Question & answer
Do Running Boards Reduce Ground Clearance? Fixed, Drop and Power Compared
Usually not on paper, but yes where it counts on a trail. Ground clearance is measured at the truck's lowest point, typically the differential. A fixed step does not move that point unless it hangs lower. It does take away room along the side of the truck, and we found no maker that publishes by how much.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The straight answer
A fixed board or tube sits below the rocker, so it cuts the room under the side of your truck, even if the spec-sheet figure, taken at the lowest point, stays the same. Drop steps sit lower than their rail. Power steps tuck up when the doors close. No maker we read publishes a clearance figure, so measure your own truck.
Two different things get called ground clearance, and most of the arguing comes from mixing them up.
The spec-sheet number and the room you actually have
The published figure is the shortest distance from flat ground to the lowest part of the vehicle, and that part is typically the bottom of the differential housing, per Wikipedia's entry on ride height. A step bolted under the doors only changes that figure if it hangs lower than that point.
The room under the side of the truck is another matter. That is where a step lives. So a board can leave the brochure number alone and still be the first thing to touch a rock.
For scale, Ford's 2026 F-150 sheet lists these clean rows, in inches:
| 2026 F-150 | 4x2 clearance | 4x4 clearance | 4x2 breakover | 4x4 breakover |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular Cab, 6.5-ft box | 8.3 | 9.8 | 20.1° | 23.3° |
| Regular Cab, 8-ft box | 8.2 | 9.8 | 17.9° | 20.7° |
| SuperCab, 6.5-ft box | 8.2 | 9.8 | 17.3° | 20.0° |
Two takeaways. Drivetrain moves the figure by about 1.5 inches on these rows. And about the same clearance with a longer wheelbase gives a smaller breakover angle, which is how much crest the truck can clear before its belly touches. Ford's sheet does not say whether a step is part of any of these numbers, so assume the figures describe the truck and nothing you bolt on.
Fixed, drop and power compared
| Style | Where it sits | What it means for clearance |
|---|---|---|
| Fixed board or tube | Below the doors, on brackets at the rocker or pinch weld | Always down. The room under the side of the truck shrinks by whatever the part and brackets take. No published figure found |
| High-mount fixed step | LUVERNE says its Side Entry Steps mount "high-and-tight against the rocker panels" | Shows that mount height varies by design, even inside one brand. LUVERNE gives no inch figure on that page |
| Drop step | Step sits lower than its rail, by design | Easier first step, less room under it. It trades one for the other |
| Power step | Deploys when the doors open, tucks up when they close | Out of the way while moving. Westin says the Pro-e retracts "flush against the vehicle body" |
| Rock slider | Frame-mounted protection, not always a step | A different job. See what makes a rock slider |
On numbers, be careful with what you read. WOLFBOX, which sells power boards, states a loss of "2 to 5 inches in most cases" in one spot and a step 3 to 6 inches below the rocker in another. It gives no measurements, and its conclusion favors what it sells. Treat those as a seller's estimate and not as data.
Power steps: what the paperwork does and does not say
RealTruck's guide for the AMP PowerStep 76255-01A says the step deploys from under the vehicle when the doors open and returns to its stowed position after a 2-second delay when they close. That is a good answer for a truck that sees trails. The guide does not say how low the stowed step sits, so "no clearance loss" would be a claim we cannot back up. Motors, linkages and wires are also new parts under the truck.
AMP Research
AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)
The powered step with the clearest paperwork in our data: a maker install guide that names cabs, tools and time.
Why here: It is the power step with the clearest paperwork in our data: the guide spells out the deploy and stow behavior, and it lists every cab it covers.
- Fits, according to the listing and maker sheet
- Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026 (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Powered retractable step (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Guide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plug
- Warranty
- 5-Year Limited Warranty (guide)
- Price class
- Premium
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- RealTruck's install guide states a 5-year limited warranty and connects through an OBD II plug
- The guide lists every cab: 79-inch board for Crew, trimmed for Double and Single Cab
Watch out for
- The guide calls for drilling through the pinch weld and rates the job skill level 4 (experienced)
- Professional installation recommended; the guide states 3-5 hours
- The title gives no part number, so match 76255-01A on the listing
- Premium price class
Best for: Owners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install.
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. Other trucks and brands are on power running boards.
How to measure your own truck
Park on flat ground
Use a level driveway or shop floor, with the truck at its normal load.Measure the lowest point
Tape from the ground to the bottom of the differential. This is your real ceiling for clearing anything in the wheel path.Measure the side
Tape from the ground to the pinch weld at the middle of the cab, then to the bottom of the step if one is fitted.Compare before you buy
Take the mounted step's lowest point, from the seller or your own truck, and compare it with those numbers. The gap is what the step costs you.
The middle of the cab matters most on crests. Breakover is about the midpoint of the wheelbase, and a low step close to that midpoint meets the crest sooner. That is geometry, not a measurement of any part.
Which way to go
Pavement, gravel and towing: a fixed board is fine, and the easier climb in is the reason you bought one. Regular trail use: consider a power step, or read up on drop steps knowing they trade room for reach. Rocks: skip the step-first thinking and start at rock sliders. On a lifted truck the numbers change again, so see running boards for lifted trucks. Still weighing it up? Are running boards worth it covers the rest of the downsides. Ready to shop? Start at running boards by truck, where fit is stated the way how we verify fitment describes.
Tailgate questions
How many inches of ground clearance do running boards take away?
We found no maker figure and no independent measurement. WOLFBOX, a seller of power boards, says 2 to 5 inches in one part of an article and 3 to 6 inches below the rocker in another, with no data behind either. Your own number comes from a tape measure on your truck.
Do power running boards lower ground clearance?
Less than a fixed step while you are driving, because they fold away. Westin says its Pro-e retracts flush against the body, and RealTruck's AMP guide says the PowerStep returns to its stowed position when the doors close. Neither publishes how low the hardware sits when stowed, so measure before a trail run.
Are fixed running boards a bad idea off-road?
On graded roads the room you give up rarely decides anything, but that is a judgment and not a measurement. On rocks and ruts, a low fixed step is what meets the obstacle. If you crawl trails, look at frame-mounted rock sliders, or a power step you can stow. Check what your own truck leaves you first.
Where this comes from
- Wikipedia: Ride height (ground clearance definition, breakover angle)
- Ford: 2026 F-150 technical specifications (PDF)
- Westin Automotive: Pro-e power running boards
- RealTruck AMP Research installation guide IM76255 (PDF)
- LUVERNE: running boards and side steps, learn more
- WOLFBOX: seller article on steps and ground clearance
Keep reading
- Buying guidePower running boardsPower running boards come out with the door and fold away after. See which trucks each listing names, what the install takes and which load figures hold up.
- Buying guideDrop stepsDrop steps put the first step lower. Compare drop-down rails by truck and cab, with fit as the listing states it, what the sheets say and the clearance question.
- Buying guideRock slidersRock sliders for trucks, sorted by what the maker says they bolt to. Body Armor and Westin state the frame, Tyger's armor uses the floor panel, Hooke Road is open.
- Buying guideLifted trucksA lift raises the first step with the cab. Measure it, then choose a drop or power step. Fit as the listing states it, and what makers do not say about lifts.
- Question & answerAre Running Boards Worth It on a Truck? Benefits, Downsides and Who Can Skip ThemAre running boards worth it on a truck? Yes if the climb is a daily chore. The real downsides, install work and warranty lines, and who can skip them.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint