Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

Buying guide

Running Boards for Crew Cab Trucks: Names by Make and Parts by Year

Crew cab running boards are the biggest group on the market, and your truck may not call itself a crew cab. Ford's F-150 says SuperCrew, the Tacoma says Double Cab and the 2007-up Tundra says CrewMax. Find your maker's name, then buy the listing that names it. On a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab, our pick is the Tyger Rider.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 7 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Straight answer

Start with your maker's name for the cab: Crew on GM, Ram and Super Duty, SuperCrew on the F-150, Double on the Tacoma, CrewMax on the 2007-up Tundra, per ARIES. Each listing names years and a cab, so no board covers all crew cabs. Our pick for a 2019-up GM crew cab is the Tyger Rider. Check your exact year and cab on the listing.

What's on this page

Most of what you will find for sale is crew cab, so you have plenty to choose from. That is also the trap. Plenty of titles say Crew Cab and fit one truck family only. According to the ARIES cab guide, a crew cab is the largest of the three types and typically has four full-size, front-hinging doors. If you are not sure that describes yours, read what is a crew cab first.

Fit sheetOur pick: Silverado and Sierra crewAd

Tyger Auto

Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)

A 3.5-inch rail whose title names the Silverado and Sierra years, the HD split and the cab.

Why here: Its title separates the GM 1500 years from the HD years and names the cab, and its part number leads to a maker sheet we could read.

Fits, according to the listing
2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
Price class
Mid-range

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • The part number in the title (TG-SS2C35068) ties the listing to Tyger's own instruction sheet
  • That sheet bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and has no drilling step
  • Title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years

Watch out for

  • 3.5 inches wide per the title, narrower than the 6-inch boards
  • No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
  • The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited; a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering

Best for: Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

What each maker calls a crew cab

ARIES says its table only promotes a better understanding of the cab types and does not imply design similarities across makes. Fit below is what the title states, read November 2, 2026.

TruckCrew-group name, per ARIESWhere to startYears and cab, per the title
Silverado, SierraCrew cabTyger Rider TG-SS2C350682019-2026 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD, Crew Cab
Colorado, CanyonCrew cabTyger Rider TG-SS2C351682015-2027, Crew Cab
F-150SuperCrewTyger Riser TG-RS6F601182015-2027 F-150; 2022-2025 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD, Supercrew Cab
Super DutyCrew cabSame Tyger listing as aboveSee the F-150 row
Ram 1500, new bodyCrew cabTyger Rider TG-SS2D350982019-2027 (Not fit 19-24 Classic), Crew Cab
Ram 1500 older body and Classic, Ram 2500 3500Crew cab; 2500 and 3500 also Mega cabAluminum crew2009-2018 1500, 2019-2024 Classic, 2010-2026 2500 3500, Crew Cab
TacomaDouble cabTyger Access, or COMNOVA on the older truck2024-2027 Double Cab; 2005-2023 Double/Crew Cab
TundraCrewMax from 2007; Double 2004-2006Aluminum 6-inch2007-2021 Crewmax Cab 4 Full Size Doors

Two things stand out. The Tundra name flips: ARIES has Double in the crew column for 2004-2006, and in the extended column from 2007 on. And ARIES lists a Mega cab for the Ram 2500 and 3500, but no Amazon title in our data names it, so ask the seller before you buy for a Mega cab. The full table of names is on our cab guide.

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Which part for which crew cab?

Find your truck

  • If you drive a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a new-body Ram 1500 crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive an older Ram 1500, a Classic or a 2500/3500 crew cab → Aluminum crew (Ram older body and Classic) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Crew Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2015-up F-150 SuperCrew and want a flat step → Tyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2015-up F-150 SuperCrew and want a lower step → Tyger LanderX (F-150 SuperCrew) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a Colorado or Canyon crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (Colorado and Canyon)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Chevy Colorado GMC Canyon | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2024-up Tacoma Double Cab → Tyger Access (2024+ Tacoma) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2024-2027 Toyota Tacoma (Fits Hybrid) | Double Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax → Aluminum 6" (2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2007-2021 Toyota Tundra Crewmax Cab 4 Full Size Doors. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive something else

Compared: one part per truck family

These are not rivals, since each is listed for a different truck. The table shows how titles differ in what they spell out.

Comparison: Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM), Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500), Tyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew), Tyger Rider 3.5" (Colorado and Canyon), Aluminum crew (Ram older body and Classic)
Spec sheetOur pick: Silverado and Sierra crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)Our pick: Ram 1500 new body crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500)Our pick: F-150 SuperCrewTyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew)Our pick: Colorado and Canyon crewTyger Rider 3.5" (Colorado and Canyon)Budget optionAluminum crew (Ram older body and Classic)
Fits, according to the listing2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab2015-2027 Chevy Colorado GMC Canyon | Crew CabCrew Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500
StyleRail / nerf bar (as titled)Rail / nerf bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)Rail / nerf bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)
MaterialNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleAluminum (title)
Weight ratingNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
InstallBolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedBolt-on with 6 brackets to factory studs; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedBolt-on to factory studs with plastic retainers; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedBolt-on with 6 brackets at existing mounting locations; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedNot stated in the title
Price classMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-rangeBudget
Best forCrew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.New-body Ram 1500 crew cab owners. Not for the Classic.SuperCrew owners on the 2015-up F-150 who want a wide step and a clear install sheet.Colorado or Canyon crew cab owners who want a rail and a readable install.Crew cab owners with a 2009-2018 Ram 1500, a 2019-2024 Classic, or a 2010-up 2500/3500.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Fit and specs as the listing title or maker sheet states them. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. Swipe sideways on a phone.

The parts, by truck

Silverado and Sierra crew cab

Our pick is the Tyger Rider. Tyger's sheet TG-SS2C35068 uses 8 brackets, threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and no drilling step. It recommends a second person. The width is 3.5 inches per the title. The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited, and other listings treat that truck differently, so read the 2019 Silverado LD page if yours is a 2019. The 2019-2026 Silverado page has wider boards. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Ram crew cab: new body or not

Sort out your body first, because the titles split on it. The Tyger Rider TG-SS2D35098* says "Not fit 19-24 Classic". Its sheet puts 6 brackets on factory studs with no drilling step. The aluminum crew step* goes the other way and says "New Body Style Not Fit". It covers the older 1500, the Classic and the 2500 and 3500 at the budget end, with no brand in the title and listing data only. The Ram 1500 page sorts out the rest. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

F-150 SuperCrew and Super Duty crew

Tyger puts them in one title. The Riser 6-inch* is the flat step with a sheet, and the sheet uses plastic retainers to keep the aluminum panel away from the steel brackets. The LanderX* is the drop step from the same title family, with listing data only. Neither is listed for the SuperCab. SuperCab vs SuperCrew tells them apart. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Colorado and Canyon crew cab

The Tyger Rider TG-SS2C35168* has a readable sheet with 6 brackets and no drilling step, and its title spans 2015-2027 in one range, so confirm your year. The COMNOVA 6-inch* is the wider, budget option, titled for 2015-2026, with listing data only. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Tacoma Double Cab and Tundra CrewMax

We have no maker sheet for any Toyota part here, so these are places to start and not picks. The Tyger Access* is the drop rail for the 2024-2027 Tacoma Double Cab, hybrid named. The COMNOVA aluminum* is titled for the 2005-2023 Double/Crew Cab. The aluminum 6-inch* spells out "Crewmax Cab 4 Full Size Doors". Our Toyota page sorts the two trucks. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Bed length, and how far the board runs

According to ARIES, cab-length boards typically give easier access to the cab, while wheel-to-wheel boards run from the front wheel to the rear wheel and cost more. None of the titles above calls itself wheel-to-wheel. Once a part runs past the cab, the bed joins the fit question, and bed and cab fitment explains how to read those titles. See wheel-to-wheel running boards if you want the longer kind.

What to check before you order

  • The name on your truck. Crew, SuperCrew, Double or CrewMax, and which one for your truck and year.
  • Your rear doors. Four door handles do not prove a crew cab. Some extended cabs have small rear doors, as extended cab running boards explains.
  • The body change. Ram and GM titles split inside the same model year range. Read the exclusions in the title.
  • The HD years. One Silverado title gives different years for the 1500 and the 2500 and 3500HD, so read which year goes with which.
  • Load. No title on this page states one that we would print, so we print none.

Mistakes people make

  • Searching "crew cab" and stopping there. The cab word is half of a fit statement, and the years are the other half.
  • Carrying Double Cab across makers. A Tacoma Double and a Silverado Double are in different ARIES groups.
  • Assuming the 1500 and HD share years. Some titles run them together, and others do not.
  • Trusting a year range past what the maker shows. Some titles run to 2027 where we could not confirm it from the maker. Ask the seller.

What do you drive?

Start with the truck. We only show what a listing title or maker states for it.

Bottom line

Name your cab, then match the title. On a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra, take the Tyger Rider*. On a new-body Ram 1500, take the Tyger Rider for that truck. On an F-150 SuperCrew, take the Tyger Riser. For anything else, all trucks has the full list, and how we verify fitment explains how we read the titles. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Tailgate questions

Do crew cab running boards fit every crew cab truck?

No. Each part is built for specific model years and cabs, sometimes bed lengths. A crew cab rail for a 2019-up Silverado and one for a new-body Ram 1500 are separate listings with separate part numbers. The word crew cab narrows your search, and it does not finish it. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Is SuperCrew the same as a crew cab?

ARIES files the F-150 SuperCrew in its crew column, and it files Super Duty under the plain name Crew cab. Tyger's F-150 titles use one line for both, Supercrew Cab, while naming the F-250 and F-350 SD as well. So on Ford, look for the word that matches your door badge and the years in the title.

Is a Tacoma Double Cab a crew cab?

ARIES files it there. Do not carry that over to other trucks, because ARIES files the Silverado and 2007-up Tundra Double Cabs under extended. One COMNOVA title for the 2005-2023 Tacoma says Double/Crew Cab, which reflects the same overlap. Shop by the name for your truck, and read your own rear doors.

Do crew cab running boards change with the bed length?

Not on cab-length parts, going by ARIES, since those run along the cab. Wheel-to-wheel boards run from the front wheel to the rear wheel, so bed length matters there, and those listings often name it. We found no maker text that states a rule across all crew cabs, so read the title for your part.

How long are crew cab running boards?

There is no one length. The only maker figure we can quote is RealTruck's guide for its 2022-up GM PowerStep: a 79-inch board for a Crew Cab, trimmed to 69 for a Double Cab and 50 for a Single Cab. That belongs to that part alone. Most listings we read state no length, so ask the seller.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we verify fit