Compatibility
Running Boards for the 2007-2021 Tundra: CrewMax and Double Cab Are Separate Listings
On a 2007-2021 Tundra, every title we read covers the whole year block, so a 2014, 2016, 2017 or 2018 truck shops the same list. The cab is what splits it. CrewMax and Double Cab have separate listings, and a Tyger excerpt says its CrewMax part is not for a Double Cab. We have no sheet for these parts, so this is a start, not a pick.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Straight answer
Shop your 2007-2021 Tundra by cab, not year. For a CrewMax, start with the 6-inch aluminum listing, whose title spells out four full-size doors. A Double Cab has its own listing. The titles we read name one cab each, and none crosses over. We read no maker sheet for these parts, so it is all listing data. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
A running board is a step mounted below a truck's doors that makes it easier to climb in and out. This page takes the older half of the Tundra overview and goes further into what each source says about your cab.
The rule: buy the listing that names your cab
Read November 2, 2026. Wording is from listing titles, and we add nothing to it.
| Your 2007-2021 Tundra | Listed part, according to the listing | Style, as titled |
|---|---|---|
| CrewMax | 6-inch aluminum ("Crewmax Cab 4 Full Size Doors") | Running boards, side steps, nerf bars |
| CrewMax | Unbranded ("CrewMax Cab") | Running boards, side steps |
| CrewMax | Tyger Trax TG-TX7T29798 | Drop step rail |
| Double Cab | Unbranded ("Double Cab") | Running boards |
| Regular Cab | No Amazon listing in our data | ARIES lists a Regular cab on the Tundra |
No listing means none in our data, not that none exists. Note what the table does not do: it never splits a 2014 from a 2018. Every title here treats 2007-2021 as one block, so we do too. How to check a listing fits has the routine. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why the listings keep CrewMax and Double Cab apart
The Tundra's own name history is the problem. ARIES files the CrewMax under crew from 2007, and the Double from 2007 to current under extended, with a note that its table is only an aid to understanding. It even puts the 2004-2006 Double under crew, so an older forum post about a "Double Cab" may describe a different truck.
A search excerpt of Tyger's Tundra page goes further and warns its CrewMax part is "NOT for Double Cab with 2 full-size front doors & 2 narrower rear doors". We could not open that page to read it directly. The aluminum listing makes the same point from the other side by naming "4 Full Size Doors". So two sellers tell you to look at the rear doors, and that is the check to make. Double cab vs crew cab has the full story, and truck cab types shows the other makers.
Do not carry a Tacoma's meaning over. ARIES files the Tacoma Double under crew, the opposite of the Tundra.
CrewMax: start here
Brand not in title
Aluminum 6" (2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax)
A textured aluminum step that spells out CrewMax and the four full-size doors.
Why here: A start, not a pick: the title gives width, material and door count, but we read no maker sheet for it.
- Fits, according to the listing
- 2007-2021 Toyota Tundra Crewmax Cab 4 Full Size Doors (as of November 2, 2026)
- Style
- Running board / step bar (as titled)
- Material
- Aluminum (title)
- Weight rating
- Not stated in the title
- Install
- Not stated in the title
- Price class
- Budget
Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
Why it makes the list
- Title names material, width and the door count
Watch out for
- No brand in the title
- Listing data only
- No weight rating in the title, so none is printed here
Best for: 2007-2021 CrewMax owners. Not for the Double Cab.
Listing data only: We only have the Amazon listing title for this one, no maker sheet. It is an option, not a recommendation.
It has no brand in the title, so we cannot tell you who stands behind it or how it mounts. It gets the slot because its title says the most. The Tyger Trax* carries a part number and calls itself a drop step rail, so it is the one to compare if the first step is your complaint. We could not read its sheet either.
| Spec sheet | Start here: Tundra CrewMaxAluminum 6" (2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax) | Listing data onlySide steps (2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax) | Listing data onlyTyger Trax (2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fits, according to the listing | 2007-2021 Toyota Tundra Crewmax Cab 4 Full Size Doors | 2007-2021 Toyota Tundra CrewMax Cab | 2007-2021 Toyota Tundra | CrewMax |
| Style | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Running board / step bar (as titled) | Drop step (as titled) |
| Material | Aluminum (title) | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Weight rating | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Install | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title | Not stated in the title |
| Price class | Budget | Mid-range | Mid-range |
| Best for | 2007-2021 CrewMax owners. Not for the Double Cab. | 2007-2021 CrewMax owners on a budget. | 2007-2021 CrewMax owners who want a lower step. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
Double Cab
The unbranded Double Cab listing* is the only one in our data for this cab, and it says little beyond the truck and cab. That is a thin choice. Westin's Pro-e table does not help on this generation, as it names the Double Cab only for 2022-2026. Confirm the rear-door shape with the seller before you order. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
If you drive a CrewMax and want the door count in writing → Aluminum 6" (2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2007-2021 Toyota Tundra Crewmax Cab 4 Full Size Doors. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a CrewMax and want a lower step → Tyger Trax (2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2007-2021 Toyota Tundra | CrewMax. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a CrewMax and want another plain option → Side steps (2007-2021 Tundra CrewMax) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2007-2021 Toyota Tundra CrewMax Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drive a Double Cab → Running boards (2007-2021 Tundra Double Cab) · Listing data only
Fits, according to the listing: 2007-2021 Toyota Tundra Double Cab. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
What a Tundra install sheet looks like
We could read one Tundra sheet, for Tyger's Rider TG-SS2T35188, a 3.5-inch rail. It is not in our Amazon data, so this is for reference and we state no fit from it. It uses six mounting brackets and has no drilling step. You remove plastic plugs or hex bolts from threaded holes along the bottom of the body, and it says assistance is highly recommended. The center and rear brackets look alike but are different, and the center one has a notch. No time is stated, so we print none.
That says nothing certain about the listings above, which we have no sheets for. It does show what to ask a seller: does this use the factory holes, and is there a drilling step?
Power steps, wheel-to-wheel and bed length
No Amazon power step listing for this generation is in our data. Westin's table names the Pro-e, part 29-23255, for the 2007-2021 CrewMax and states "300 lbs. of weight capacity per side". Other powered options are on power running boards.
Cab-length boards follow the cab, and the titles above name no bed. A wheel-to-wheel board adds the bed. LUVERNE's 2023 catalog shows how that looks: Grip Step wheel-to-wheel kit 415102-400757 for a 2007-2021 CrewMax with a 5'6" box, and rows for "Crew" with 6'6" and 8' boxes. It does not spell out what Crew means here, so ask before ordering. See LUVERNE and bed and cab fitment.
What we cannot tell you
- Load ratings for the listed parts. No title here gives one, and we do not fill that gap with a dealer figure.
- Why the listings break at 2021. The titles draw the line, and no maker document we read explains it. Newer trucks are on the 2022-2026 Tundra page.
- Factory Toyota steps. We read no Toyota accessory document, so we state no fit for them.
For other trucks, see all trucks. For the rules behind every line above, see how we verify fitment.
Tailgate questions
Are running boards for a 2017 Tundra different from a 2014 or 2018?
Not in the titles we read. Each one states 2007-2021 as a single range, so none of them treats a 2014, 2016, 2017 or 2018 truck separately. LUVERNE's 2023 catalog also lists CrewMax rows as 2007-2021. Your cab decides the listing. Check your exact year and cab on the listing before you buy.
How do I tell a Tundra CrewMax from a Double Cab?
Both have four doors, so count nothing and look at the rear doors. A search excerpt from Tyger describes the Double Cab as having 2 full-size front doors and 2 narrower rear doors, and the aluminum listing describes the CrewMax as having 4 full-size doors. Your paperwork or a Toyota dealer can confirm the name.
Are there step bars or nerf bars for a 2007-2021 Tundra?
Yes, under several names. The aluminum listing calls itself running boards, side steps and nerf bars at once, and Tyger Trax calls itself a drop step rail. Those words are not a build guarantee. Go by the shape and width in the title. Tyger also lists a Rider rail, TG-SS2T35188, that we have not matched to an Amazon listing.
Do these running boards need drilling on a 2007-2021 Tundra?
None of the titles on this page says. The one Tundra sheet we could read, for Tyger's Rider TG-SS2T35188, has no drilling step and uses the factory mounting points along the bottom of the body. That is one part only, so it tells you nothing certain about the others. Ask the seller before you plan the job.
Where this comes from
Keep reading
- CompatibilityToyota TundraToyota Tundra running boards by cab and generation. CrewMax and Double Cab are separate listings, and 2022-up trucks are separate again. Fit as the titles state it.
- Compatibility2022-2026 TundraRunning boards for a 2022-2026 Toyota Tundra: the one CrewMax listing in our data, Westin's parts for both cabs, and the factory power boards on some trims.
- ExplainerDouble vs crew cabIs a double cab a crew cab? On a Tacoma it sits in the crew group; on a Silverado and a 2007-up Tundra it does not. See the cab table and what it does to board fit.
- ExplainerTruck cab typesThere are three truck cab types: regular, extended and crew. Each maker names them differently. See Ford, Ram, GM, Toyota and Nissan names, sizes and door layouts.
- ExplainerCab and bed fitmentCab length running boards run along the cab, wheel-to-wheel boards run to the rear wheel. How cab names and bed length decide fit, and how to read a listing title.
- About usHow we verify fitFit here is what a listing title or maker sheet states, marked as such. What we read, what blocked us and why you still confirm year and cab before you buy.
Who writes this
runningboardsfortrucks.com Editorial Team
Fitment, buying advice and explainers
We are the editorial team at runningboardsfortrucks.com. We read listing titles, maker pages and instruction sheets, then write down which truck, year and cab each one states and where we read it. We do not run lab tests and we do not own a test fleet, and we say so openly.
- Fit quoted from the listing or maker
- Sources and dates on every page
- No lab tests, stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint