Comparison
Nerf Bars vs Running Boards: Step Width, Weight, Clearance and Fit by Cab
A nerf bar is usually a narrow tube, about 3 to 3.5 inches across in the titles we read. A running board is usually a flat step around 6 inches across. But the words are not a build guarantee, and one Tyger title uses both for the same part. So shop by the shape and width in the title. Take the tube for a slim rail and the board for more room under your boot.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
The names overlap, so compare shape and width. Tube steps in our data run 3 to 3.5 inches across; flat boards run 4 to 6.75 inches. Price does not follow width. There is no shared load rating, and we found no measured clearance or part weights. Our pick for a 2019-up GM crew cab rail is the Tyger Rider 3.5-inch. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Short verdict: this is a choice about shape and width, not a choice between two kinds of part. Many guides on this come from shops selling both, and they split the two neatly. The listings do not. Tyger's title for TG-SS2C35068 calls the same part running boards, side step, rail and nerf bars at once. The APS title on our nerf bars page calls a flat 6-inch board a nerf bar. A running board is a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out, and a nerf bar is one form of that.
So read this page as "tube step vs flat board". Both answer to both names on Amazon.
Tyger Auto
Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)
A 3.5-inch rail whose title names the Silverado and Sierra years, the HD split and the cab.
Why here: It is the clearest tube-step example we have: width in the title, the HD split, the cab and a part number that leads to a maker sheet.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
- Material
- Not stated in the title
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
- Price class
- Mid-range
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- The part number in the title (TG-SS2C35068) ties the listing to Tyger's own instruction sheet
- That sheet bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and has no drilling step
- Title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years
Watch out for
- 3.5 inches wide per the title, narrower than the 6-inch boards
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
- The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited; a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering
Best for: Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.
Side by side
| Tube step, usually sold as a nerf bar | Flat step, usually sold as a running board | |
|---|---|---|
| Shape | Tube. Wikipedia: a tubular device | Flat board. Wikipedia: a narrow step under the doors |
| Width in the titles we read | 3 inches (MaxMate), 3.5 inches (Tyger Rider) | 4 inches (Tyger Riser, older Ram), 6 inches (COMNOVA, Tyger Riser), 6.75 inches (DNA Motoring) |
| Price class | Mid-range for the Tyger and MaxMate titles here | Budget to mid-range: COMNOVA 6-inch budget, Tyger Riser mid-range |
| Load rating | Tyger's sheets state none | Tyger's sheets state none |
| Weight of the part | Not in the sheets we read | Not in the sheets we read |
| Ground clearance | No published measurement found | No published measurement found |
| Mounting | Part by part, see below | Part by part, see below |
| Fit | Specific model years and cabs | Specific model years and cabs |
Half of those rows come back "not published" or "same". That is the honest result, and it is why a page claiming a clear winner on strength or clearance has no source for it.
The differences, point by point
Width. This is the one real, stated difference. Going from 3.5 to 6 inches is almost twice the width for your boot. Two Tyger parts show it on one truck, both titled for the 2019-2026 Silverado and Sierra 1500 crew cab: the Rider at 3.5 inches and the Riser at 6 inches*. The Riser is listing data only here, since we could not read its sheet. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Cost. Do not assume the tube is the budget option. Some seller guides say nerf bars cost less, and others say the two cost about the same. In our data, the COMNOVA 6-inch board* sits in the budget class while the 3.5-inch Tyger rail sits in mid-range. Price follows brand and listing more than width. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Load. There is no shared rating basis. Seller guides claim boards are stronger than bars, and we have no maker document that backs that up. Tyger's sheets state no load for either shape, and we print none. How much weight can running boards hold? goes through what makers do publish.
Clearance and part weight. We found no published measurement of either for these parts. Both mount under the cab. If you run rocks or ruts, measure your truck and ask the maker how far the part sits below the rocker.
Install. Shape does not set the job. The part number does. Tyger's Rider sheet for TG-SS2C35068 uses 8 brackets on threaded holes behind plugs. Its Riser sheet for TG-RS6F60118 uses factory studs on the F-150. Neither has a drilling step. Go Rhino's sheet for 69430687T, an RB10 board on a Dodge Ram 1500 crew cab, uses threaded studs on the inner rocker panel and estimates 1 hour, and that time is for that one sheet. Tyger's older Ram sheets for both a Rider and a Riser warn "DRILLING MAY BE REQUIRED", so a tube can be the harder job and so can a board.
Length. Most of both run along the cab. Per ARIES, wheel-to-wheel parts run from the front wheel to the rear wheel over the cab and bed, and cost more. See wheel-to-wheel running boards if you want that coverage.

What is listed for your cab
Each row comes from listings in our data on November 2, 2026. "None in our data" means we have not read one, not that none exists. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
| Your truck and cab | Tube | Flat board |
|---|---|---|
| 2019-up Silverado crew | Tyger Rider 3.5 inches | COMNOVA 6 inches, Tyger Riser 6 inches |
| 2007-2018 GM Double Cab | MaxMate 3 inches | COMNOVA 6 inches |
| New-body Ram 1500 crew | Tyger Rider 3.5 inches | Aluminum 6 inches |
| Older Ram and Classic crew | Tyger Rider 3.5 inches | Tyger Riser 4 inches, aluminum crew step |
| F-150 SuperCrew | None in our data | Tyger Riser 6 inches, APS 6 inches |
Cab names need care here. ARIES files the Silverado Double Cab under extended and the Tacoma Double Cab under crew. Extended cab vs crew cab has the full table.
| Spec sheet | Our pick: Silverado and Sierra crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM) | Budget optionCOMNOVA 6" (2019+ Silverado) | Listing data onlyTyger Riser 6" (2019+ GM) | Budget optionAluminum crew (Ram older body and Classic) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado 1500, 2020-2026 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD Crew Cab | 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab | Crew Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500 |
| Style | Rail / nerf bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) |
| Material | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Aluminum (title) |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Price class | Mid-range | Budget | Mid-range | Budget |
| Best for | Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet. | Silverado 1500 crew cab owners who want a wider step and a budget price class. | GM crew cab owners who want a wider Tyger step. | Crew cab owners with a 2009-2018 Ram 1500, a 2019-2024 Classic, or a 2010-up 2500/3500. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
Take a tube if, take a board if
If you drive a 2019-up GM crew cab and want a slim rail with a readable sheet → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)
Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2019-up Silverado crew cab and want a wider step in the budget class → COMNOVA 6" (2019+ Silverado) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado 1500, 2020-2026 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a 2019-up GM crew cab and want the wider step in the same Tyger family → Tyger Riser 6" (2019+ GM) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive an older Ram or Classic crew cab and want a budget flat step → Aluminum crew (Ram older body and Classic) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: Crew Cab ... 2009-2018 Dodge Ram 1500, Ram 2019-2024 1500 Classic (New Body Style Not Fit), Ram 2010-2026 2500 3500. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf the first step is too high either way
Take a tube if you like a slim rail along the cab and your passengers do not need much foot area. Take a board if people with big boots, or anyone who steps down without looking, will use it every day. If neither solves the height, a drop step or a power running board is the next thing to look at. If you want rock protection, that is another product, and rock sliders vs running boards explains why.
For the plain definitions, see what are running boards?. For how we read fit, see how we verify fitment. Nobody here has stood on these parts. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Tailgate questions
What is the difference between nerf bars and running boards?
Usually shape and width. Wikipedia describes a nerf bar as a tubular device and a running board as a narrow step under the doors. In the titles we read, tube steps run 3 to 3.5 inches and flat boards 4 to 6.75 inches. Titles mix the two words, so go by the shape and width stated.
Are running boards better than nerf bars?
Neither wins across the board, and we found no independent comparison. A wider board gives your boot more room. A tube is a slimmer rail. Both are cut for specific years and cabs, so the better one is partly whichever has a clear listing and a readable sheet for your truck.
Do nerf bars hold less weight than running boards?
We cannot say, and neither can anyone quoting a general figure. No shared rating basis exists, and the Tyger sheets we read for both tubes and boards state no load. Only a maker's document can answer for a given part. Westin states 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side for its Pro-e, which is a powered board.
Do nerf bars or running boards hurt ground clearance?
We found no measured figure for either, on any truck. Both hang below the cab, so measure your own truck and read the maker's sheet. If you take the truck on rocks and want protection rather than a step, that is a different job, and sliders are the place to start.
Where this comes from
Keep reading
- Buying guideNerf barsNerf bars for trucks by cab and year. What the name really covers, how wide the rails are, what the install sheets say, and our picks where we read a maker sheet.
- Buying guideSide stepsTruck side steps come as rails, 6-inch boards, drop steps and power steps. Compare styles by year and cab, with fit marked as the listing or maker states it.
- ExplainerWhat are running boardsA running board is a step mounted below a truck's doors. What running boards are for, what the steps on a truck are called, the types, and how they mount.
- ExplainerWhat are nerf barsNerf bars are tube steps bolted below a truck's doors, named after a racing part. See how they mount, per Tyger's install sheets, and what the name does not promise.
- ComparisonNerf bars vs side stepsNerf bars and side steps overlap on most listings. The word settles nothing; shape and width do. See how titles use both terms and which one fits your truck.
- ComparisonBest running boardsThe best truck running boards are the ones listed for your year and cab. Our picks by truck and use, with no lab scores, only published fit and maker sheets.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint