing for it in our data. Ford's own catalog does name it, for example "F-150 SuperCab 2015-2027 5 in. Aluminum Step Bars in Black" and "F-150 SuperCab 2021-2027 Extended Length Step Bars". Westin's Pro-e fit table also names SuperCab trucks. See the F-150 page for details.
Colorado, Canyon and Super Duty. We saw Amazon titles naming the Colorado and Canyon Extended Cab and the 1999-2016 F-250 and F-350 Super Cab, but they are not in our product list yet, so we cannot show you a checked fit line for them.
New-body Ram 1500 Quad Cab. No Amazon listing in our data. That does not mean none exists.
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
What to check before you order
- The cab name. It must match what your maker calls your cab. "Extended" alone in a title is not enough, because the name changes by truck.
- Your rear doors. Short doors, or none and a seat that moves forward, point to the extended group. Doors that may open only after the front doors are open are an extended-cab trait, per ARIES. That also matters for where a step sits.
- Length. RealTruck's guide for the AMP PowerStep 76255-01A uses 79 inches for a Crew Cab and trims it to 69 for a Double Cab. That number is for that part only, but it shows why length follows the cab. Bed and cab fitment has more.
- Drilling and load. None of these titles states a weight rating, so we print none. Ask the seller for an install sheet before you assume no drilling.
Mistakes that cost you a return
- Ordering a crew cab part because it has more choice. Most of the market is crew cab. That does not make it yours.
- Carrying Double Cab across makers. A Silverado Double and a Tacoma Double are in different ARIES groups.
- Going by door count. Four door handles do not make a crew cab. See what is a crew cab.
- Treating a missing name as a yes. If your cab is not in the title, ask the seller. Do not assume it.
What do you drive?
Start with the truck. We only show what a listing title or maker states for it.
Bottom line
Name your cab first. On a 2007-2018 GM, start with the COMNOVA 6-inch*. On an older Ram Quad Cab or Classic, start with the aluminum Quad Cab step*. If your cab is not named on any of these, do not settle for the closest thing. Everything here follows how we verify fitment, so nothing above comes from an install of our own. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Tailgate questions
Will crew cab step bars fit an extended cab?
Do not plan on it. Listings name the cab, and RealTruck's guide for its 2022-up GM PowerStep shows why with numbers: the board is 79 inches for a Crew Cab and trimmed to 69 for a Double Cab. Those figures are for that one part. Buy the listing that names your cab.
What are extended cab running boards called?
It depends on the truck. In the ARIES cab table the extended group is Double on 2014-up Silverado and Sierra, Quad on the Ram 1500, SuperCab on Ford, King on Nissan, and Access or XtraCab on the Tacoma. The 2007-up Tundra Double is in that group too. Use the name your maker gives your cab.
Are there running boards for a Ram 1500 Quad Cab?
Yes, for the older body in our data. The aluminum Quad Cab listing is stated for 2009-2018 Ram 1500 and the 2019-2024 Classic, and says the new body style does not fit. We have no Amazon listing in our data for a new-body Quad Cab, which does not mean none exists.
Are there running boards for a Tacoma Access Cab?
Yes. One listing in our data is titled for the 2005-2023 Tacoma Xtar/Access Cab, and a Tyger Trax is titled for the 2024-2027 Tacoma XtraCab. Most Tacoma parts we read say Double Cab, and those are a different cab. Both Access and XtraCab parts here are listing data only.
Does a Double Cab take extended cab boards?
On some trucks that is the same cab. ARIES files the Silverado and Sierra Double and the 2007-up Tundra Double under extended, and the Tacoma Double under crew. So there is no one answer across makers. Read the title for your truck, and use your own rear doors to confirm which cab you have.
Where this comes from
Keep reading
- ExplainerTruck cab typesThere are three truck cab types: regular, extended and crew. Each maker names them differently. See Ford, Ram, GM, Toyota and Nissan names, sizes and door layouts.
- ExplainerExtended vs crew cabA crew cab typically has four full-size doors. An extended cab has smaller rear doors or a seat-forward layout. See each maker's names and why boards don't swap.
- How-toWhich cab do you have?Find your truck's exact cab name in six steps: paperwork, VIN decoder, doors, hinges and the maker's name. Why door count alone can buy you the wrong boards.
- ExplainerQuad vs Crew CabQuad Cab vs Crew Cab on a Ram: where each sits in the ARIES table, why boards are sold separately, and what Westin and listing titles state for each cab.
- ExplainerSuperCab vs SuperCrewSuperCrew is Ford's crew cab, SuperCab its extended cab. See Ford's numbers, the one measurement that fools people and why F-150 boards are listed per cab.
- Buying guideCrew cab running boardsCrew cab running boards by make: Ford says SuperCrew, Toyota says Double Cab or CrewMax. Find your cab's name, then the listed part for your truck and years.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint