Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

Comparison

Running Boards vs Side Steps: What the Terms Mean on Amazon and at Truck Makers

There is no fixed line between them. A running board is a step below the doors, and side step is a looser name that makers and sellers use for the same job. LUVERNE files all of it under one heading, and one Tyger title uses both words for a single rail. So compare width, shape and reach, and pick the part built for your truck and cab.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 5 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Straight answer

Neither word is better, because they do not name two separate products. Makers overlap them, and one Tyger title says running boards and side step on a single 3.5-inch rail. Compare the part instead. In the titles we read, a rail runs 3 to 3.5 inches and a flat board about 6 inches. Our pick for a 2019-up GM crew cab is the Tyger Rider.

What's on this page

Short verdict

You will hear that a running board is wide and flat and a side step is a slim tube. Makers and listing titles do not hold to that, so you cannot shop by it. If you came here for the truck side steps buying guide, that page has the parts by truck. This one settles the vocabulary.

Fit sheetOur pick: Silverado and Sierra crewAd

Tyger Auto

Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)

A 3.5-inch rail whose title names the Silverado and Sierra years, the HD split and the cab.

Why here: Its title calls one 3.5-inch rail running boards, side step, rail and nerf bars at once, and its part number leads to a maker sheet we could read.

Fits, according to the listing
2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
Price class
Mid-range

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • The part number in the title (TG-SS2C35068) ties the listing to Tyger's own instruction sheet
  • That sheet bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and has no drilling step
  • Title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years

Watch out for

  • 3.5 inches wide per the title, narrower than the 6-inch boards
  • No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
  • The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited; a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering

Best for: Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

How makers use the words

Read November 2, 2026. This is how each source labels its own products.

SourceWords it usesWhat that shows
Wikipedia"Running board", also footboard: a narrow step under the side doorsA job and a place, no fixed shape. The entry does not define side step
LUVERNE"Running Boards & Side Steps" as one headingCalls its stainless Side Entry Steps classic truck running boards, and its MegaStep side steps that combine a nerf bar look with full-length running boards
WestinPage title: nerf bars, side steps, running boards. Page heading: nerf bars and running boards"Side steps" appears only in the page title, and product names say nerf step bars
FordCatalog heading: running boards, step bars and rock railsThe F-150 entries we read are all named step bars
CBI Offroad Fab"Side steps" for Colorado entry stepsIt warns they are not rock sliders, so that maker's side step is a body-mounted step and nothing more

Chevrolet's and Ram's accessory stores refused to open for us, so they are not in this table, and we state nothing on what those two call their parts.

How listing titles use them

Part, as titledWords in the titleWhat it is, per the title
Tyger Rider TG-SS2C35068Running Boards, Side Step, Rail, Nerf Bars3.5-inch rail
Tyger Rider TG-SS2D35098Running Boards, Side Step, Rail, Nerf Bars3.5-inch rail for the Ram 1500
Tyger Rider TG-SS2C35168Running Boards, Side Step, Rail, Nerf Bars3.5-inch rail for the Colorado and Canyon
MaxMate WB2C35007Nerf Bars, Side Step Rails, Running Boards3-inch
APS for F-150 and Super DutyRunning Boards, Nerf Bars6-inch flat

On a title, then, the same 3.5-inch rail is a running board and a side step in one breath, and a flat 6-inch step is called nerf bars. The words are search terms, and they are no build guarantee. Nerf bars vs side steps runs the same exercise on that pair.

The differences that do matter

What you are decidingSlim railWide flat step
Width in the titles we read3 to 3.5 inchesAbout 6 inches
Foot areaLessMore
LookSlimmer along the cabBigger along the cab
DrillingNamed per partNamed per part
Weight ratingNone in these titlesNone in these titles

Width and shape

A wider step gives your boot more to land on. That is geometry, not a measurement of ours. If passengers or muddy boots are why you are shopping, go wide. If you want the truck to look close to stock, go slim.

Reach

This is the one real distinction people mean to ask about, and neither word covers it. ARIES splits cab-length boards, which run along the cab, from wheel-to-wheel boards, which run from the front wheel to the rear wheel. Those also serve as a platform for reaching the truck bed, and they cost more. LUVERNE says most of its boards and side steps come in both versions. See wheel-to-wheel running boards.

Height

A straight rail or a flat board sits where its brackets put it. If the first step is your real complaint, look at drop steps, which put the pad lower.

Mount and drilling

Neither name tells you. Tyger's sheet for TG-SS2C35068 uses 8 brackets on threaded holes behind plugs and has no drilling step, and TG-SS2D35098 uses 6 brackets on factory studs. Its older Ram sheet, TG-SS2D35318, says drilling may be required. Read the sheet for your part number.

Load rating

Neither word comes with a number, and the Tyger sheets state none. How much weight running boards can hold covers what makers do publish.

Side by side

Comparison: Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM), Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500), Tyger Rider 3.5" (Colorado and Canyon), MaxMate 3" nerf bars (1999-2018 GM double cab), APS 6" Flat (F-150 SuperCrew)
Spec sheetOur pick: Silverado and Sierra crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)Our pick: Ram 1500 new body crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500)Our pick: Colorado and Canyon crewTyger Rider 3.5" (Colorado and Canyon)Listing data onlyMaxMate 3" nerf bars (1999-2018 GM double cab)Listing data onlyAPS 6" Flat (F-150 SuperCrew)
Fits, according to the listing2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab2015-2027 Chevy Colorado GMC Canyon | Crew Cab1999-2018 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500 2500 LD; 2001-2019 2500 3500HD; 2019 LD/Limited (Exclude SS) | Double CabFord F150 2015-2026 SuperCrew Cab & F150 Lightning 2022-2026 & F-250 F-350 Super Duty 2017-2026 Crew Cab
StyleRail / nerf bar (as titled)Rail / nerf bar (as titled)Rail / nerf bar (as titled)Rail / nerf bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)
MaterialNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleBlack stainless steel (title)
Weight ratingNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
InstallBolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedBolt-on with 6 brackets to factory studs; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedBolt-on with 6 brackets at existing mounting locations; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Price classMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-range
Best forCrew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.New-body Ram 1500 crew cab owners. Not for the Classic.Colorado or Canyon crew cab owners who want a rail and a readable install.Older GM double cab owners who want a plain round-tube look.F-150 SuperCrew and Super Duty Crew owners who want a flat step.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Fit and specs as the listing title or maker sheet states them. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. Swipe sideways on a phone.

Two reminders on fit. The Tyger GM title stops the 1500 at 2026 and only the 2500 and 3500HD run to 2027, so the 2027 Silverado 1500 is unverified. And the MaxMate's "Double Cab" is GM's, which ARIES files under extended, while it files a Tacoma Double Cab under crew. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Take a slim rail if, take a wide board if

Take a slim rail if you want the truck to look close to stock and you mainly need a step for your own boot. Take a wide flat step if you carry passengers or want more room to land on. In both cases, the name on the title is the last thing to care about.

What do you drive?

  • If you want a slim rail on a 2019-up GM crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you want a slim rail on a new-body Ram 1500 crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you want a slim rail on a Colorado or Canyon crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (Colorado and Canyon)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Chevy Colorado GMC Canyon | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 1999-2018 GM Double Cab and want a tube → MaxMate 3" nerf bars (1999-2018 GM double cab) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 1999-2018 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500 2500 LD; 2001-2019 2500 3500HD; 2019 LD/Limited (Exclude SS) | Double Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you want a flat 6-inch step on an F-150 SuperCrew → APS 6" Flat (F-150 SuperCrew) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Ford F150 2015-2026 SuperCrew Cab & F150 Lightning 2022-2026 & F-250 F-350 Super Duty 2017-2026 Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive something else

New to the part itself? Start with what are running boards. For the tube question, see nerf bars vs running boards. Our sourcing rules are on how we verify fitment.

Tailgate questions

Which is better, running boards or side steps?

The words will not tell you. Makers and sellers use them for overlapping parts, so a part called a side step can be wider than one called a running board. Compare width, shape and reach. Then make sure the listing names your year and cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Are running boards and side steps the same thing?

They do the same job, and on many listings they are the same part under two names. LUVERNE files its whole lineup under running boards and side steps, and Westin's page title uses nerf bars, side steps and running boards together. Each maker draws its own lines, so read the description.

Are side steps narrower than running boards?

Sometimes, but do not count on it from the name. LUVERNE calls a stainless line Side Entry Steps while also describing it as classic truck running boards. Read the width in the title. The Tyger Rider says 3.5 inches, and the APS says 6 inches.

Do side steps or running boards hold more weight?

Neither word comes with a rating. The Tyger sheets we read state none, and a maker document is the only source we print. Westin states 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side for its Pro-e, and that covers that part only. See our weight page for more.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we verify fit