Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

Compatibility

Ford Truck Running Boards: F-150, Super Duty, Ranger and Factory Parts

Ford is three different shopping trips: F-150, Super Duty and Ranger, each cut by cab. Aftermarket listings in our data lean hard toward the SuperCrew and Crew Cab. Ford's own catalog, which it calls step bars, also names the SuperCab and Regular Cab. For a 2015-up F-150 SuperCrew, our pick is the Tyger Riser, because we could read its maker sheet.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 5 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Straight answer

Pick your truck, then your cab. For a 2015-up F-150 SuperCrew, start with the Tyger Riser 6-inch, whose title also names 2017-up F-250 and F-350 Super Duty Supercrew Cab trucks. Own a SuperCab or Regular Cab? Ford's catalog names those cabs, and our Amazon data is thin on them. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What's on this page

A running board is a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out. On a Ford, watch two words. The cab word decides the part, and Ford's own word for most of these parts is "step bars", so search both. Side steps and nerf bars land in the same place, because titles stack all those names. Step bars sorts out what the shape is.

Find your Ford

Read November 2, 2026. Listing lines are title wording. Ford lines are product names from its catalog. ARIES lists the cab names, and says its table is only there to aid understanding.

TruckCabs per ARIESAmazon listings in our dataFord's catalog namesGo to
F-150Regular, SuperCab, SuperCrew2015-up SuperCrew: Tyger, APS, AUTOSAVER88, aluminum. 2009-2014 SuperCrew: AUTOSAVER88. 2004-2014 Regular: one listing. SuperCab: none"F-150 SuperCab 2015-2027 5 in. Aluminum Step Bars in Black", "F-150 Regular Cab 2015-2027 5 in. Aluminum Step Bars in Black" and SuperCrew versionsF-150
Super DutyRegular, SuperCab, Crew2017-up Crew: the Tyger, APS and aluminum titles shared with the F-150"Super Duty Crew Cab 2017-2027 5 in. Step Bars in black", "Super Duty SuperCab 2017-2027 5 in. Chromed Aluminum Step Bars"Super Duty
RangerRegular, SuperCab, SuperCrew2019-2027 Supercrew: Tyger LanderX"Ranger SuperCrew 2024-2026 5 in. Rectangular Step Bars in Black", "Ranger SuperCab 2019-2023 Black Painted 5" Angular Step Bars"Ranger

No listing means none in our data, not that none exists. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Our pick for the SuperCrew

Fit sheetOur pick: F-150 SuperCrewAd

Tyger Auto

Tyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew)

A 6-inch step with a maker sheet that deals with Ford's aluminum body.

Why here: It is the Ford part with a maker sheet we could read, and its title names the F-150 and the Super Duty years separately.

Fits, according to the listing
2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Running board / step bar (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Bolt-on to factory studs with plastic retainers; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
Price class
Mid-range

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • Part number (TG-RS6F60118) ties it to Tyger's instruction sheet
  • Sheet uses plastic retainers to prevent corrosion between the aluminum body panel and steel brackets
  • No drilling step in the sheet

Watch out for

  • Not for the SuperCab per the title
  • No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
  • The sheet says to clear paint or undercoating from the studs first

Best for: SuperCrew owners on the 2015-up F-150 who want a wide step and a clear install sheet.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

Tyger's sheet for TG-RS6F60118 uses factory studs and has no drilling step. It adds plastic retainers it says are designed to prevent corrosion between the aluminum body panel and the steel brackets. We found no corrosion measurements, so that is the maker's stated reason and nothing more. No weight rating appears in the sheet, so we print none. The F-150 page has the rest of the install notes.

Which Ford part?

  • If you drive a 2015-up F-150 SuperCrew and want a maker sheet → Tyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2015-up F-150 SuperCrew and want a lower step → Tyger LanderX (F-150 SuperCrew) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2017-up Super Duty Crew Cab and want flat black stainless → APS 6" Flat (F-150 SuperCrew) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Ford F150 2015-2026 SuperCrew Cab & F150 Lightning 2022-2026 & F-250 F-350 Super Duty 2017-2026 Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2019-up Ranger with the Supercrew Cab the title names → Tyger LanderX (Ranger SuperCrew)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2027 Ford Ranger | Supercrew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a SuperCab or a Regular Cab

Comparison: Tyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew), Tyger LanderX (F-150 SuperCrew), APS 6" Flat (F-150 SuperCrew), AUTOSAVER88 6" (2015-2026 F-150), Aluminum (F-150 and Super Duty)
Spec sheetOur pick: F-150 SuperCrewTyger Riser 6" (F-150 SuperCrew)Listing data onlyTyger LanderX (F-150 SuperCrew)Listing data onlyAPS 6" Flat (F-150 SuperCrew)Listing data onlyAUTOSAVER88 6" (2015-2026 F-150)Listing data onlyAluminum (F-150 and Super Duty)
Fits, according to the listing2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew Cab2015-2027 Ford F-150; 2022-2025 F-150 Lightning; 2017-2027 F-250 F-350 SD | Supercrew CabFord F150 2015-2026 SuperCrew Cab & F150 Lightning 2022-2026 & F-250 F-350 Super Duty 2017-2026 Crew Cab15-26 Ford F150 SuperCrew Cab2015-2026 Ford F150 F 150, 2017-2026 Ford F250 F350 Super Duty SuperCrew/Crew Cab 4 Full Size Doors
StyleRunning board / step bar (as titled)Drop step (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)
MaterialNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleBlack stainless steel (title)Not stated in the titleAluminum (title)
Weight ratingNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
InstallBolt-on to factory studs with plastic retainers; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Price classMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-rangeBudgetBudget
Best forSuperCrew owners on the 2015-up F-150 who want a wide step and a clear install sheet.SuperCrew owners who want a lower step and can confirm fit on the listing.F-150 SuperCrew and Super Duty Crew owners who want a flat step.SuperCrew owners on a budget.SuperCrew and Crew owners who want the door count confirmed in writing.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Fit and specs as the listing title or maker sheet states them. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. Swipe sideways on a phone.

Only the Tyger Riser has a sheet behind it here. The others are listing data. Notice the cab words: the APS title separates F-150 SuperCrew from Super Duty Crew Cab, and the Tyger titles use "Supercrew Cab" for all of them. Super Duty SuperCab owners need their own check, and Westin gives those trucks a different part number from the Crew Cab.

Factory Ford parts

Ford's catalog is the one place in our reading where SuperCab and Regular Cab get full coverage. Four things stand out:

  • Most entries are Genuine Ford Accessory. That is the brand filter on the F-150 page, alongside one RealTruck item.
  • Finish can change the years. On the 2024 F-250 page, the black Super Duty SuperCab bars read 2017-2026 and the chromed ones 2017-2027. Read the exact name of the part you want.
  • Beds appear on longer parts. Ford sells "F-150 SuperCrew 2021-2027 Extended Length Step Bars for 5.5 ft Bed" and a 6.5 ft version. Wheel-to-wheel running boards covers that logic.
  • Ford has hoop steps too. Its Ranger page lists "Ranger 2019-2023 Off-Road Hoop Steps", with no cab in the name.

Ford's page for the Super Duty Crew Cab chromed bars says no drilling is required and names F-250 through F-600. We did not read warranty terms on any Ford accessory, and we found no independent test comparing them with aftermarket parts. OEM vs aftermarket running boards weighs that up.

On the truck's own warranty, Ford says an aftermarket product "will not necessarily void" the New Vehicle Limited Warranty, but repairs for a failure it causes are not covered. It also says it does not recommend changes to its products. Do running boards void your warranty goes further. None of this is legal advice.

Power steps for Ford trucks

Three listings, with three different stories. The AMP PowerStep* title names the 2015-2020 F-150 and no cab. The RealTruck PowerStep* title names the 2022-2027 F-250, F-350 and F-450. The WOLFBOX* title names the 2021-2027 F-150 Supercrew and Lightning EV, plus F-250 through F-550. We read no maker sheet for any of the three, so treat all of it as seller wording.

Westin's Pro-e table is the most specific document we read. It lists the 2015-2027 F-150 SuperCab and SuperCrew, 2017-2027 F-250 and F-350 SuperCab and Crew, and the 2019-2026 Ranger SuperCrew, and states "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side". We have no Amazon listing for those Westin parts.

Ford's Super Duty page also names "Super Duty 2023-2027 Retractable Driver Side Step by RealTruck Advantage". Its product page says a foot press deploys it, and that it helps you reach into the bed, so it is a bed step, not a powered step for the cab. More on power running boards, F-150 power running boards and the AMP Research lineup.

Before you order

Get the cab name from your paperwork, then read the title for it. Our fit rule applies to every line above: if a source does not state it, we do not either. Other makes are under all trucks.

Tailgate questions

Does Ford make its own running boards?

Yes, and it mostly calls them step bars. Ford's accessory catalog has a Running Boards, Step Bars and Rock Rails category, with most F-150 entries under the Genuine Ford Accessory label. Product names give the truck, cab and years, such as F-150 SuperCab 2015-2027 5 in. Aluminum Step Bars in Black. We did not read the warranty terms on those parts.

Do F-150 running boards fit a Super Duty?

Only where the source says so. Tyger, APS and one aluminum title name the F-150 with 2017-up F-250 and F-350 trucks on SuperCrew or Crew Cab. AUTOSAVER88's F-150 title names only the F-150. Ford's catalog sells separate Super Duty step bars. Go by the words in the title and the cab.

Are there electric running boards for Ford trucks?

Yes, as listed. The AMP PowerStep titles name the 2015-2020 F-150 and the 2022-2027 F-250, F-350 and F-450. A WOLFBOX title names the 2021-2027 F-150 SuperCrew and Super Duty trucks. Westin's Pro-e table names the F-150, Super Duty and Ranger by cab and states 300 lbs. of weight capacity per side.

Do Ford running boards need drilling?

It depends on the part. Ford's page for the Super Duty Crew Cab chromed step bars says no drilling is required, and Tyger's sheet for TG-RS6F60118 uses factory studs with no drilling step. Listing-only boards here came with no sheet we could read, so we say nothing about those. Read the sheet for your part number.

What about running boards for a Ford Ranger?

Our Amazon data has one listing, the Tyger LanderX, titled for the 2019-2027 Ranger Supercrew Cab. Ford's catalog names both the Ranger SuperCrew and, for 2019-2023, the Ranger SuperCab. Westin lists a Pro-e part for the 2019-2026 Ranger SuperCrew. Do not carry an F-150 part over to a Ranger.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we verify fit