Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

Buying guide

Aluminum Running Boards for Trucks: Weight, Corrosion and Which Listings Really Say Aluminum

Aluminum gets you a lighter metal with a protective oxide layer, but road salt can still attack it, and no title we read gives an alloy, a wall thickness or a load rating. So pick by truck and cab first and by metal second. The six listings below all name aluminum and the truck they are sold for.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 7 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Straight answer

Aluminum is about one-third the density of steel and forms a protective oxide layer, but salt and contact with other metals reduce that protection. We found no corrosion measurements for any board. The titles here name aluminum and a truck, not an alloy or load rating. Start with the listing for your truck. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What's on this page

A running board is a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out. Calling it aluminum tells you what it is made of, as far as the seller says. It does not tell you whether it fits your truck, how thick the metal is or what it will hold. That is the gap this page deals with.

Fit sheetAd

Brand not in title

Aluminum nerf bars (2019+ Silverado and Sierra)

A textured black aluminum step whose title spells out the 2019 LD exclusion.

Why here: A start, not a pick: the title names the metal and spells out the 2019 LD/LT exclusion, but we read no maker sheet for it.

Fits, according to the listing
Crew Cab ... 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado & GMC Sierra 1500 (Excl 2019 Ld/Lt), 2020-2026 2500 HD 3500 HD (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Running board / step bar (as titled)
Material
Aluminum (title)
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Not stated in the title
Price class
Budget

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • Title names the material and excludes the 2019 LD/LT
  • Covers 1500 and HD years separately

Watch out for

  • No brand in the title
  • Listing data only
  • No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here

Best for: GM crew cab owners who want aluminum and an explicit LD exclusion on the listing.

Listing data only: We only have the Amazon listing title for this one, no maker sheet. It is an option, not a recommendation.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

We name no overall winner here. Every aluminum listing below is listing data only, so the right start is simply the one that names your truck. If you want a part with a maker sheet behind it and do not care about the metal, go to best running boards.

Which aluminum listing for which truck?

What do you drive?

  • If you drive a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 crew cab, not the 2019 LD/LT → Aluminum nerf bars (2019+ Silverado and Sierra) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Crew Cab ... 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado & GMC Sierra 1500 (Excl 2019 Ld/Lt), 2020-2026 2500 HD 3500 HD. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a new-body Ram 1500 crew cab → Aluminum 6" (2019+ Ram 1500) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Dodge Ram 1500 New Body Style Crew Cab (Not Fit 2019-2024 1500 Classic). Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive an older-body Ram 1500, a 2019-2024 Classic or a 2010-up 2500/3500 crew cab → Aluminum crew (Ram older body and Classic) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Crew Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2015-up F-150 SuperCrew or a 2017-up F-250/F-350 Crew Cab → Aluminum (F-150 and Super Duty) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2026 Ford F150 F 150, 2017-2026 Ford F250 F350 Super Duty SuperCrew/Crew Cab 4 Full Size Doors. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2005-2023 Tacoma Double Cab → COMNOVA Aluminum (2005-2023 Tacoma) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma Double/Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax → Aluminum 6" (2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2007-2021 Toyota Tundra Crewmax Cab 4 Full Size Doors. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive something else

The listings side by side

Read 2 November 2026. Everything in the "Fits" row is the seller's title wording, and we add nothing to it.

Comparison: Aluminum nerf bars (2019+ Silverado and Sierra), Aluminum crew (Ram older body and Classic), Aluminum (F-150 and Super Duty), COMNOVA Aluminum (2005-2023 Tacoma), Aluminum 6" (2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax)
Spec sheetListing data onlyAluminum nerf bars (2019+ Silverado and Sierra)Budget optionAluminum crew (Ram older body and Classic)Listing data onlyAluminum (F-150 and Super Duty)Start here: Tacoma 2005-2023COMNOVA Aluminum (2005-2023 Tacoma)Start here: Tundra CrewMaxAluminum 6" (2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax)
Fits, according to the listingCrew Cab ... 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado & GMC Sierra 1500 (Excl 2019 Ld/Lt), 2020-2026 2500 HD 3500 HDCrew Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 35002015-2026 Ford F150 F 150, 2017-2026 Ford F250 F350 Super Duty SuperCrew/Crew Cab 4 Full Size Doors2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma Double/Crew Cab2007-2021 Toyota Tundra Crewmax Cab 4 Full Size Doors
StyleRunning board / step bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)
MaterialAluminum (title)Aluminum (title)Aluminum (title)Aluminum (title)Aluminum (title)
Weight ratingNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
InstallNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Price classBudgetBudgetBudgetMid-rangeBudget
Best forGM crew cab owners who want aluminum and an explicit LD exclusion on the listing.Crew cab owners with a 2009-2018 Ram 1500, a 2019-2024 Classic, or a 2010-up 2500/3500.SuperCrew and Crew owners who want the door count confirmed in writing.2005-2023 Double Cab owners who want aluminum.2007-2021 CrewMax owners. Not for the Double Cab.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Fit and specs as the listing title or maker sheet states them. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. Swipe sideways on a phone.

What aluminum actually buys you

Less metal weight. The density of aluminum is about one-third that of steel, per Wikipedia. That compares the metals and not the boards. A wide aluminum board with heavy brackets may not be light, and no title here states a weight, so we print none. Ford makes the same general pitch for its Super Duty step bars, saying the aluminum tubing keeps weight down, without giving a figure.

A built-in oxide layer. Aluminum forms a thin oxide layer that shields the metal from further corrosion under normal conditions. That is why you see "corrosion-resistant" on Ford's page. It is a real property of the metal, and it has limits.

Not a free pass in salt. The same Wikipedia article says aluminum's corrosion resistance is "greatly reduced by aqueous salts, particularly in the presence of dissimilar metals". Now look at a truck in a salt state: wet road salt, plus steel bolts and maybe steel brackets. Tyger takes that seriously on the 2015-up F-150, where the body panel is the aluminum part. Its sheet for TG-RS6F60118 uses plastic retainers that it says are designed to prevent corrosion between the aluminum panel and the steel brackets.

Symbolic image (AI-generated): road salt crust and slush on the lower cab and side step of a dark pickup in winter
AI-generated illustrative image: road salt on the lower cab and step of a generic pickup, not a specific part. · Image: AI-generated (OpenAI)

We found no road-salt data for aluminum running boards and no corrosion measurements on any part here. So we won't tell you an aluminum board outlasts a stainless one. Aluminum vs stainless lays out what can be said, and do running boards rust? covers the wider question.

The listings, one at a time

Silverado and Sierra: textured black with the LD exclusion

The aluminum nerf bars for the 2019-up GM crew cab* carry the most useful line on this page: "Excl 2019 Ld/Lt". The title lists the 1500 for 2019-2026 and the 2500 HD and 3500 HD for 2020-2026, so it keeps the two year ranges apart. It also names the Sierra 1500, which some other GM titles leave out.

What you do not get is a brand, a width or a maker sheet. Price class: budget. If your truck is a 2019 LD or Limited, this one does not state your truck, and the 2019 Silverado LD page explains the split. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Ram 1500: new body

The 6-inch aluminum step for the new-body Ram* says "Not Fit 2019-2024 1500 Classic" in the title, and it gives the width. That Classic line matters more than the metal, because Classic and new body are different trucks to these listings. It has no brand and no sheet behind it. Price class: budget. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Ram 1500 Classic and 2500/3500: crew cab

The aluminum crew cab step for the older Ram* covers a wide range in one title: 2009-2018 Ram 1500, 2019-2024 1500 Classic and 2010-2026 2500 and 3500, with "New Body Style Not Fit". A Quad Cab owner needs the sister listing, not this one. Our pick for that truck remains the Tyger Rider on the Ram 1500 page, because a Tyger sheet backs it up. That sheet warns about drilling on some years, and on this listing nobody has told you either way. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

F-150 and Super Duty

The aluminum step for the F-150 and Super Duty* reads "SuperCrew/Crew Cab 4 Full Size Doors", which uses Ford's name for each truck and adds the door count. That wording rules out a SuperCab. Compare it with the F-150 lineup if you want a part with a maker sheet. Price class: budget. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Tacoma: COMNOVA

The COMNOVA aluminum board* is the only aluminum listing here with a brand in the title. It says "Double/Crew Cab", though Toyota's name for this cab is Double. It is our start for this Tacoma generation, not a pick, as we have no maker sheet. The newer Tacoma is a separate block on the Tacoma page. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Tundra: CrewMax

The 6-inch aluminum step for the Tundra* spells out "Crewmax Cab 4 Full Size Doors", so a Tundra Double Cab owner should keep looking. No brand and no sheet. Price class: budget. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What to check on an aluminum listing

The word itself. Take "aluminum" in a title as the seller's claim. Titles we read give no alloy, no wall thickness and no finish spec beyond "black textured". If the alloy matters to you, ask before you order and get the answer in writing.

Brackets and hardware. The board can be aluminum while the brackets are steel. None of the listings here says what its brackets are made of. Given what salt does where different metals meet, that is a fair question for a seller.

Load. No rating in these titles. Westin states "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side" for its aluminum Pro-e power board, and that covers that part only. How much weight running boards can hold has the longer answer.

Drilling. None of these titles says either way. Read can you install running boards without drilling? before you plan the job.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying the metal before the truck. The best metal in the world doesn't help if the title names a different cab.
  • Reading "aluminum" as "maintenance-free". Wash the salt off in winter and look over the hardware. Tyger recommends periodic inspection of its installs, and it costs you nothing.
  • Assuming lighter means weaker, or stronger. Density is about the metal. No listing here gives you enough to compare strength.
  • Mixing up premium and aluminum. Ford's factory step bars and Westin's Pro-e power board are aluminum too, and both sit in a higher price class than these listings. OEM vs aftermarket goes through the factory side.

What do you drive?

Start with the truck. We only show what a listing title or maker states for it.

Bottom line

Want aluminum? Take the listing that names your truck and your cab, read the exclusions in the title, and treat everything else as a question for the seller. If you drive a salt state, plan on rinsing the truck whatever the board is made of. If a maker sheet matters more to you than the metal, go back to our overall list. How we read all of this is on how we verify fitment. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Tailgate questions

Are aluminum running boards better than steel?

Better at some things. Aluminum is about one-third the density of steel, so the same part made of it would weigh less, and it carries a protective oxide layer. Whether a given board is stronger or lasts longer depends on its design, and we found no independent test or published comparison that settles it for truck steps.

Do aluminum running boards corrode?

They can. Aluminum's oxide layer protects it under normal conditions, but its corrosion resistance is greatly reduced by salt water, especially where it touches a different metal. Road salt and steel hardware are both on a truck. We found no corrosion measurements for these boards, so we call nothing here corrosion-proof.

How much do aluminum running boards weigh?

None of the titles on this page states a weight, so we print none. The density figure for the metal does not tell you what a finished board weighs, because width, wall thickness and brackets all count. If weight matters to you, ask the seller for the shipping weight of the exact listing.

How much weight can aluminum running boards hold?

No title on this page gives a rating, and we only print one from a maker document. Westin states 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side for its aluminum Pro-e power board. That number covers that part only and says nothing about any other aluminum board.

Are there aluminum rock sliders?

Westin says rock sliders are built from steel and aluminum in general. The sliders we could read paperwork for are steel or do not name a metal, and we have no aluminum slider listing to recommend. Our rock sliders page covers what we did read, including how each one mounts.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we verify fit