Compatibility
Ram and Dodge Truck Running Boards: Start With 1500, Classic or 2500/3500
Ram running boards split into three camps: the new-body 1500, the 2009-2018 1500 with the 2019-2024 Classic, and the 2500/3500. Titles keep them apart in plain words, so the year alone will not get you there. For a new-body 1500 crew cab, our pick is the Tyger Rider 3.5-inch, whose title rules out the Classic and whose maker sheet we read.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
Find your camp first. New-body 1500 crew cab: start with the Tyger Rider TG-SS2D35098, with 6 brackets on factory studs and no drilling step in the sheet. 2009-2018 or Classic: titles are separate, and sheets warn drilling may be required. 2500/3500: Tyger's Riser title runs 2010-2027. Dodge in a title does not mean an old truck. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
A running board is a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out. Each Ram part is built for specific model years and cabs. Here is the map. Pick your line, and the deeper page takes it from there.
| Your truck | How titles treat it | Go to |
|---|---|---|
| New-body Ram 1500, 2019 and up | Separate listings; several say "Not fit 19-24 Classic" | New-body page |
| Ram 1500, 2009-2018, or Classic 2019-2024 | One older group, not the new body; some titles start at 2010 | Older body and Classic |
| Ram 2500 or 3500, 2010 and up | Often grouped together, on their own years | Ram 2500 and 3500 |
| Not sure which 2019-2024 you have | Your paperwork settles it, not the year | Classic vs new body |
The Ram 1500 overview covers both 1500 bodies side by side. Everything on this page is from listing titles as we read them on November 2, 2026, plus the maker documents we name.
Dodge or Ram: the name tells you nothing
Searches say Dodge Ram, and so do the titles, even on new trucks. COMNOVA's 2019-2026 title reads "Dodge Ram 1500 Crew Cab New Body Style". The aluminum title for older trucks reads "2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic". ARIES keeps separate rows too: Dodge Ram with Club, Quad, Mega and Crew cabs running to 2010, and Ram 1500 and Ram 2500 and 3500 after that.
So do not read Dodge as old or Ram as new. Read the years and the body words next to them.
New-body 1500 crew cab: where most people land
Tyger Auto
Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500)
A 3.5-inch rail whose title draws the Classic line in plain words.
Why here: Its title rules out the Classic by name and its part number leads to a maker sheet we could read, which most listings cannot offer.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Bolt-on with 6 brackets to factory studs; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Title excludes the 2019-2024 Classic
- Part number (TG-SS2D35098) ties it to Tyger's sheet: 6 brackets on factory studs, no drilling step
Watch out for
- The title runs to model year 2027; we could not read Tyger's own page to confirm that year
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
- The sheet says to wire-brush paint off the studs first
Best for: New-body Ram 1500 crew cab owners. Not for the Classic.
Tyger's sheet for TG-SS2D35098 is simple: 6 universal brackets, 3 factory studs per bracket and no drilling step. It says to clean paint off the studs with a wire brush or thread die first, and it recommends a second person. It gives no install time, so we print none. No title here states a weight rating, so we print none of that either.
Want more foot area? The COMNOVA 6-inch stainless* and the 6-inch aluminum* are wider, with listing data only. Want a rail or a lower step instead? Tyger Trax* and the Tyger LanderX* carry part numbers, but we read no sheet for either. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Older body and Classic: read the drilling note
| Spec sheet | Our pick: Ram Classic crewTyger Rider 3.5" (Ram older body and Classic) | Tyger Riser 4" (Ram older body and Classic) | Budget optionAluminum crew (Ram older body and Classic) | Listing data onlyAluminum Quad Cab (Ram older body and Classic) | Listing data onlyAUTOSAVER88 (2009-2018 Ram 1500) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | 2010-2018 Dodge Ram 1500 / 2500 / 3500; Ram Classic | Crew Cab | 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500; 2010-2027 2500 3500; 2019-2024 Classic | Crew Cab | Crew Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500 | Quad Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500 | 2009-2018 Ram 1500 Crew Cab |
| Style | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) |
| Material | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Aluminum (title) | Aluminum (title) | Not stated in the title |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Bolt-on with brackets; sheet says drilling may be required on 2009-12 trucks through the pinch weld | Bolt-on with brackets and bolt/nut plates; sheet says drilling may be required | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Price class | Mid-range | Mid-range | Budget | Budget | Budget |
| Best for | Older-body Ram and Classic crew cab owners who are fine checking for factory holes first. | Older-body Ram and Classic crew cab owners who want more step than the 3.5-inch Rider. | Crew cab owners with a 2009-2018 Ram 1500, a 2019-2024 Classic, or a 2010-up 2500/3500. | Quad Cab owners on the older body or Classic. | Older Ram 1500 crew owners on a budget. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
The sheet for the Tyger Rider TG-SS2D35318 prints "DRILLING MAY BE REQUIRED" near the top. Its front-mount figure is labeled for 2009 to mid-2015 trucks and notes "No factory holes in pinch weld 2009-2012 models". Models without threaded inserts use a bolt-and-nut plate fed through the panel. So a 2017 and a 2010 can be different jobs under one part number.
Small print matters. The Rider title starts at 2010, the Riser and aluminum titles at 2009. The AUTOSAVER88 title names 2009-2018 only, with no Classic. The Tyger Access* is the drop step in this group, with listing data only. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
If you drive a new-body 1500 crew cab and want a maker sheet → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500)
Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a new-body 1500 crew cab and want a wide stainless step → COMNOVA 6" Stainless (2019+ Ram 1500) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Dodge Ram 1500 Crew Cab New Body Style (Excl. Ram 2500/3500/Classic). Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a Classic or 2009-2018 crew cab and want a maker sheet → Tyger Rider 3.5" (Ram older body and Classic)
Fits, according to the listing: 2010-2018 Dodge Ram 1500 / 2500 / 3500; Ram Classic | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a Classic or 2009-2018 Quad Cab → Aluminum Quad Cab (Ram older body and Classic) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: Quad Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Crew, Quad and Mega
ARIES files the Ram 1500 Quad under extended cabs, and the Crew and the 2500/3500 Mega under crew cabs, as an aid to understanding only. Quad cab vs crew cab goes through the doors.
The gaps are real. Every new-body listing above says Crew Cab, and in Westin's Pro-e table as we read it, the 2019-2027 Ram 1500 has a Crew row and no Quad row. We have no Amazon listing naming a Mega Cab, so do not buy a Crew title and hope.
Power steps and maker sheets
Powered steps add another split. The RealTruck PowerStep title reads "2025-2027 RAM 1500 Gas Only" and names no cab. A WOLFBOX title reads "2019-2024" and "Not for 2025-2026 & 1500 Classic". Why the line falls at 2025 is unchecked, and so are other drivetrains on those trucks.
Rough Country's sheets are headed by truck: ERBOX61920 for "RAM 19-UP 1500 CREW CAB", and ERBOX090910 for "RAM (2010-25) 2500/3500" and "RAM 09-18 (19+ CLASIC) 1500". We found no drilling step in the text of either. The Amazon title for the 2500/3500 kit says 2010-2026, a year past that header, and names no part number, so ask before you tie the two together.
Westin's Pro-e table names Ram parts by body:
| Truck, per Westin | Cab | Part |
|---|---|---|
| Ram 1500, 2019-2027 | Crew | 29-24085 |
| Ram 1500 and Classic, 2009-2018 and 2019-2024 | Crew | 29-23565 |
| Ram 1500 and Classic, same years | Quad | 29-23555 |
| Ram 2500 and 3500, 2010-2027 | Crew | 29-23565 |
Westin's 29-23565 rows point to notes that include "Excludes Vehicles With Air Suspension", without saying which note goes with which row. It states "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side" for the Pro-e and calls the install no-drill. The breakdown is on Ram power running boards.
What else is out there
Go Rhino's sheet for its Dominator D6 on the Ram 1500 Crew Cab estimates 1 hour, and it says two 1/4-inch holes in the pinch weld might be necessary if factory holes are not there. That applies to that part only.
We have no Mopar parts in our data, so factory steps get their own page at Mopar and factory Ram boards. Other makes are on all trucks, and best running boards sorts our picks by truck.
The widest Rams have their own question on RHO and Rebel running boards.
Tailgate questions
Are Dodge Ram and Ram running boards the same thing?
The name does not tell you the truck. COMNOVA's title says Dodge Ram 1500 for 2019-2026 trucks, and the aluminum titles say Dodge Ram for 2009-2018 and Ram for the Classic. ARIES also keeps separate Dodge Ram and Ram 1500 rows. Go by years, body and cab, not by which name a seller typed.
What running boards fit a 2015 or 2017 Ram 1500?
Those trucks sit with the older body in the titles we read: 2009-2018, or 2010-2018 on the Tyger Rider. They are separate from the new-body 2019-up listings. Choose by cab next. Tyger's sheet TG-SS2D35318 warns that drilling may be required, and it flags 2009-2012 models for missing pinch weld holes.
Do you have 2026 Ram running boards?
Yes, as listed. Tyger's new-body titles state 2019-2027 and COMNOVA's and the aluminum title state 2019-2026, all for the crew cab, with the Classic ruled out. We could not read Tyger's own page to confirm 2027, so on a 2027 truck, confirm with the seller. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Are there power running boards for a Ram?
Yes, split by year. RealTruck's title reads 2025-2027 RAM 1500 Gas Only, a WOLFBOX title covers the 2019-2024 Crew Cab, and Rough Country has separate sheets for the new-body 1500 and for the older 1500 and 2500/3500. We did not find out why the split sits at 2025. See our Ram power step page.
Do you have running boards for Dodge Dakota or older Dodge trucks?
Not in our data, which starts at 2009 for Ram trucks. ARIES shows why you should not guess: it files the Dakota Quad Cab from before 2008 under crew cabs and the Dodge Ram Quad Cab from 1998-2010 under extended. Look for a title that names your truck and cab.
Where this comes from
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-SS2D35098 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- Tyger Auto instruction sheet TG-SS2D35318 (PDF hosted by CARiD)
- ARIES Automotive: truck cab guide
- Westin Automotive: Pro-e power running boards, fit table
- Rough Country install sheet ERBOX61920, Ram 19-up 1500 crew cab (PDF)
- Rough Country install sheet ERBOX090910, Ram 2010-25 2500/3500 and 09-18 1500 (PDF)
Keep reading
- CompatibilityAll trucksWhich running boards fit your truck depends on model, year block, cab and sometimes bed. See the splits listings state for each truck and where to start.
- CompatibilityRam 1500Ram 1500 running boards by body and cab. New-body and Classic boards are separate listings, and power steps split again. Fit quoted from titles and maker sheets.
- CompatibilityRam 2500 / 3500Ram 2500 and 3500 running boards by year and cab. Crew Cab has plenty of listings, Mega Cab has none in our data, and some titles stop at 2018 or 2024.
- Question & answerWill Ram 1500 Classic Running Boards Fit a New Body Ram 1500?Ram 1500 Classic running boards and new-body boards are separate listings, and the titles rule each other out. How to tell which truck you have and what to buy.
- ExplainerQuad vs Crew CabQuad Cab vs Crew Cab on a Ram: where each sits in the ARIES table, why boards are sold separately, and what Westin and listing titles state for each cab.
- CompatibilityRam 1500 power stepsRam 1500 power steps split by body and year: Classic, 2019-2024 and 2025-up gas. What AMP, Rough Country and Westin documents state, and where the titles fall short.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint