Skip to content
Running Boardsfor Trucks
What do you drive?
Menu

Buying guide

Step Bars for Trucks: The Term Ford and Amazon Use, Sizes and Fit

Step bars are steps that bolt on below a truck's doors, and the term has no fixed shape. Ford uses it for 5-inch and 6-inch aluminum parts, Tyger's sheet uses it for a 3.5-inch rail, and Amazon sellers put it on flat boards. So pick by width and by the cab in the title. For a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab, start with the 3.5-inch Tyger Rider.

by the editorial team updated November 2, 2026 7 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Straight answer

Step bars are bolt-on cab steps, and the name does not fix the shape or size. Ford's F-150 catalog has 5-inch and 6-inch step bars by cab, and listing titles run from 3 inches to 6.75 inches. Our pick for a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab is the 3.5-inch Tyger Rider, because a maker sheet backs it up. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

What's on this page

"Step bar" is the plain working name for a running board, a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out. You will see it on Ford's own catalog and in plenty of Amazon titles. It does not promise a shape, so this page goes through what the word covers and which sizes exist, then sends you to the part for your truck. For the tube-only view, see nerf bars.

Fit sheetOur pick: Silverado and Sierra crewAd

Tyger Auto

Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)

A 3.5-inch rail whose title names the Silverado and Sierra years, the HD split and the cab.

Why here: The part number in the title leads to Tyger's own sheet, which most step bar listings cannot offer.

Fits, according to the listing
2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab (as of November 2, 2026)
Style
Rail / nerf bar (as titled)
Material
Not stated in the title
Weight rating
Not stated in the title
Install
Bolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommended
Price class
Mid-range

Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Why it makes the list

  • The part number in the title (TG-SS2C35068) ties the listing to Tyger's own instruction sheet
  • That sheet bolts 8 brackets to threaded holes behind plugs in the rocker area and has no drilling step
  • Title separates the 1500 years from the 2500/3500HD years

Watch out for

  • 3.5 inches wide per the title, narrower than the 6-inch boards
  • No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
  • The title does not mention the 2019 LD/Limited; a sister Tyger listing groups that truck with the older body, so check before ordering

Best for: Crew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

"Our pick" means we read a maker sheet for the part. It does not mean anyone here bolted one on.

Who calls what a step bar

The term moves around more than you would expect:

  • Ford. Its accessories category is "Running Boards, Step Bars and Rock Rails". On the F-150 page, read 2 November 2026, the products themselves are named step bars, in 5-inch and 6-inch aluminum, angular and tubular versions, by cab. No product there was named a running board.
  • Tyger. The listing for TG-SS2D35098 says "Rider Running Boards" and "Side Step Rail Nerf Bars". Tyger's install sheet for that part number says "Step Bars" in its header. Same part, different name.
  • Westin. Its catalog sells "R7 Nerf Step Bars" and "Outlaw Nerf Step Bars" beside "Oval Nerf Bars" and "Running Boards". Two names in a single product.
  • Amazon sellers. COMNOVA titles a 6-inch part "Running Boards& Steps Step Bars". DNA Motoring titles a 6.75-inch flat part "Running Boards Side Step Bars". One Tacoma listing says "Running Boards Step Bars".

So if a listing says step bars, you have learned very little about what will arrive. Look at the shape and width. The side steps page sorts the same market by style.

Sizes, as the titles and Ford state them

Width is the one number nearly every title gives. It is also the number that decides how a step feels underfoot.

WidthWho states itShape
3 inchesMaxMate, older GM Double CabTube
3.5 inchesTyger Rider, GM, Ram, Colorado and CanyonTube rail
5 inchesFord F-150, by cabAluminum, including angular
6 inchesFord F-150 angular; COMNOVA; APSAluminum angular; flat board
6.75 inchesDNA Motoring, GM regular cabFlat board

Read 2 November 2026. Length is the other size question. Most of these run along the cab. Ford also lists "Extended Length Step Bars", with some named for a 5.5-foot or a 6.5-foot bed, which shows that bed length enters the picture once a bar runs past the cab. Wheel-to-wheel running boards covers that kind.

Which one for which truck?

Pick by what you drive

  • If you drive a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you want a wider step on a 2019-up Silverado 1500 crew cab → COMNOVA 6" (2019+ Silverado) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2026 Chevy Silverado 1500, 2020-2026 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a new-body Ram 1500 crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a Colorado or Canyon crew cab → Tyger Rider 3.5" (Colorado and Canyon)

    Fits, according to the listing: 2015-2027 Chevy Colorado GMC Canyon | Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 1999-2018 GM Double Cab → MaxMate 3" nerf bars (1999-2018 GM double cab) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 1999-2018 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500 2500 LD; 2001-2019 2500 3500HD; 2019 LD/Limited (Exclude SS) | Double Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive an F-150 SuperCrew or Super Duty Crew → APS 6" Flat (F-150 SuperCrew) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: Ford F150 2015-2026 SuperCrew Cab & F150 Lightning 2022-2026 & F-250 F-350 Super Duty 2017-2026 Crew Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive a 2005-2023 Tacoma Access Cab → Step bars (2005-2023 Tacoma Access Cab) · Listing data only

    Fits, according to the listing: 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma Xtar/Access Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  • If you drive something else

Side by side

Comparison: Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM), COMNOVA 6" (2019+ Silverado), Tyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500), MaxMate 3" nerf bars (1999-2018 GM double cab), APS 6" Flat (F-150 SuperCrew)
Spec sheetOur pick: Silverado and Sierra crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ GM)Budget optionCOMNOVA 6" (2019+ Silverado)Our pick: Ram 1500 new body crewTyger Rider 3.5" (2019+ Ram 1500)Listing data onlyMaxMate 3" nerf bars (1999-2018 GM double cab)Listing data onlyAPS 6" Flat (F-150 SuperCrew)
Fits, according to the listing2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD | Crew Cab2019-2026 Chevy Silverado 1500, 2020-2026 Silverado/Sierra 2500HD 3500HD Crew Cab2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic) | Crew Cab1999-2018 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500 2500 LD; 2001-2019 2500 3500HD; 2019 LD/Limited (Exclude SS) | Double CabFord F150 2015-2026 SuperCrew Cab & F150 Lightning 2022-2026 & F-250 F-350 Super Duty 2017-2026 Crew Cab
StyleRail / nerf bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)Rail / nerf bar (as titled)Rail / nerf bar (as titled)Running board / step bar (as titled)
MaterialNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleBlack stainless steel (title)
Weight ratingNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
InstallBolt-on with 8 brackets; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedNot stated in the titleBolt-on with 6 brackets to factory studs; no drilling step in the sheet; assistance recommendedNot stated in the titleNot stated in the title
Price classMid-rangeBudgetMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-range
Best forCrew cab owners on the 2019-up GM full-size who want a rail with a readable install sheet.Silverado 1500 crew cab owners who want a wider step and a budget price class.New-body Ram 1500 crew cab owners. Not for the Classic.Older GM double cab owners who want a plain round-tube look.F-150 SuperCrew and Super Duty Crew owners who want a flat step.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Fit and specs as the listing title or maker sheet states them. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy. Swipe sideways on a phone.

The step bars, one by one

Tyger Rider 3.5-inch for 2019-up GM

The title reads "2019-2026 Chevy Silverado GMC Sierra 1500; 2020-2027 2500 3500HD", Crew Cab. Part number TG-SS2C35068 leads to Tyger's sheet, which uses 8 brackets on threaded holes behind plugs along the bottom of the body. It has no drilling step, and assistance is recommended.

Weak points: 3.5 inches is narrow next to a board, no weight rating is stated, and the title does not mention the 2019 LD or Limited. The Silverado page covers that trap. Fit for the 2027 Silverado 1500 stays unverified, because no title we read names it.

Tyger Rider 3.5-inch for the new-body Ram 1500

This Rider* is titled "2019-2027 Ram 1500 (Not fit 19-24 Classic)", Crew Cab. It is the part whose sheet header says step bars: 6 brackets on factory studs, and no drilling step. The sheet tells you to clean paint buildup off the studs first. Own a Classic? This one is not yours, and the Ram 1500 page explains the split.

Tyger Rider 3.5-inch for Colorado and Canyon

The mid-size Rider* is titled "2015-2027 Chevy Colorado GMC Canyon", Crew Cab. Tyger's sheet for TG-SS2C35168 uses 6 brackets and clip nuts behind rubber plugs, with no drilling step. That one long year range has no breakdown, so confirm yours on the listing.

COMNOVA 6-inch for 2019-up Silverado

The COMNOVA* actually says step bars in its title and gives you twice the width of the Tyger at the budget end. It is listed for 2019-2026 Silverado 1500 and 2020-2026 Silverado and Sierra 2500HD and 3500HD crew cabs. The title does not name the Sierra 1500, so if you drive one, it does not state your truck. Listing data only.

MaxMate 3-inch for older GM Double Cabs

The MaxMate* is the narrowest here. It is titled for 1999-2018 Silverado and Sierra 1500 and 2500 LD, 2001-2019 2500 and 3500HD, and the 2019 LD/Limited, excluding the SS, Double Cab. ARIES files the GM Double under extended cabs, and extended cab running boards has the wider picture. Listing data only.

APS 6-inch flat for F-150 and Super Duty

The APS* is a flat black stainless board titled for the F-150 2015-2026 SuperCrew, the Lightning 2022-2026, and the F-250 and F-350 Super Duty 2017-2026 Crew Cab. It has no maker sheet we could read. Want the Ford-labeled route? Ford's own catalog is the other place to look, and the Ford page sorts those trucks. It names SuperCab and Regular Cab parts too, which most Amazon titles here do not.

Unbranded step bars for the Tacoma Access Cab

This listing* is titled "Running Boards Step Bars for 2005-2023 Toyota Tacoma Xtar/Access Cab". It earns a spot because it names a cab most lists skip. It has no brand in the title and no sheet. Tacoma Double Cab owners need a different part, so see the Tacoma page.

What to check before you buy

CriterionWhat to look for
YearThe whole range, including any "not fit" wording
CabThe maker's cab name, compared with your own doors
WidthStated in inches in the title, not implied by the word bar
ShapeRound, oval, angular or flat. The title usually says
Part numberLets you hunt for the maker's sheet
DrillingNamed per part. Some sheets have no drilling step, and Tyger's older Ram sheet warns about it
Weight ratingOnly from the maker's document
FinishWe found no corrosion measurements, so read any claim as the seller's wording
Symbolic image (AI-generated): a worn work boot standing on a plain black side step of a dusty pickup
AI-generated illustrative image: not a specific truck or part. · Image: AI-generated (OpenAI)

Mistakes that cost you a return

  • Assuming a step bar is a tube. A 6-inch flat board can carry the same name.
  • Assuming twin trucks share a listing. A title can name the Silverado 1500 and skip the Sierra 1500.
  • Reading Double Cab as one thing. ARIES places the Silverado Double under extended and the Tacoma Double under crew.
  • Believing "no-drill" by default. Some kits have no drilling step. Others warn about it.
  • Hunting near you when the part is the issue. We list no shops. Pin down the part first, then decide who installs it. How to check a listing fits comes first.

Find your truck

What do you drive?

Start with the truck. We only show what a listing title or maker states for it.

Bottom line

For a 2019-up Silverado or Sierra crew cab, take the Tyger Rider 3.5-inch*, because the paperwork is there. If you want more foot area for less, look at the COMNOVA 6-inch* and accept that you have only a title to go on. On any other truck, go by truck or use the truck picker. Everything above follows how we verify fitment. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.

Tailgate questions

What is the difference between step bars and running boards?

Mostly the word. Ford files both under one category, Running Boards, Step Bars and Rock Rails. Sellers stack them in one title, as COMNOVA does with "Running Boards& Steps Step Bars". In general a running board suggests a wide flat step and a step bar a narrower one, but neither word promises a shape. Go by the width in the title.

Are step bars and nerf bars the same?

They overlap so much that you cannot separate them by name. Tyger's listing calls TG-SS2D35098 Rider Running Boards with Nerf Bars in the title, while its install sheet for the same part number says Step Bars in the header. Westin even sells a family it calls Nerf Step Bars. Read the shape and width instead.

What width step bar should I get?

Wider gives you more foot area, narrower keeps a slim line along the cab. Titles we read run from 3 inches on the MaxMate to 6.75 inches on a DNA Motoring board, and Ford's F-150 step bars come as 5-inch and 6-inch. No maker document we read sets a minimum, so judge by who climbs in and what they wear on their feet.

Do step bars need drilling?

Some do. Tyger's sheets for its 2019-up GM, new-body Ram and Colorado rails have no drilling step. Its sheet for the older Ram crew cab rail prints DRILLING MAY BE REQUIRED. Listing-only parts often say nothing. Ask the seller for the install sheet for your part before you plan the job.

How much weight can step bars hold?

Only the maker's document can say for a given part, and the Tyger sheets we read state no rating. Most titles do not either, and we do not repeat seller figures. A missing number means it was not stated. It says nothing about what the part can hold. See our page on running board weight for the ratings we read.

Can I build my own step bars?

People search for that, but we have no maker data, load figures or install sheets for homemade steps, so we cannot give you a sourced plan. Anyone standing on a step puts their full weight on its mounts. If you go that way, talk to a qualified fabricator rather than relying on a web page.

Where this comes from

Keep reading

Who writes this

runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team

Fitment, buying advice and explainers

We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.

  • Fit quoted from the listing or maker
  • Sources and dates on every page
  • No lab tests, stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we verify fit