Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

Buying guide

Running Boards for Regular Cab Trucks: Short Boards by Make and Year

A regular cab needs a short board built for that cab, and few listings name one. Search all four names: regular, single, standard and 2-door. For a 2019-2026 Silverado, start with the Auto Dynasty title. For a 2007-2018 GM truck, start with the DNA Motoring 6.75-inch. Ford and GM each have a listing or two, and none we read names a Toyota.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 7 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Straight answer

Regular cab boards are short and sold per cab, so a crew cab board will not do. Listings call the cab regular, standard, single or 2-door. Start with the Auto Dynasty for a 2019-2026 Silverado, the DNA Motoring for 2007-2018 GM trucks, or the 2004-2014 F-150 regular cab step. All are listing data only. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What's on this page
AI-generated illustrative image: three generic grey pickups with regular, extended and crew cab lengths on a gravel lot
Image: AI-generated (OpenAI)

Regular cab owners get less choice, and they get a naming mess on top. ARIES calls the regular cab the smallest of the three types, seating two or three. Listings call it four different things, so a search on one word misses the parts filed under the others.

Where to start

Fit sheetStart here: 2019-2026 SilveradoAd

Auto Dynasty

Auto Dynasty (2019-2026 Silverado Regular Cab)

A listing that names the current-body Silverado and the Regular Cab in one line.

Why here: The title names the years, the 1500 to 3500HD range and the Regular Cab in one short line.

Fits, according to the listing
2019-2026 Silverado 1500-3500HD Regular Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Running board (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Not stated in the title
Price class
Budget

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • Title names the years, the 1500-3500HD range and the Regular Cab

Watch out for

  • The title does not name the Sierra
  • Listing data only, according to the seller; no maker sheet read
  • No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here

Best for: 2019-2026 Silverado Regular Cab owners who want a listing that names their cab.

Listing data only: We only have the Amazon listing title for this one, no maker sheet. It is an option, not a recommendation.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

We call this a place to start and not our pick, because we hold no maker sheet for it. It is the plainest regular cab title in our data for the current Silverado. The title does not name the Sierra, so a Sierra owner should not assume. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Four names, one cab

Word in the sourceWhere we read it
Regular CabAuto Dynasty, F-150 step and APS titles; Ford's specs
Standard CabDNA Motoring title ("2-Dr Standard Cab"), YHTAUTO title, Westin's fit lists
Single CabRealTruck's AMP guide
2 DoorF-150 step title ("2 Door Regular Cab"), DNA Motoring title

If you only search "regular cab", you will miss Westin's entries. If you only search "single cab", you will find next to nothing, even though it is what most people call it. Our keyword data shows people search for single cab running boards and single cab side steps, so sellers are not speaking your language.

Which one for which truck?

Pick by what you drive

  • If you drive a 2019-2026 Silverado Regular Cab → Auto Dynasty (2019-2026 Silverado Regular Cab) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Silverado 1500-3500HD Regular Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2007-2018 Silverado or Sierra 2-door → DNA Motoring 6.75" Flat (GM regular cab) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2007-2018 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500/2007-2019 Silverado Sierra 2500HD 3500HD 2-Dr Standard Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2004-2014 F-150 Regular Cab → Step for 2004-2014 F-150 Regular Cab · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 04-14 F-150 2 Door Regular Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive an F-250, F-350 or F-450 Regular Cab → APS Drop Steps (Super Duty Regular Cab) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: F250 F350 F450 Regular Cab (no years in the title). Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you want a slim 3-inch step on a Chevy or GMC → YHTAUTO 3" (Chevy and GMC Regular Cab) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Chevy & GMC, Standard Cab/Regular Cab (no model or years in the title). Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you want a powered step on a 2022-2026 GM 1500 → AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)

    Fits, according to the listing: Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you are not sure what cab you have

Side by side

Comparison: Auto Dynasty (2019-2026 Silverado Regular Cab), DNA Motoring 6.75" Flat (GM regular cab), YHTAUTO 3" (Chevy and GMC Regular Cab), Step for 2004-2014 F-150 Regular Cab, APS Drop Steps (Super Duty Regular Cab)
Spec sheetListing data onlyAuto Dynasty (2019-2026 Silverado Regular Cab)Listing data onlyDNA Motoring 6.75" Flat (GM regular cab)Listing data onlyYHTAUTO 3" (Chevy and GMC Regular Cab)Listing data onlyStep for 2004-2014 F-150 Regular CabListing data onlyAPS Drop Steps (Super Duty Regular Cab)
Fits, according to the listing2019-2026 Silverado 1500-3500HD Regular Cab2007-2018 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500/2007-2019 Silverado Sierra 2500HD 3500HD 2-Dr Standard CabChevy & GMC, Standard Cab/Regular Cab (no model or years in the title)04-14 F-150 2 Door Regular CabF250 F350 F450 Regular Cab (no years in the title)
StyleRunning board (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)3-inch running board (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)Drop step / running board (as titled)
MaterialNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Weight ratingNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
InstallNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Price classBudgetBudgetBudgetBudgetMid-range
Best for2019-2026 Silverado Regular Cab owners who want a listing that names their cab.Owners of a two-door 2007-2018 GM truck.Only regular cab owners who confirm their exact model and year on the listing.Two-door F-150 owners, as the only regular cab listing in our data.F-250, F-350 and F-450 Regular Cab owners who confirm their year on the listing.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Fit and specs as the listing title or maker sheet states them. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. Swipe sideways on a phone.

The listings, one by one

Auto Dynasty for the 2019-2026 Silverado

According to the listing, it covers the "2019-2026 Silverado 1500-3500HD Regular Cab". Note what is in that range: the 1500 and the HD on one line. Note what is not: a Sierra, and the 2027 Silverado 1500, which stays unverified. Budget price class.

Strength: the clearest title for the current truck. Weakness: listing data only, with no width in the title and no load figure.

DNA Motoring 6.75-inch for older GM trucks

The DNA Motoring* is titled for the "2007-2018 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500/2007-2019 Silverado Sierra 2500HD 3500HD 2-Dr Standard Cab". At 6.75 inches, it has the largest width stated in any title here, and it names both Silverado and Sierra. Those split years between 1500 and HD are not a typo. Listings treat those trucks as changing in different years, and the 2019 LD question is covered on the 2019 LD page.

Strength: the most detail of any regular cab title here. Weakness: no sheet we could read.

YHTAUTO 3-inch for Chevy and GMC

The YHTAUTO* says "for Chevy & GMC, Standard Cab/Regular Cab" and stops there. No truck model and no years. That means the title leaves the fit question open, so get the model and year from the listing page or the seller before you pay. It stays on this page because it is the only 3-inch width we have for this cab.

Strength: a stated 3-inch width, and both names for the cab. Weakness: the weakest fit statement here, and our Finder will not show it.

Step for the 2004-2014 F-150 Regular Cab

This listing* is titled "Compatible with 04-14 F-150 2 Door Regular Cab". No brand in the title. The current F-150 gets no listing here, though Westin's Grate Steps list does name the F-150 Standard Cab for 2015-2027, as a maker page with a mount kit sold separately. See the F-150 page for the other F-150 cabs.

Strength: names the cab twice. Weakness: no brand and listing data only.

APS drop steps for the Super Duty

The APS* says "Drop Steps Running Boards for F250 F350 F450 Regular Cab". It is the only Super Duty regular cab part we have, and the only drop-style one. No years in the title, so that question goes to the listing page. Mid-range price class. More drop-style options are on the drop steps page.

Strength: names the trucks, the cab and the shape. Weakness: no years.

A powered step for a single cab

Power step titles rarely mention this cab. They name Crew Cab or no cab at all. One document is an exception. RealTruck's guide for the AMP Research PowerStep 76255-01A lists the Silverado 1500 and Sierra 1500, all cabs, 2022-2026. It gives the board at 79 inches for a Crew Cab, and says to trim 29 inches to 50 for a Single Cab.

Fit sheetOur pick: power steps, 2022+ GMAd

AMP Research

AMP PowerStep (2022+ GM)

The powered step with the clearest paperwork in our data: a maker install guide that names cabs, tools and time.

Why here: Its guide is the one document we read that names the Single Cab and gives a length for it.

Fits, according to the listing and maker sheet
Listing: 2022-2026 Chevy Silverado/GMC Sierra. Maker sheet 76255-01A: Silverado 1500/Sierra 1500, All Cabs, 2022-2026 (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Powered retractable step (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Guide 76255-01A: 3-5 hours, professional installation recommended, drill 19/64-inch holes through the pinch weld, OBD II plug
Warranty
5-Year Limited Warranty (guide)
Price class
Premium

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • RealTruck's install guide states a 5-year limited warranty and connects through an OBD II plug
  • The guide lists every cab: 79-inch board for Crew, trimmed for Double and Single Cab

Watch out for

  • The guide calls for drilling through the pinch weld and rates the job skill level 4 (experienced)
  • Professional installation recommended; the guide states 3-5 hours
  • The title gives no part number, so match 76255-01A on the listing
  • Premium price class

Best for: Owners of a 2022-up Silverado or Sierra 1500 who want a step that folds away and accept a harder install.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

The catch: 3-5 hours, skill level 4, professional installation recommended, drilling through the pinch weld for the light wires, wire taps, and a premium price class. And the listing title names no part number, so we tie it to that guide through the application only. Confirm the part number on the listing. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why a crew cab board won't do

Ford's 2026 F-150 specs show the back of the cab at 121.2 inches from the front bumper on a Regular Cab, against 143.8 on a SuperCab and about 155.6 on a SuperCrew. That is roughly 34 inches of cab that a crew board expects and your truck does not have, by our subtraction. A board has to span the cab it serves and bolt to the mounting points along it, so a board built for a longer cab has no business on yours. Bed and cab fitment explains how cab and bed interact, and extended cab vs crew cab has the other cabs.

Also remember bed length has nothing to do with it on cab-length boards. Ford sells the F-150 Regular Cab with a 6.5-foot or 8-foot box, and a cab-length board is for the cab. Only wheel-to-wheel boards bring the bed in.

When the listing isn't there

Your truck not listed? Do not buy the next closest title. Two honest routes:

  • Check the maker's list. Westin's Grate Steps list names Standard Cab entries for some Silverado, Ram and Ford years, as mount kits sold separately. That list runs long, and we read only part of it. Look up your truck there directly.
  • Ask the seller. Give your year, model and cab, and ask for an answer in writing. Our guide on checking a listing walks through what to ask.

We found no regular cab listing for Tacoma or Tundra. For other makes, start at all trucks.

Mistakes that cost you a return

  • Searching one word. Regular, standard, single and 2-door all matter here.
  • Reading "2019" as one truck. The 2019 LD gets listed apart from the rest, and the years differ between the 1500 and HD.
  • Buying a title with no years without asking. Two listings on this page are like that.
  • Trusting load figures in seller titles. None of these titles has one, and a maker document is the only thing that counts.
  • Cutting a board because one guide does. That trim procedure is for one AMP part.

Find your truck

What do you drive?

Start with the truck. We only show what a listing title or maker states for it.

Bottom line

Regular cab owners have to read harder. For a 2019-2026 Silverado, start with the Auto Dynasty. For older GM trucks, the DNA Motoring. For a 2004-2014 F-150, the listing that names it. Everything above follows the rules on how we verify fitment. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. The wider cab guide is at truck cabs.

Tailgate questions

Do they make running boards for single cab trucks?

Yes, though far fewer than for crew cabs. We have five listings in our data, for GM and Ford trucks, and they use the words regular, standard and 2-door. RealTruck's guide for a powered step on 2022-up GM trucks calls it Single Cab. Search all four names when you look.

Can I cut down crew cab running boards for a regular cab?

Not on your own say-so. One maker does document it for one part: RealTruck's guide for the AMP PowerStep 76255-01A trims the 79-inch board by 29 inches to 50 for a Single Cab. That is a procedure for that part. It says nothing about cutting another board, and brackets have to line up too.

Are there power steps for a single cab truck?

The one we can document is the AMP PowerStep 76255-01A, whose guide lists 2022-2026 Silverado 1500 and Sierra 1500, all cabs, and gives a 50-inch length for Single Cab. It states 3-5 hours and recommends professional installation. Westin's Pro-e fit list, as we read it, names no regular cab.

How long are regular cab running boards?

Titles here do not say. The one figure we read is 50 inches on the AMP part after trimming for a Single Cab, against 79 for a Crew Cab. That is one part on one truck line. Check the length on your listing or ask the seller.

Do Tacoma or Tundra running boards come in a regular cab?

We have no such listing. Toyota's site blocks direct reading, but the excerpts we saw show the 2026 Tacoma as XtraCab or Double Cab and the Tundra as Double Cab or CrewMax. An older Toyota may be different, so check the listing for your year.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we verify fit